We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Find”
Review of Fishermen's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fishermen's Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2008

We stayed here for one night by accident because of a last minute change of travel plans. Now we wish we could have stayed longer.
This is a relatively new, well-appointed hotel on the side of a beautiful lake and has a deck at the front which appears to sit over the lake!. Our room was beautiful and had a small terrace on which we spent some time just chilling out.
The hospitality we received was top-class and the food was easily the best we had in this part of India. When I mentioned how much I liked the Garlic Pickle I was presented with a jar as a gift.
If you are in the area, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crechat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Fishermen's Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 171 of 171 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2008

Our holidays are marked with nature, comfortable physical activity and lot of local experiencing but a completely indulgent, hassle free place of stay where we can unwind, relax and enjoy. And thats exactly what we got at Fishermen's Lodge and much much more.

Fishermen's lodge is located on the edge of the beautiful, uncommercialised Bhim - tal (lake). Its a pleasure to hear the birds call, feel the crisp clean air, view the lake nestled among the mountains. And to experience all this from the comfort of Fisherman lodge's hospitality was something else. Every little thing from the linen, to furniture to food is hand picked and ethnicly styled. Style does not overtake comfort in the lodge which is very homely and welcoming like the open balconies which are perfect for a hot cup of freshly brewed tea or the deck which is perfect for dinner with a warmth of natural fire lit to warm your toes! The food was excellent and this is saying a lot for foodies like us! The owners (Bunty / Bindu) who took such special care of us that Bhimtal turned out to be one of the best legs of that trip for us.

Coming to the physical activity bit - there is so much to do that we really regret not having spent more time there. We cycled (in geared mountain bikes mind you!) to naukuchiatal (another beautiful lake), went to panna tal (emerald lake) which is part of saat tal (seven lakes). All the seven lakes are connected to each other. Had the most amazing boat ride and experienced pin drop silence (literally) which was more than welcome in this madly commercialised world. We had a picnic en route to Jungliagaon (next to Bhimtal) with sandwiches and beer and had the most beautiful view of the mountain range.

We did not have the time to see Nainital which is a 20 min car ride from the lodge. But we did do Ranikhet from Bhimtal which is a 2 hour picturesque ride. Oh, not to forget, it is a 30 min ride from the railhead in Katgodham. So highly accessible & transport was arranged by the lodge.

Would highly recommend staying at the Fisherman lodge if you are looking at experiencing the Himalayas the way it is meant to.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TanuBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2008

The Lodge is like a home, only better.

Its a place of indulgence. From the heaters in the bathroom, to the well stocked pantry, every possible need a guest may have has been thought about and provided for.

Bhimtal itself is a place where civilization exists but the natural surroundings are still untouched. I had a blast cycling in the mountains and walking about randomly.

The vibe at the lodge whispers 'chillll':-) It has been years since I last played scrabble or carrom...sitting in front of the fire, reading every kind of magazine that our moods inspired and playing board games made us all whimsical and think 'this is the life'.

THE FOOD is amazing and every meal out-does the last. Even the simpler menus exude quality and flavor. The staff polite and attentive.

There are movies and books galore that one can spend time with but one cant seem to tear themselves away from the deck, whether it is during the day, to soak up the sun or at night to enjoy the wonderful play with lights that illuminate the Lodge's exterior.

MOST IMPORTANTLY, tata-sky and wi-fi internet exist but we CHOSE not to connect with the rest of the world:-)

The Fishermen's Lodge is the the kind of place that you know you will always go back to because it becomes a part of you on some level...

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Nightimming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2008

i'm just back from my holiday at the fishermens lodge.Being a lazy writer i spent my whole three days at the lodge... ..and believe you me i wasn bored for asecond.wherever i couched...or vegetated...day dreamt...my eyes feasted at the charming beauty of the place.if the expanse of the deck directly over the lake took your breath away...the rooms..the sitting areas...the art on the walls...the abundance of fresh flowers everywhere gave my eyes the luxury of a moveable feast
the food was just as orgasmic as the views.baked eggs ...cold quiche...and warm cakes and pies ...which one could nibble anytime of the day.my eight year old girl enjoyed making noodles for herself...something that no hotel had allowed her to do before
the staff organised lovely day picnics..and boating and cycling sojourns for them while i gazed at the lake and thought about how i should go on adiet once i go back
it was a lovely lovely romantic break.........there are enough games and movies ..so enjoy the light packing...I WOULD WANT YOU TO CARRY A GOOD BOOK THAT HAS BEEN LYING ON YOUR SHELF......because thats all you need

Stayed: November 2008
Thank techyswati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2008

We had a wonderful time visiting Bhimtal during the Diwali holidays. Our stay at the Fishermen's lodge was definitely the highlight. The panaromic view from the room was breathtaking. I can still close my eyes and see the green pastured mountain infront of me with few houses and lodges with triangular roofs and the great expanse of the turqoise blue lake at the foothills of the range.

We had a lovely time with our hosts Bunty and Bindu who own and manage the property. They make a very friendly couple who enjoy entertaining guests. We knew we were in for a a great time once we met with them. Their personal involvement and care for the little details made us feel at home. We'd let them and the wonderful staff at the lodge pamper us.

Fantastic hosts + great cuisine + 5* quality room amenities + personalised service = Splendid family vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ArjunS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2008

I just came back after spending 3 days at Fishermen's lodge, Bhimtal, and it has been one amazing and satisfying experience. Let me start with the location. It is a 45 minutes drive from the Kathgodam station and is in the crème of Bhimtal, situated on the banks of the large lake that gives the town its name.

The lodge has a large deck, which looks over the lake and the surrounding mountains. It gets a full share of sun by day and the bonfire in the night makes it the favorite hangout after sunset as well. It has the convenience of wifi, which can prove very useful in case one needs to catch up on the internet. The rooms are tastefully done, with large windows and astounding view of the lake as soon as you open your eyes. They are equipped with room heaters to make the nights cozy, and are complete with electric kettle and tea and coffee facility. My room had a large screen TV with DVD players and enough movies to borrow from their library but I hardly switched on any since there was so much to do or soak in. The beds deserve a special mention. The mattresses and bed linen are extremely comfortable and ensure a good night's sleep. The bathrooms are spacious and also equipped with room heaters. Mine even had a sunroof in the bath area. However, my favorite thing about the room was the balcony attached to it. Each room has a large balcony with a breath-taking view of the lake, good enough to lounge around for a good part of the day.

In the tariff, 2 meals and hi-tea are thrown in. The food spread was impressive. It was freshly whipped up in the warm and homely kitchen. Breakfast had a variety of breads freshly toasted, different kinds of cheese, baked beans, marmalade, cold cuts, potatoes, tomatoes, eggs made to order and many variety of fresh fruits and juices. Dinner menu, I think, keeps changing, but I sampled a delicious spread ranging from Indian to Italian, on different nights. The high tea was more than just a nibble, served with homemade cakes, and quiche. The food, I can safely say, was fresh, delicious, and wholesome with the home-cooked goodness.

The staff is warm and friendly. They have a spacious and warm drawing room with fireplace, books and enough reading material to browse through and games for kids.

There are many things to do around this place. It is a comfortable 10 minutes stroll to the main lake and its boat dockyard, where one can either go boating by day and early evening, or sit and watch people come and go. It is also very close to many other lake areas like Sattal and Pannatal, where there are forests in abundance for that peaceful afternoon, or a lakeside picnic. One could also go up a little into the oak wood forests and bike down. And there is facility for tandem paragliding as well, in the region.

All in all, it was a great break with just enough to do, great food to eat and many relaxing moments. And as I heard another family tell the hostess 'this was a steal’, I would tend to nod in agreement.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank debbiegurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bhimtal
1.1 mi away
Fern Hillside Resort Bhimtal
2.2 mi away
Country Inn Bhimtal
Country Inn Bhimtal
#3 of 12 in Bhimtal
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Harshikhar Bhimtal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aamod at Bhimtal
Aamod at Bhimtal
#5 of 12 in Bhimtal
116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Retreat
Lake Retreat
#8 of 12 in Bhimtal
18 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Earl's Court
The Earl's Court
#7 of 50 in Nainital
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishermen's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishermen's Lodge

Address: Mandir Marg, Bhimtal 263136, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Bhimtal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Bhimtal
Price Range: $86 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fishermen's Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fishermens Lodge is the ideal point of departure for your excursions in Nainital. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. At The Fishermens Lodge, every effort is made to make guests feel comfortable. To do so, the hotel provides the best in services and amenities. Top features of the hotel include room service, meeting facilities, safety deposit boxes, restaurant, car park. Hotel accommodations have been carefully appointed to the highest degree of comfort and convenience, with DVD/CD player, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, in room video games, television in each room. The hotel offers an excellent variety of recreational facilities, including water sports (non-motorized). Whatever your reason for visiting Nainital, the The Fishermens Lodge is the perfect venue for an exhilarating and exciting break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Fishermen's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing