We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old World Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nilambag Palace Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Bhavnagar
Bhopal, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Old World Charm”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Had to make a very short stopover for work. The restaurant was good. The room was sufficiently equipped. Though the property almost seemed eerily creepy at night. They definitely need to increase the amount of lighting, or probably it wasn't working the night I was put up there and the creaky door didn't exactly help! Probably the best hotel in Bhavnagar though. Definitely worth the visit in case one is going to bhavnagar for work/vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apoorvswarup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    79
    30
    15
    3
See reviews for
39
31
9
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
351 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is by far the best hotel in Bhavnagar. The rooms are very spacious and the bathroom are like rooms. The room decor and the bed, the faucets and even the door stoppers are antique and huge fit for a palatial room.
The restaurant has good choice of food. The only drawback I can think of is that the staff is not too friendly or welcoming. They don't greet you or treat you like royal guest as you are supposed to be treated.
But still good value for the money and the experience of staying in a royal palace is thrilling.

Room Tip: Ask for Deluxe rooms with big bathrooms and bed with mosquito nets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gotofly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Had a one night halt with parents, spouse and kid while on Gujarat drive. Both the rooms were beautiful as it was a palatial property, so the charm of the place was different. However, in one of the rooms, serious issues in the A/C. Post many deliberations and discussions, room change did not help. The A/C repair was done...But to no effect. Though the management was decent enough not to charge us for the entire facility, however, the one night halt did not allow us to rest enough!! Food was decent in the restaurant at the lawn, though the service was extremely slow.

Room Tip: Your luck!! But can take a chance as the property is dfeinitely beautiful. In one of the rooms, we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neetukar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

With a lot of hope i booked a weekend at the Nilambagh Palace Hotel in Bhavnagar and was I in for a surprise! It was supposed to be a business and a break trip. Everything and i mean everything that one expects from a Heritage Hotel was conspicuously absent. No welcome, no greeting, no finesse, no charm, very sad service (though a couple of the bell boys and restaurant boys did try to be helpful and cheerful). Very poor knowledge of what a hotel and that too a heritage palace should be like. Best advice is not to go there at all! If you need to go to Bhavnagar, then please stay at the more regular business hotels. It will be cheaper by half and atleast you will get nice clean rooms and proper service. The swimming pool looks great from outside, but once you are in, be very careful as they have these walls in the water separating the shallow from the deep and you just might hit your legs while swimming. Wonder whose bright idea was this? And the changing rooms and toilets are worse than railway station facilities! The restaurant (rather a large charmless room for eating) has more ants (red ones) eating spilt jam than waiters and you have to go to the kitchen area to ask for service!! The complementary breakfast is pathetic and seeing soiled printed pages on which the days menu is typed really puts you off. Better to order in your room to avoid this unappetizing scene. Dinner in the garden restaurant was just tolerable, the food was average. Nothing to write home about. The room was passable, but the bed creaks, the mattress is thin, the AC besides being noisy it does not cool very well, the toilets have red ants (careful when you sit on the loo). In short, avoid this hotel until they wakeup and get some expert advice to redo their look, their rooms, their food, their branding, their service their attitude. Very very sad.

Room Tip: If you have to, then ask for the corner room on the first floor away from the front. Then you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I have stayed in palace hotels before and this is the worst managed. It is huge and eerie. The hospitality zero and food could have been palatable in a city of foodies. Needs big improvements. They could seriously make some positive changes as it is heritage for sure...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank khan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is one of the best place to stay in Bhavnagar. Quite a palatial experience at reasonable costs. The place is quite serene and well maintained. I liked the gigantic royal photographs inside and the huge doors leading to the rooms. It does feel that you are living in a royal place. Good place to stay in Bhavnagar all in all.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nishant_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Bhavnagar being my native place, I had always wished as a kid to visit the palace which is also a tourist attraction of sorts.
A week back my hubby and I visitess b' nagar to see my relatives and Nilambagh was an obvious choice.
Its defi. not the best star rated hotel tht i have been to but its the best u can get in bhavnagar!
The best part bout this hotel is tht its centrally located and the main building is away from the road so there's no noise from the street and travelling to any place within bhavnagar is relatively easy.
Also, its one of the few places is bhavnagar tht serves non veg.
The rooms are huge. We stayed at the royal cottages and were quite happy. Nothing fancy but clean and big. We only had breakfast at the hotel and it wasn't exceptional.
The staff is polite and prompt. Excellent service.
There are many options to stay within the hotel : the first being the main palace itself.. The rooms are huge and also most expensive. Second :the royal cottages : the rooms are smaller than the main palace and less expensive. Third : narayani cottages : smallest rooms n least expensive.
The palace initself is beautiful... Oldworld charm... Like one huge gujju mansion... Its beautiful..
Must stay here in Bhavnagar... i know i will next time and everytime

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bhavnagar hotels
0.0 mi away
The Fern Bhavnagar - Iscon Club and Resort
0.8 mi away
GenX Bhavnagar
GenX Bhavnagar
#3 of 16 in Bhavnagar
206 reviews
1.2 mi away
Efcee Sarovar Portico
Efcee Sarovar Portico
#1 of 16 in Bhavnagar
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel The Basil Park
Hotel The Basil Park
#2 of 16 in Bhavnagar
150 reviews
5.1 mi away
Top3 Lords Resort
Top3 Lords Resort
#5 of 16 in Bhavnagar
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Narayani Heritage
Narayani Heritage
#7 of 16 in Bhavnagar
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nilambag Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nilambag Palace Hotel

Property: Nilambag Palace Hotel
Address: Nilambag, Bhavnagar 364 002, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Bhavnagar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Bhavnagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nilambag Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nilambag Palace Hotel is the only heritage hotel and leading hotel of Bhavnagar City. Home to the royal family of Bhavnagar, it has been converted into a heritage hotel since the 1980's. Famous with celebrities and well known personalities like His Holiness Dalai Lama, the king and queen of Greece as well as the fashion family of the Hermes, Nilambag Palace Hotel is one of the leading heritage hotels of Gujarat. The property is owned and managed by the royal family and along with the hotel they include a tour of Gujarat state as well destination weddings and royal weddings at the palace as well their sea side property which is 60 kilometres from Bhavnagar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nilambag Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing