We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (341)
Filter reviews
341 results
Traveler rating
180
121
24
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
121
24
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews african theme black mamba themed hotel theme park a great stay hotel stay walk in shower kids corner park entrance second bedroom fantastic hotel hot and cold buffet main entrance the staff were great african food isn t family room
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 341 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The hotel is actually not worth the $200 or more for two people, but after paying so much a lot of people would feel bad leaving a negative review. But well:
-bad service
- the stuff there: not professional at all, very slow, uncoordinated
- the rooms rather small, but depends on what you're used to
- not to mention that there is no swimming pool, no gym (fitness center), no coffee machine in the room, bathroom supplies are scarce
-the lobby bar is a disaster do not go there

The list can go on for a while.

Overall pretty disappointing. Gonna check out the Asian hotel there to see if it's any different.
If you've never been to a normal hot before you're going to like it or accept if at least.
Good Luck!

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kattty_S_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Matamba for one night and found it to be a pleasant stay. The entire hotel is set up a lot like an embassy suites where you have the center area and the rooms circle around it. This leads to a very open feeling. The theme is well executed, and the room was very clean. The only reason I cannot give this hotel a five, is simply for the fact that it needs a pool! The theme could be perfect in a tropical pool setting.

We really enjoyed the characters walking around the hotel, and found there were more characters here than at Disneyland Paris! Our kids loved it.

We would definitely stay again, but only when cooler when we wouldn't desperately long for a pool.

Room tip: Definitely pay extra for the balcony. It has some chairs and is definitely worth it.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rblues07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed for one night and it was a great experience. All hotel, rooms and surrounding areas are designed as in Africa. It is very romantic. And Phantasialand is behind your window.
What I can definitely recommend is dinner at hotel's restaurant. It is a bit expensive, but it is all you can eat and there are lot of interesting and African-like foods. I ate shrimps, ostrich some gazelle and it was awesome.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiilaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

If you are travelling without kids - don't go there, unless you want to taste their fabulous food. But when you got kids with you - you just got to the paradise! Everything there is children-focused. They even have special bar for kids only. Family rooms are very nicely designed, with spacious room with 4-poster-bed and separate tent-style room for kids. There's a car park, where hotel guests stay free, but they have to take special token from reception. Reception also sells tickets to the PhantasiaLand.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank endrju_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This African themed hotel is just beautiful.
The design of the rooms are amazing including the bathroom!
The rooms are very clean and so spacious, the separate shower room is massive.
The kids enjoyed having their own little bed space in a tent style.
Our four poster bed was very comfortable and the room had a great view straight out at The Black Mumba.
Breakfast was standard, just what you would expect in Germany.
Food prices in the hotel for evening meal were very steep, we drove out to the local village 5/10 minutes away and ate in a chinese restaurant in the Galeria shopping centre, think it was called Nan King. The food was lovely.
Would rate this higher than a 3 star hotel.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarahbeey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews