We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Village Matamba
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bruhl
Certificate of Excellence
Paderborn, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This African themed hotel is just beautiful.
The design of the rooms are amazing including the bathroom!
The rooms are very clean and so spacious, the separate shower room is massive.
The kids enjoyed having their own little bed space in a tent style.
Our four poster bed was very comfortable and the room had a great view straight out at The Black Mumba.
Breakfast was standard, just what you would expect in Germany.
Food prices in the hotel for evening meal were very steep, we drove out to the local village 5/10 minutes away and ate in a chinese restaurant in the Galeria shopping centre, think it was called Nan King. The food was lovely.
Would rate this higher than a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahbeey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    88
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
138
43
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Spent 1 night in this hotel to go to the theme park.
The design is really nice in African style.
The room is big and not noise, the bed is OK. The Intenet is only wired with Ethernet connector and may not fit for every device. The Internet invoice claims the price is EUR 25 but they told it's free, hopefully it's truth. The reception guy told the parking is free but actually it was EUR 5 up to the room price.

There have been some more serious issues I didn't like. First - LOTS of dust in our room. So dusty that my laptop was just covered with dust and my socks were just filled with dust after my stay.

The heater was also not working properly and turning off by itself, so it was pretty cool in a room.

The breakfast choice is just OK - typical for 3 stars, but the food quality itself was poor and cheap.

So that was probably my first and last stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DizzyDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed 1 night during the easter weekend at the Hotel Village Matamba.

Room rate was 290€ including breakfast and 2 days park entry for 2 adults. We choose a so called "family room" which are bigger and offer space for up to 4 people and picked one with park view. Double rooms without park/garden view are cheaper and you can also reserve rooms without park tickets.

Upon arrival you enter the hotel and step into an African scenery that is meant to represent a village. The check-in counters are located in some huts under a glass atrium. Check-in was nice and friendly, yet no information about the park were given, strange. The public areas of the hotel were decently themed, yet in some areas the african theme gets lost a little. Interesting is the children climbing path inside one of the hotel's walkways, nice idea!

Our room was already ready (nice considering we were early and the hotel fully booked). We were given a garden view room, high floor and away from elevators, as requested. The room as truly unique and certainly goes one step further in what you can find in most theme park hotels. The quality and details in the decorations are truly remarkable and can compete even with Disney hotels.

While most theme park hotel rooms are designed to accommodate up to 4 people, most resume in simply offering 2 double beds or a bunk bed. This hotel found a wonderful solution to this problem by actually given the children their designed area within the room. Indeed, the family rooms feature a little room within the room that accommodated a slightly smaller than normal double bed under a tent (great for children I can imagine) that is separated from the main sleeping area. A family can really spend some enjoyable time within this room without feeling crowded, well done!

Another highlight about this rooms is the bathroom. Fancy bathrooms are common within the German hotel landscape on new or refurbished properties and this hotel is no exception. The African theme continues with a solid stone sink and a nice walk in shower.

Breakfast was typical for any theme park hotel: one big breakfast room with loads of running and screaming children. The hotel doesn't offer room service or in-room breakfast: so you can't avoid it, yet it's a theme park: after all who can blame the kids for having fun? Breakfast room is served in one of the two hotel restaurants that serve a dinner and lunch buffet during the rest of the day. It is again very nicely themed! Breakfast selection was good and certainly above typical German breakfast standard featuring a wide selection of cold cuts, bakeries and vienoiseries and a decent selection of hot options.

We did not test any of the lunch or dinner options as we chose the famous chinese restaurant in the other hotel of the park.

The hotel does not feature any swimming pool and does not have direct park access, which is strange!

We did however take a coffee in the afternoon at the hotel's bar. Theming of the bar was rather unfortunate in my opinion as it was too close to some sports bar ambience. Nice is the little fireplace.

All in all: this hotel is theme park accommodation at its best, playing in the big boys league and can compete with the Disney hotels of this world. I can definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

+Value for money
+Decoration and theming
+Location
-No direct park access

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank byswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The hotel is built with a African ambience taking you right back to Adrica. Even de restaurant "ZAMBESI" and the cocktail bar and reception is in African style. The employees of this hotel deserve a 10 for service. And the food was good. There was enough for everyone this is including the children who had their own provate bufet.

I would recommend everyone looking for a hotel that is worth its price and even the Phantasialand theme park is a very good short break for the entire family.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shardorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We were upgraded to a family suite on arrival and the rooms were very spacious and well-equipped with minibar, coffee machine large TV etc. We were totally amazed at the facilities: a walk-in shower, lovely bath, 2 sinks, 2 toilets, all beautifully new and clean. It was very luxurious.
Add to that, the view of the Black Mamba whooshing past!
But what we appreciated most were the sneak-preview tickets we were given valid from 1600 on check-in day. It was so quiet that afternoon in the theme park (much quieter than it was the following day) that we actually managed to do more rides in those 2 hours than we managed all of the following day. What a perk!
Thanks a million! We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoolsDarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Staff very is very nice. Best theme hotel visited in Germany. Hotel is lovated in the park Phantasialand. Prices of food, good value for money.

Room Tip: The parkside view is the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

When we arrived at the hotel just after 13:30 we were delighted to be told that the room was already free. We travelling with another family and so had two rooms next to each other. As you can see from the photos the rooms are tastefully done in an African theme.

Everything was very clean and tidy. Check in was efficient and the staff spoke english there never seemed to be a queue at check in any time we passed.

I only stayed one night so cannot comment on cleaning of the rooms etc. However our night's stay there was very pleasant and would recommend it to anyone wanting to visit Phantasialand. We used the free shuttle bus into Brühl as well which ran every hour.

There was a play area for the kids (4-7 years) which was supervised with soft balls and a film/relax area where the kids could draw etc.

The lounge bar only had 2 staff serving cocktails (very slowly).

Downside was the restaurant. You need to reserve it when making the booking unless you want a long wait or to sit outside (We stayed Thursday night and both buffet and à la carte were full.) The buffet was 25€ per head but they food wasn't to my taste and quite slow to refill the salad etc.

Breakfast was included in the hotel price and here it was much better and more value for money.

I would recommend it for families with young kids but not for business or teenagers.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sherrjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bruhl
1.6 mi away
H+ Hotel Koeln Bruehl
2.1 mi away
Hotel am Stern
Hotel am Stern
#4 of 9 in Bruhl
35 reviews
0.9 mi away
Domane Walberberg
Domane Walberberg
#5 of 7 in Bornheim
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Landhaus Wieler
Landhaus Wieler
#3 of 7 in Bornheim
10 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Koln-Bonn
Hotel Koln-Bonn
#2 of 7 in Bornheim
34 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Bonprix
Hotel Bonprix
#5 of 9 in Bruhl
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Village Matamba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Village Matamba

Property: Hotel Village Matamba
Address: Berggeiststr. 31-41, 50321 Bruhl, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bruhl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bruhl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Village Matamba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the magic of Africa! Enjoy an unforgettable short break with your friends and family at Phantasialand. MATAMBA is a family hotel that awakens a longing for the fascinating continent and will instantly satisfy your adventurous yearning to see far off places! You can experience your dream African home whilst enjoying all the benefits of western standards in our rooms and suites. For the young guests the WATOTO kids’ fun has already started behind the tall palms in the foyer, with a large indoor and outdoor adventure play area that offers a huge amount of space to play, romp about and experience new things. This is where the children can climb and throw balls at each other. Whilst the young ones go on an African safari adventure and try out their skills on the fantastic climbing course in the savannah, the adults can relax with a drink in the Jafari Bar. Our restaurants will carry your taste buds off to the vast continent of Africa. Its exceptional food is as varied as the continent. Exotic, fresh, creative and inspirational - simply delicious! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Village Matamba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing