We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice themed hotel for visiting Phantasialand” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Village Matamba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Village Matamba
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bruhl
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice themed hotel for visiting Phantasialand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

When we arrived at the hotel just after 13:30 we were delighted to be told that the room was already free. We travelling with another family and so had two rooms next to each other. As you can see from the photos the rooms are tastefully done in an African theme.

Everything was very clean and tidy. Check in was efficient and the staff spoke english there never seemed to be a queue at check in any time we passed.

I only stayed one night so cannot comment on cleaning of the rooms etc. However our night's stay there was very pleasant and would recommend it to anyone wanting to visit Phantasialand. We used the free shuttle bus into Brühl as well which ran every hour.

There was a play area for the kids (4-7 years) which was supervised with soft balls and a film/relax area where the kids could draw etc.

The lounge bar only had 2 staff serving cocktails (very slowly).

Downside was the restaurant. You need to reserve it when making the booking unless you want a long wait or to sit outside (We stayed Thursday night and both buffet and à la carte were full.) The buffet was 25€ per head but they food wasn't to my taste and quite slow to refill the salad etc.

Breakfast was included in the hotel price and here it was much better and more value for money.

I would recommend it for families with young kids but not for business or teenagers.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sherrjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    81
    15
    8
    5
See reviews for
127
36
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

I somehow managed to find myself in room 1015, which is a massive suite decorated in African theme! I was really quite a surprise and when you are travelling for business it was really quite different to what I am used to!!

Only a couple of points. When I turned up and put my key in the door, there were no lights on inside at all which is fine except that it was night time and so pitch black!! I couldn't find the switches feeling the walls for them and instead finding african masks, which when you haven't seen your room yet was a little bit of a surprise (and probably not in a good way when you are groping around in the dark!!), I went back to the hotel desk to ask them where the switches were and she started walking with me but then realised (the english/german miscommunication barrier) it was just the lights she said they are next to the door, I said I had "looked" but couldn't find them and she said they are next to the door on the left or the right and went back to reception......so I went back and fumbled around a bit more and found them eventually....I thought she might have come and shown me where they were!! THe other light issue is that you basically have to get out of bed to get to the lightswitches which was a bit annoying when you have to get up to go to work early and it is still dark.

The other issue was that there was no wifi at all!! You could connect thought the phone line or get a box from reception.....this is 2010 not 2000 and I would expect more in a hotel that size!!

Anyway, overall they are minor issues and I really did enjoy my stay. The food in the hotel was nice too....they claim it is african but I have been to africa and I am not so sure about that, but it was tasty anyway.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krisandjase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire ,England
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

We had a brilliant 2 day one night stay at Phantaisland.
The shuttle bus took us for E1.50 from Bruhel station to the (automatic opening ) double doors of the hotel. After taking in the mud huts and jungle setting that make up reception we then learnt that the children had all gone back to school after having their half term the previous week. Result!! An empty park to run amok in.
The hotel is a bit of a maze but the lower corridors have a rope bridge set up running down one side, leading to the buffet resturant so that was a good way of getting bearings. There is another resturant but it wasn't open as it was low season.
We opened the door to 1359 and were greeted with sight of the Stonewash Creek rollarcoaster right outside. Very surreal watching people wizzing past! My partner's first reaction was to worriy that all 3 of us wouldn't fit into the room....it took a while to see that we actually had a whole separate bedroom as well as the main room/bedroom. The second room had no window but was done to look like a safari tent complete with lanterns, a small wooden table and stools
Too good to be wasted on children!
Bathroom had a marble freestanding basin and a walk in shower. Sliding door with no lock and no sound proofing but very nice none the less.
By the way the hotel has a nice feature in some of it communal area toilets in that they have mother and child units with a normal and a small toilet in the a double sized cubicle.
We had the buffet which we were concerned about at E25 each. However the resturant is superbly themed and had a separate children's buffet area with tons of junk including sweet selection and a great buffet with hot and cold everything. A hatch serves steaks from a selection including Ostrich,Impala and Springbok!
Breakfast which is included is a similarly impressive affair with some fantastic pastries and a usual hot and cold selection of typical breakfast goodies.
This was a genuinely 3 star superior hotel and was a better than any of the other themed hotels I have stayed in for design and detail.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyEade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

The hotel exterior doesn't do it justice, perched right on the edge of a public road with the car park opposite (which you have to pay extra for!). Once you set inside the level of theming is excellent, well on par with the Disney resorts.

The staff were very welcoming and the service was good, with just the exception of the waitress in the bar who was hopelessy slow even with only 4 tables of people there - we gave up on having a second drink. Shame as the bar area with its huge fire is really nice.

We opted for the evening buffet which offered a selection of Africa dishes but selection and quality wasn't great - especially considering the 26 euro each price. There were also flys on the salad! Breakfast buttet was the complete opposite, masses of choice and great quality - a real suprise.

The rooms are great and really tastefully themed and are of a very good standard, with comfy beds and an excellent shower. The only negatives is that there is no mini bars and no wireless internet (you have to go to reception for a cable, only 1 euro for 15 mins but watch out for the ridiculous data limits!). Also the noise of screaming kids from the play area just off the lobby echos through the atrium and can be heard in your room - if I stayed again I would get a room away from this area.

The theme park is just a short walk away. There is a bridge that appeaered to go from the hotel directly into the park but this was chained up, shame as it would be nice if you go from straight in.

Apart from these issues had a great stay at Matamba and would definately stay again when visitng Phantasialand.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr-Jons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Matamba from the 13th too the 23rd of April 2010 & cannot sing its praises highly enough. All the staff where professional (which you would expect in a German run hotel) but also friendly, polite & very helpful (They have really got it right here). The restaurants served a excellent selection of foods for breakfast & evening meal, although we cannot comment on lunch as we never had it in the hotel. The rooms were spotless & included sky TV & telephone . The location was ideal for entrance into Phantasialand (next door) & only a 5 minute free bus ride from the delightful town of Bruhl with its Museums, art gallery & stately house & gardens(in the middle of Bruhl). Phantasialand was great for the kids aged 7 & 10 with a nice combination of rides & shows, without the horrendous queues of the place in France. The food in the park was a little too bit american based for our liking, but that is the only bad comment. As for getting there, if you fly into Cologne I would not hesitate in saying catch the train from the Airport to Cologne & then change in Cologne to Bruhl. It took us 50mins & at a fraction of the cost of a taxi at 50 euros. If you are a liitle conserned about getting lost, ask a German as they like to pratice thier English. Finally if you are feeling a little bit more adventurous go down to the train station in Bruhl & book a family all day rover pass (14 euros), which covers you for all local trains & the underground in Cologne. Cologne itself is worth two days.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pitchiesontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

We stayed at Hotel Matamba both on our way to and way back from Croatia. A night each time. We arrived mid afernoon and were delighted to be offered free entrance into the theme park which caused huge excitement - the park didn't close until 8.30 pm so we had plenty of time to go on rides and all for free. Our room was fantastic. Plenty of space for 2 adults and 3 children and cost just £90 a night inc breakfast (and mid afternoon entrance to park, of course!). It did feel like being on a safari - huge room with all sorts of strange but fun African touches, including bird and anumal noises every now and again. Great big canopied beds and the kids' room was down a corridor in the suite and was like being in a tent (very hard to explain but again caused huge excitement!). Lovely huge shower and everything was immaculate. Lots of indoor and outdoor play areas for the children and the view from our fabulous balcony was amazing - looking right onto one of the main rides at the theme park. Incredible. The breakfast was perfect - serve yourself - huge variety of things to choose from and could not be faulted (again in an African themed room). Would definitely go back again in a flash.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tedhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2009

Matamba gave us a very original, realistic, caveman like of atmosphere. Our two children (age 4,5 ) were a little bit afriad of the African paintings and dim lightings at the lobby.

However, they were soon warmed-up by the various mini-playgrounds at different corners of the hotel. There is a indoor playground with a ball pool and indoor slide. Along the corridor leading to the restaurant, there is a long stretch of obstacle courses with suspension bridge, hanging ropes and monkey bars. Outside the indoor playground, there’s another safari theme outdoor playground. All these playgrounds are enough to occupy the children for few hours.


After checking into our room, my children fell in love with the 2.5m high bunk-bed. The room is very spacious and simple. There's a Queen bed with a bunk-bed in the main section and a little (door-less) room with a super-single bed near the entrance. There’s a LCD TV but no mini-bar, no safe and no hot-pot. Shower room is tastefully designed however the warm water flow is erratic as gashes of extremely coldwater would suddenly flow out.

The hotel stay bundled with daily breakfast buffet. The breakfast has a good spread from usual breakfast cereals, juices to hot and cold dishes. They also serve special kinder buffet with little gummies and hot pancakes.

The hotel is a perfect stay for easy access to Phantasialand. The hotel is a perfect stay for easy access to Phantasialand. Bruhl is only 4 local rail station from Cologne. A nice twist from standard Rhine River tour.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank odakyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bruhl
1.6 mi away
H+ Hotel Koeln Bruehl
2.1 mi away
Hotel am Stern
Hotel am Stern
#4 of 9 in Bruhl
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.9 mi away
Domane Walberberg
Domane Walberberg
#6 of 7 in Bornheim
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
H+ Hotel Koeln Hurth
4.2 mi away
Zum Schwan Hotel Garni
Zum Schwan Hotel Garni
#2 of 2 in Weilerswist
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
8.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Koeln Marsdorf
Ibis Budget Koeln Marsdorf
#76 of 262 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Village Matamba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Village Matamba

Property: Hotel Village Matamba
Address: Berggeiststr. 31-41, 50321 Bruhl, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bruhl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bruhl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Village Matamba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the magic of Africa! Enjoy an unforgettable short break with your friends and family at Phantasialand. MATAMBA is a family hotel that awakens a longing for the fascinating continent and will instantly satisfy your adventurous yearning to see far off places! You can experience your dream African home whilst enjoying all the benefits of western standards in our rooms and suites. For the young guests the WATOTO kids’ fun has already started behind the tall palms in the foyer, with a large indoor and outdoor adventure play area that offers a huge amount of space to play, romp about and experience new things. This is where the children can climb and throw balls at each other. Whilst the young ones go on an African safari adventure and try out their skills on the fantastic climbing course in the savannah, the adults can relax with a drink in the Jafari Bar. Our restaurants will carry your taste buds off to the vast continent of Africa. Its exceptional food is as varied as the continent. Exotic, fresh, creative and inspirational - simply delicious! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Village Matamba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing