We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect and we saw 8 tigers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Samode Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Just perfect and we saw 8 tigers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

After a 5 hour journey from Kahna we arrived over very rough dirt tracks through the jungle buffer zone to Samode Lodge. It was getting dark and we were asked when we wanted dinner and someone would pick us up at the arranged time to take us to the dinner venue which changed nightly and was a secret. That night we saw a tiger film round a camp fire over a G and T and then had dinner outside. We had a 12 hour day in the Bandhagarh game park the next day and morning drives the next two days. We saw 8 tigers in all which was a dream come true. The staff were a delight and the room perfect with hot water bottles both in our bed at night and to cuddle at 05.30 each morning when we left for the game park

Room Tip: We were in room 4 and that is where the owner stays when he visits
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sloop23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
85
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
166 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

A perfectly designed and executed safari lodge, magnificently managed by a lovely couple who are great hosts and pamper each guest. Luxurious lodging, well designed and executed, with a pampering staff, superb spa facilities, excellent cuisine. Never expected anything this good so far away from civilization. Adjacent to the park, although the roads are deeply rutted and bumpy! Still, a great retreat after a day trekking for tigers!

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the main lodge to avoid a long trek back and forth!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Level Contributor
97 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Can't complain about this place. The accommodation is outstanding , the staff brilliant and the food really lovely. Beware due to the schedule of safari you won't get time to enjoy the benefits which is a shame as it is expensive to stay here. One other word of caution the evening dinner and pre drinks is formal so much that your day guides get togged up in jackets and jodhpurs which to be honest look daft in the jungle. Each to their own. It's a long drive to the gates each morning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkguyukBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanslope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Myself and my partner have just returned from a two week tour of the Game reserves in MP India. We visited 3 parks and four different accommodations.
Samode was luxury in the extreme. The only downside was that we could only book two days there and so we were not able to fully appreciate all that was on offer.. The rooms with every conceivable luxury including an outside bath and shower. Food to die for. And two game drives a day in very spacious Jeeps.Evening meals were held in different venues on all nights with a variety of cuisines on offer. Luxury indeed

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

It was a trip I cant ever forget..so beautiful were the rooms with an option of an open bathroom to use. Surrounded with the jungle a nice pool a super spa which is just lovely after a nice tiger safari.. the food was amazing..u name the cuisine and they know how to make you lick your fingers. . The staff is extremely courteous and the effort they make to make each dinner worthwhile is something one cant ignore.pool side dinner or the documentary with a barbecue are to name a few.. overall an experience worth remembering.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank floppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Me and husband visited Bandhavgarh in May 2013 (4th - 7th) for my birthday and stayed at Samode. We found this property through tripadvisor and booked it. The property, the experience, the hospitality all of it was simply fabulous! After having experienced many luxury safari lodges - i can definitely say this is one of the best in India!

Property - It has been done up so well, every little detail can be admired! The art on the walls is amazing.. u can spend hours looking at it.. The rooms are lovely and very luxurious, spacious.. It gives you the feel of a king's jungle lodge!

Hospitality - I feel they have created their own benchmark in hospitality which is higher than most resorts. Its very personalised and they make one feel very special! Their concept of leaving a little note on your bedside every night, serving meals in different setups which is a surprise are just few of these. The property manager Gauri and naturalist Yadu were great!

Food - They really know how to feed you well. Whether a continental meal or traditional rajasthani meal, the food was outstanding too!

Safari - They have their own jeeps and highly trained naturalists which makes the safari experience great. Sighting obviously as most know is a matter of chance but we had some very good sightings as it was summers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaurusIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Lodge was beautiful with books on the area and wildlife galore. The rooms were like apartments, bedroom, bathroom, (indoor and outdoor shower), living room, tea, coffee, cookies. Guari and Anshuman were fantastic. Every night we ate dinner (wonderful) in a different area. They sent great breakfasts with you on the game drive, then when you came back you had another breakfast. Then lunch and a game drive. Then tea and cookies and dinner. The service and the people were wonderful. We are going back next year for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandhavgarh National Park hotels
6.7 mi away
Nature Heritage Resort
Nature Heritage Resort
#2 of 12 in Bandhavgarh National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mahua Kothi
Mahua Kothi
#4 of 35 in Bandhavgarh National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
7.6 mi away
Aranyak Resort
Aranyak Resort
#1 of 12 in Bandhavgarh National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Sun Resort
The Sun Resort
#2 of 10 in Tala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lemon Tree Wildlife Resort Bandhavgarh
7.1 mi away
Syna Tiger Resort
Syna Tiger Resort
#14 of 35 in Bandhavgarh National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samode Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samode Safari Lodge

Property: Samode Safari Lodge
Address: Village Mardhari, Post Dhamokar District Umaria, Bandhavgarh National Park 484661, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Bandhavgarh National Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Bandhavgarh National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Samode Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Samode Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing