We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peacefull location”
Review of Tiger Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tiger Lagoon
Muscat, Masqat, Oman
1 review
“Peacefull location”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The first impression of tiger lagoon is so impressive you fall in love with the place instantly. The place is so peaceful, you can sitoutdoor for hours together. Each cottage is spacious and beautifully designed. There is a outdoor shower outside every cottage , though we couldn’t use it because it was cold , it must be fun in summer.
You can hear the birds chirping throughout the day .
The service was pleasant and staff are extremely helpful. We were a group of 24, they looked after us so well .
Most important thing is make sure you have booking for jeep safari , well in advance.
The staff are genuinely nice and friendly. Over all the stay at this place enhanced our total holiday experience

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sridevi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    20
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
21
16
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
2 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We a group of 25 people stayed there for one night in dec 12 and it was a most cherishable experience for each one of us. Right from ambience, location,individual cabana rooms, everything was perfect. Tiger lagoon has nice clean beautiful dining area with big glass doors n windows which makes it open to surrounding. We had mesmerizing tiger viewing on both the safaris which made our trip oh so special. The staff was courteous n efficient and took care of all our needs n demands. They even ensured that we went for safaris with enough blankets as it was very cold. A special evening bonfire was organised by hotel to make our holiday a perfect one. All in all it was one memorable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K10mehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights at this place and were amazed by the service. The staff speak very good English. The manager Ghan Shyam was of an unbelievable help with logistics, helping us with transfers to train station, train ticket booking, advice. He was as well very open minded in sharing his culture. As it was very chilly we were provided with heater. We loved our stayed over there.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot, Gujarat, India
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Excellent experience at Tiger Lagoon. Visited the place for 5 nights Very polite and discipline and co-operative staff. The rooms were awesome, the outdoor shower and jacuzzi oh...great idea!!!!!
Food was very healthy and hygiene. Everybody have to visit once at Tiger Lagoon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123456789309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Right from the guidance for booking the rooms, help in reaching the place (as we were driving), to the food, the warm and homely environment created by the staff it was one of the best vacations we have ever had. The cottages were clean and tastefully decorated, the pool was well maintained. The staff, the place, food and the wildlife we saw, made a place in our hearts..... A big thank U to Mr. Anup who was very thoughtful.

We saw tigers, a sloth bear, various birds and plant life. I strongly recommend that if U are looking for a vacation in MP, should stay in Tiger lagoon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kshama C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I have stayed in a lot of hotels & resorts in Bandhavgarh. My last couple of visits to the jungle have been primarily for the Tiger but now its also for the experience of the resort & the forest. Last October, during a business trip, I stayed at the Tiger Lagoon & was zapped to notice the enormity of the area in which it is built! Its humangous!!! Its a world of its own!

The rooms are as big as a cricket pitch, play, run, dance! Not to forget, the bathrooms are the size of bedrooms & fully equipped with the latest toiletries. One can spend an entire day just wondering around in the resort! Owing to the size of the resort, the service seems to be a bit delayed. The food is buffet, like in most jungle resorts....its good & palatable. One big flaw I think is its Location. It is a bit too far from the forest entry gate. So in order to go for the safari, one has to leave the resort at least half an hour prior, which takes a toll sometimes. The staff is courteous & helpful.

Summing up, its a luxurious place to stay & gives the feels of the jungle with a beautiful view of the lagoon.

P.S: I stayed at this resort with my brother Deepak Rai, hence the reservation was in his name.

Room Tip: The newly done rooms near the lagoon are heaven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monica j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Its an amazing place to stay.The location is excellent, right by a lagoon with green fields beyond....close to nature, peaceful & undisturbed. The rooms are large & beautifully designed with a working open air jacuzzi attached to each cottage....what more can you ask for ?? Each cottage has privacy and a large balcony overlooking the lagoon. The staff are very polite, warm and accommodating & the food makes you drool though its a fixed menu.
But here's the catch...I made the tedious journey all the way to Bandhavgarh, for nothing else but to see the tigers & the hotel had totally messed up my safari bookings. I don't blame the ground staff at the hotel, as they made every effort to see what best they could do under the circumstances.There are three safari zones, & most travellers to Bandhavgarh who've done their research know that the Tala zone is the premium zone, as tiger sighting are more common here. Hence, I'd initially asked them to book both the safaris in the Tala zone & since the person making the booking said that of late, there'd been quite a few sightings even in the Magdhi zone ( the other zone ), I asked for the bookings to be changed to one safari in the Tala zone & one in the Magdhi zone, and paid the fee on line about 15 days before I got there. They had also asked me to scan & mail across my id proof & since I had a scanned copy of my passport on my comp, I mailed the same.I read the instructions mailed to me by the hotel, which mentioned that I need to carry an id proof ( which I didn't think of as much of a problem coz I always carry the Govt issued PAN card in my wallet ).
Imagine my surprise when I get to the hotel & find out that both my safaris have been booked in the Magdhi zone ( non premium zone ) & I need to carry the very same id proof that I'd mailed across to them & not any other Govt approved id proof, else, I cannot go on the safari at all !!! I was fuming !!! Coming all the way from Bangalore, ( 2 flights, an overnight stopover & a 6 hour car journey later ), ONLY to see the tigers & they took it lightly enough to not even inform me beforehand, that they could not get bookings for the Tala zone.The field staff made every effort to make things better by somehow getting my id proof approved, but the fact remained that I never made it to the Tala zone & never got to see a tiger in the wild !! Another day, another trail maybe.......but I still think the hotel behaved irresponsibly by not informing me that they could not get a booking for the Tala zone, since I'd made the booking 15 days ahead. I could have possibly postponed the travel dates if they had informed me before I got there..........

Room Tip: Make sure you get your safari bookings ( zones ) confirmed by mail before you travel, even if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnjalieBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandhavgarh National Park hotels
37.2 mi away
The Wildflower Resort
The Wildflower Resort
#6 of 12 in Bandhavgarh National Park
158 reviews
38.0 mi away
Nature Heritage Resort
Nature Heritage Resort
#2 of 12 in Bandhavgarh National Park
380 reviews
39.3 mi away
Aranyak Resort
Aranyak Resort
#1 of 12 in Bandhavgarh National Park
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.9 mi away
Syna Tiger Resort - Bandhavgarh
Syna Tiger Resort - Bandhavgarh
#14 of 34 in Bandhavgarh National Park
72 reviews
37.9 mi away
Mahua Kothi
Mahua Kothi
#5 of 34 in Bandhavgarh National Park
205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lemon Tree Wildlife Resort Bandhavgarh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiger Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiger Lagoon

Property: Tiger Lagoon
Address: Village Pataur | Tala, Bandhavgarh National Park 484661, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Katni District > Bandhavgarh National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Bandhavgarh National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tiger Lagoon 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the natural water body (lagoon) around which the safari mud cottages are located, Tiger Lagoon houses 20 cottages over an area of 15 acres. These thatch - roof cottages are equipped with all modern amenities without loosing natural touch. The air - conditioned cottages are decorated in a rugged fashion which extends the feel of nature even inside the rooms. The sandstone flooring sesame wood furniture, and the open are jacuzzi or shower are enough to make you feel one with nature. Best called as Bird Watcher's Paradise by our associates and guests, you may spend time leisurely walking with our naturalist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Tiger Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing