We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pugdundee Safaris Kings Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pugdundee Safaris Kings Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Ajmer, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were a group of 13, which included 4 young and 1 older child. We had booked 4 stilt rooms for 3 nights, from 31st Dec to 3rd Jan. We arrived early (4 of us), and we're given a room immediately and also offered breakfast. The others arrived about an hour late, but had to wait till about 1 pm to get the rooms. We were given 5 and not 4 rooms by Mr. Varun, the Manager at the property. He just gave us 1 full room complementary without our even asking him, just for the kids. We were very touched by this gesture.

The property is very near all the 3 gates of the National Park, in a really rustic setting. It has all the basic modern amenities. The rooms are very well placed with exceptional privacy, in forest like settings of trees and bamboo. At night the pathways to the rooms are lit by real lanterns only, and add to the beauty and give a surreal feeling. The ambience of the property is very rustic yet modern. Very tastefully made and comfortable. Very well trained and courteous staff.

I have been to other resorts in many places of the world, including Madikwe in South Africa, but this one has been the best till now in terms of ambience, service and courtesy. Very rustically built vast resort with just 19 rooms. Very tastefully and minimalistcally done. No TVs on the property. Signal problem for most Cell networks. But all this helps add up to a relaxed holiday. Minimal lighting in the rooms too.

The food was simple, but wholesome and service again was very good. They try to accommodate your wishes too. In fact they even made pit roast on an open fire (1st time I was told) for some of our group. There was always lemonade available just outside the dining room. Tea and coffee etc. could be ordered any time in the main area (kettle etc. already there in the rooms).

The Safaris provided by them were extremely good, with one of their driver cum naturalist Gudda, being better than most of the guides in that area. Infact with Gudda, whether you are lucky to spot the Tigers or not, you are given so much other insight about the other variety of fauna and flora of the area that it was amazing.

We were lucky to see the Tiger, 1female, in all it's majestic glory just 10 feet behind our Gypsy, on our very 1st drive, and 1st 15 minutes inside the reserve core area. Our guide that day Ravi Pratap (not Gudda), again very knowledgeable, had taken us directly to that vicinity without waiting for any other photo ops, just on a hunch, as the tiger was seen in that area in the morning, near a water hole in Magadhi (gate2) of the reserve. We were among only 4 vehicles that were present there, and we had the best views. Lucky us.

It is not a cheap resort, but worth every penny, just to be in the resort and enjoy the ambience.

We were taken for a visit to another of their amazing properties, the Treehouse Hideaway, nearby. They also organised a high tea in that property, in a very remote area, near a lake and adjoining the fenced off boundary of the Tiger Reserve. They carried all the tables, chairs and food upto that area and set it up for us. Amazing.

Sure to return again, or go to their other properties. The on at Kanha, Earth Lodge, is supposed to be even more luxurious. They must keep up their standards and the eye to detail, which was visible in this trip. Thanks to all the staff also for the time we had.

Room Tip: Take a stilt room! Like living in a jungle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandeepgarg907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    60
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
53
135
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We arrived at the King’s lodge from their sister lodge in Panna (Ken river lodge). Compared to Ken river lodge , King’s lodge is a more upmarket version with large public areas ,a swimming pool etc.

Mr.Varun Kumar ,General Manager, did everything to make our stay memorable – from welcoming us personally on arrival, to showing us our room (No. 14) and going out of his way to arrange safaris for us in Tala and other zones. He and his ever-smiling staff ensured we had a wonderful experience at the King’s lodge. Meal times were fun with everyone recounting their safari experiences .

For us , next to the safaris , the most enjoyable part of the day was the gathering in the evening next to the reception area .We would have a shower to wash off the grime from the game drive and come here for a sundowner and wildlife movie. And as one sipped a drink in the cool of the evening , in trooped the staff with a variety of delectable short eats ! That was fun!

We came here to see the one animal that had eluded us in our 30 years of visiting jungles in S.India –the Tiger and although the first couple of game drives proved a little disappointing in terms of not seeing a tiger ,we struck gold on our third game drive.Kankati strode out of a clump of bamboo and graced us with her presence !

Gudda ,the resident naturalist ,is very knowledgeable about wildlife in Bandhavgarh .It was with Gudda that we finally got to see the tiger .

It was a memorable 3 days at the King’s lodge and Bandhavgarh and we still look back fondly on our stay there.On the day we left for Jabalpur, Mr.Varun Kumar even had a lunch packet packed for us to have on the way. Now, that is service for you ! Thank you Varun Kumar ,Gudda,Aman and all the service staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 250vimala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The property is very scenic and has a rustic natural charm to it... the rooms are clean and nice and food is very good... the evenings along the bonfire are another charming factor...
The service is also very nice....

Visit my blog for the tiger sighting experience...
http://cr8vibes.blogspot.in/2013/07/bandhavgarh-tiger-glory.html

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Creativevibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Visited Kings Lodge this Year in the month of May. The cottages are big, clean and comfortable – plenty of space to sit inside and outside your room. The rooms were tidy and clean, the bed linens and sheets were really tidy. Service was too good. The Staff was really sincere and nice. The food was outstanding. The lodge has a big dining room where one can sit and chit chat and share ones experience. The swimming pool was maintained properly. The lodge has a big library or a sitting room where one can sit and read peacefully. Overall has such a lovely and unforgettable experience

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sapna-d123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, Madhya Pradesh, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Happened to be in bandhavgarh with my team few days back and had put up at kings lodge cottages.Were treatedd like kings and the cotages are beautiful,have nice wooden furnishing and ambience. The best part other than safari was the way in which staff welcomed and serviced a group of 50 people. The property is beautiful and have the best team. Stay is highly recommended.

Room Tip: take the stilt cottages you wil love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gauarvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Staying at King's Lodge was a very pleasant experience. The cottages are on concrete stilts and predominantly built from wood. Inside are many dark wood furnishings. Overall very comfortable. The food was excellent and the staff were welcoming and attentive.

The Lodge is conveniently situated a short drive away from the Tala Gate to the Premium Zone of the Reserve (all drives must be booked in advance and you will need to show your passport to enter). The Reserve has an amazing landscape and in addition to all the other wildlife, this zone is considered a good location for sighting Tiger.

I was with Naturalist Gudda who was very knowledgable and who I would thoroughly recommend especially for keen photographers. I was thrilled to see Tigers on two occasions, in their natural context in the grass.

You may have read comments from people at various locations who have had tigers walk up to their vehicle and so on, but my experience in India at four tiger reserves over two weeks in February was that it was fairly rare to see Tigers, though some travellers were luckier than others. Indeed the Tala premium zone of Bandhavgarh was the only reserve where I was fortunate enough to see a Tiger.

So, for all the above reasons, I am looking forward to returning one day very soon I hope! And King's Lodge at Bandhavgarh is top of my list to revisit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I've been to bandhavgarh recently. It reminded me of my stay in national parks in Africa. I will highly recommend to visit bandhavgarh national park and stay in Kings Lodge as it really value for money.
National park is well managed. You need to book safaris in an advance. It is best to enjoy all that the park offers without focusing solely on looking for tigers.

The experience at the resort is outstanding. The cottages are big, clean and comfortable – plenty of space to sit inside and outside your room…excellent place to start and finish your favourite author’s book.
When you fill the bath tub, you will notice that water looks yellow but it is actually because of high iron content in the water.
Service is too good. King Lodge services were friendly and manager was prompt on suggestions and arranged local transport to visit villages nearby.

We were given sufficient food and drinks before leaving for Safari. We were given cold towels, fresh juice and light snacks after coming back from safari.
I enjoyed every meal as it was simple and like home made food. My special food requests were well taken care.
Aman and Choubeji (Naturalists) are full of local knowledge about tigers, birds, plants and flowers.
Good personal attention was given by each staff and Varun (Resort Manager) to make our stay special.
If you are visiting India then you must visit bandhavgarh and if you are visit bandhavgarh then you must stay in kings lodge to pamper yourself and experience an amazingly memorable holidays!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShashiAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandhavgarh National Park
6.3 mi away
Nature Heritage Resort
Nature Heritage Resort
#2 of 12 in Bandhavgarh National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pugdundee Safaris Tree House Hideaway
Pugdundee Safaris Tree House Hid...
#1 of 35 in Bandhavgarh National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mahua Kothi
Mahua Kothi
#4 of 35 in Bandhavgarh National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Aranyak Resort
Aranyak Resort
#1 of 12 in Bandhavgarh National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
6.7 mi away
Samode Safari Lodge
Samode Safari Lodge
#5 of 35 in Bandhavgarh National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pugdundee Safaris Kanha Earth Lodge
Pugdundee Safaris Kanha Earth Lo...
#1 of 42 in Kanha National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pugdundee Safaris Kings Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pugdundee Safaris Kings Lodge

Property: Pugdundee Safaris Kings Lodge
Address: Village Rancha, Bandhavgarh National Park 484661, India (Formerly Kings Lodge)
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Bandhavgarh National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Bandhavgarh National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pugdundee Safaris Kings Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is spread in a sprawling estate of 12 acres in Rancha village (8-10 minutes from the park gate) and is surrounded by Sal forested hills on all sides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Pugdundee Safaris Kings Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Bandhavgarh National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing