We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bandhavgarh Jungle Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just returned from India having had the pleasure of staying in this wonderful lodge. Nothing was too much for the very friendly staff and our guides Durgesh and Harish. Lodges were very clean and spacious and food was tasty and varied suiting everyone's needs. We saw tiger on our second drive, a memory that will stay with me forever! Big thank you to all the staff and fellow nature lovers for making our stay a memorable one x

Stayed: April 2013
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 93 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

We ,a group of 5 family and friends, arrived in Jablapur airport from Mumbai on February 19, 2013. From the time we were met by a driver with a van at the airport to the time we were dropped back at the airport on Feb 23, 2013, Bandhavgarh Jungle lodge took care of our every requirement with utmost care and love. The lodge itself is located close to the Tala gate of the National Park, amongst lush trees and forest - blending effortlessly with the environment. The in-house naturalist who accompanied us in all our safaris as well as nature walks and bird watching, was very knowledgeable, gentle and accomodating, and very patient in explaining various birds and animals - sighted around 50+ different birds. The cottages are very cosy, clean and spacious. Perhaps the most appreciated aspect of the lodge would be its excellent and friendly staff and the incredible food!! They are very punctual in their services - morning coffee (at 4:30 AM on safari days!!) to breakfast, lunch and dinner - a wide variety and delicious. Their rapport with the Park rangers was very helpful in tracking the big cats - the whole exercise of sighting Tigers was made more interesting by their skills in tracking pug marks, observing other animal behaviours and calls.We saw 3 tigers at close quarters - that alone made our trip worthwhile - in addition to a number of other wild life. All in all, an unforgettable experience, a great place, wonderful lodging and food, and above all excellent staff who really take good care of their customers!! We have definite plans for visiting again, and again.

Room Tip: Cottages that also have a hammock
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sridhar51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I was at Bandhavgarh Jungle Lodge with my 2 elderly guests for 3 nights (23rd – 25th March).
I must say that we were overwhelmed by the hospitality of the team there. We have been treated with genuine warmth and kindness throughout our stay.
The lodge is located right next to the Tala gate. It is so close to the Tala region that at night I could hear the alarm calls from the forest.
The lodge has struck a fine balance between comfort and character of a jungle lodge. Spread across a large area planted with trees and accommodations in beautifully designed thatched roof cottages with sunlight pouring through the skylight of the toilet roof. This is THE PLACE for serious wildlifers.
I have been to Bandhavgarh many times in the past, but this was the by far best experience that I have experienced. Surely I will always stay at Bandhavgarh Jungle Lodge on all my future visits. We are already looking forward to returning again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ratnabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We arrived in Bandhavgarh National Park having spent three amazing weeks travelling around north east India and had literally just hot-footed it from the chaos of the Kumbh Mela festival in Allahabad - so we were in serious need of some peace and tranquility! That’s exactly what we received at Jungle Lodge! It was so good to be able to relax in our wonderful accommodation, which was clean and well maintained with a fantastic hot shower, sit on the verandah and watch birds and langur monkeys cavort in the trees. The area is well laid out with a fire pit for residents to gather around in the early evening before dinner and a roof top for sunbathing and lazing around on during the day. The food was delicious, in fact some of the best we had tasted on this trip and the staff were very attentive and anxious to make our stay happy. It was so nice to sit at a communal table with other people as it meant you got to know the other residents and we had some great conversations.

I had read on the website prior to booking that we would have our own naturalist to take us into the park and on walks outside and had viewed this with some cynicism - but that’s exactly what we had! It was Dushi, our naturalist, who was made our stay so special. He was polite, friendly and above all so knowledgeable that we both learnt loads about the wildlife of this area. He accompanied us on our drives into the park so that as well as Dushi and the driver we also had a Park Guide - with all that knowledge and experience on board we couldn’t fail! The park is beautiful and the landscape and vegetation quite varied depending which sector you go into. We had three separate sightings of tigers - I can’t tell you how exciting they were - and on one a female tiger called Kankati walked straight towards us and then alongside the jeep! Dushi also took us on walks around the village area pointing out interesting features and identifying trees, birds and animals for us.

We had come to Bandhavgarh at the end of our trip hoping for rest, relaxation and with the dream of spotting tigers - Jungle Lodge fulfilled it all!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brumold2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We arrived Bandhavgarh by train from Agra to Umaria (we are a norwegian family with two children on 10 and 13 years).
We were met by a guide when we arrived. He informed us about the place, and he took care of us all time we were there. The staff made us feel so welcome and safe. Our guide followed us for a walk in the area. it was wounderful. The food was tasty and good. We were so happy when we saw the majestic tiger, and the staff shared our happyness with us, - always there for us. The Lodge was great for both children and grownups. Bring warm clothes if you go there at wintertime. It is cold in the morning and the afternoon. But it is warm nice weather in the middle of the day. The staff put warm water bottles in the bed at night, and bottles to bring on safaris. We kept warm with the bottles and blankets. The booking took care of everything. They took care of us from the booking, the pickup at the trainstation, during the stay and even followed us on the train, making sure we came to the right place.
We will give Bandhavgarh Jungle Lodge our best recomandation.
Thank you, to all of you working at the booking office and at the Lodge. You are wounderful, and we will love to come back.
Best regards Trine Lise and Brian Kolseth

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trine Lise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Recently had an amazing stay at Bandhavgarh Lodge. Upon arrival I was met by several staff and a guide. I was immediately brought into the main dining area for a quick orientation while the bags were delivered to the room. The entire staff was very accomodating and friendly as well. There were a couple of nights it was very cool and they were nice enough to serve our soup while sitting by the fire. All the food was excellent as well. Tea/Coffee was served in the morning as well as the evening with cookies and other snacks in the evening around a fire. The main dining area/lodge has Wifi which worked quite well.

The lodge is located within minutes of the gate which is very nice for the early morning game drive. I am not cold natured but I had a fleece jacket, gloved and pants until mod morning. I was quite surprised at the cold mornings. The drivers and naturalists are full of information regarding the history of the park as well as all the wildlife. This made the experience even better.

I stayed in a twin bed cottage with no A/C but toured other rooms that were larger and had A/C, though the A/C was not needed at all. The twin bed cottage had a very larger bathroom and shower. The beds were very comfortable and there was a ceiling fan as well. Overall the accomodations were very nice. However just be aware there are different types of accomodations.

Thanks again for the great time!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flyinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Just got back from a fabulous stay at Bandhavgarh Jungle Lodge. It was a great opportunity to visit what is probably the most popular and best wildlife sanctuary in India. The lodge is beautiful and our stay there was amazing. The hospitality of the staff there was superb. A special word of mention and thanks to Mr Amit Sankhala and the entire management and staff present there who were always very courteous, attentive and accommodating. Each one of them was extremely pleasant and helpful. We learned a lot from them about history of the place and jungle from the staff.

We were really impressed with the food- it was excellent! The best part about the food was that it was so homely and the service was excellent too. More importantly, it was consistent throughout all meals. It was definitely one of the many highlights of our stay. They even served snacks and tea / coffee after we use to return from the safaris. It was very nice of them to pack meals for us for the safaris and our drive back to Jabalpur. We felt very pampered throughout.

The Lodge is conveniently located right next to the entrance gate of the Tala zone, which is the premium zone in Bandhavgarh. Its close proximity to the jungle just adds to the whole experience. Perfect place to stay in Bandhavgarh. Obviously, we felt completely safe and secure in the lodge. They also have wifi in the main reception area.

The booking office took care of everything from pick up/drop off at Jabalpur airport; safari tickets etc and we really did not have to do anything.

The safaris turned out to be spectacular too and we couldn’t have hoped for better sightings. We saw Bamera (dominant male tiger) appear out of nowhere and walk past our jeep. Saw the Vanvai female and her cub (amazing sighting again) and even got a very short glimpse of the Mahaman female in the Magdi zone. Sightings are completely on luck but certainly figured out why this place is rated so highly.

Overall, we had a fantastic holiday and couldn’t have asked for a better holiday. Would like to congratulate the management and staff at the lodge for all the hard work and effort that clearly shows is being put into making all your guests' stay such a wonderful and memorable experience. We certainly will recommend this place to our friends and family. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amithal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandhavgarh National Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Nature Heritage Resort
Nature Heritage Resort
#2 of 12 in Bandhavgarh National Park
393 reviews
2 mi away
The Wildflower Resort
The Wildflower Resort
#6 of 12 in Bandhavgarh National Park
163 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wild Haven Resort
Wild Haven Resort
#1 of 3 in Tala
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tiger's Den Resort
1.1 mi away
Mahua Kothi
Mahua Kothi
#7 of 35 in Bandhavgarh National Park
206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tiger Trails Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bandhavgarh Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandhavgarh Jungle Lodge

Address: Bandhavgarh National Park, | District Umaria, Madhya Pradesh, Bandhavgarh National Park 484661, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Umaria District > Bandhavgarh National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Bandhavgarh National Park
Price Range: $198 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bandhavgarh Jungle Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bandhavgarh Jungle Lodge. Access:• Jabalpur Airport (200 Km) • Khajuraho Airport (270 Km) • Umaria Railway Station (32 Km) • Kanha (280 Km)Located within walking distance of Bandhavgarh National Park’s main gate, the lodge has been developed on the theme of an Indian village, with twelve thatched double–bedded cottages around an inner courtyard. There are two separate villas with further accommodations of eight rooms. A spacious thatched dining room serving home cooked Indian food and Continental cuisines, becomes the center point of activities like campfire performances, lectures and star gazing. The estate has meadows that attract deer and fruit trees that are home to birds and butterflies. An occasional alarm call from the jungle close by alerts you to the tiger on the prowl! Bandhavgarh Jungle Lodge provides a professional resident naturalist, a library with wildlife books and magazines. Laundry services and recreational activities are also available – Jungle safaris in open 4x4 vehicles, bird watching, nature or village walks, elephant camps, and visits to the weekly market local fair or village schools. Bar-be-que dinners and campfire nights with tribal dances are some of the surprises in store for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Bandhavgarh Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bandhavgarh Jungle Hotel Bandhavgarh National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing