We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A superb stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Sorgenfrei
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Radebeul
Keerbergen, Belgium
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A superb stay”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Hotel Sorgenfrei does just everything the name says. It's situated in a beautiful old winery. Rooms are in the building where the former wine merchant presented the wines and received guests. The restaurant is in the building where the wines were stored before shipping. Both buildings are beautifully and respectfully renovated and show some amazing trompe l'oeil artwork.
Reception at the front desk was perfect. We had a very spacious room on the groundfloor (front), beautifully decorated, good beds and bathroom.
Since we had just driven 800 km and didn't want to go into town anymore, we also had dinner at Villa Sorgenfrei and it was just as perfect.
If you are looking for a boutique style hotel, close to Dresden without the noise and trafic. This is the place.

Room Tip: we had a room on the groundfloor, front - spacious, nice view on the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelman-Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    17
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
53
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Never judge a book by its cover. Because a cover is all this place really is. We had a wedding here. Nice place and service; however, behind the scenes is a completely different story. This was anything but stress free. They don't know how to keep track of a bar tap, and just randomly charge insane amounts after the fact. They "estimated" the wedding cake price since they never asked the actual price; charging more than 100 euros in excess of the actual cost. Oh, the owner takes AMEX, but refused to do so after overcharging us and she just happened to disappear when the bill had to be paid. The attendant called the owner and the owner said "no we just stopped taking it yesterday". Also, simple things that were "no problem and at no additional cost" during the negotiation/scheduling time 6-8 months prior appeared on the bill after the fact. I guess if you're one to judge a book by its cover, this is your hotel; otherwise stay away.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celle, Germany
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The Hotel is beautiful with lovely gardens where we we able to breakfast. The Dinner was also delicious and the service in general exceptionally helpfull and friendly. It's roughly a 10 minute walk to the tram Station and the trams leave every 10 minutes for the center of Dresden (ca.20minuten) and also travel regularly in the evening. We also enjoyed a meal at Hoflößnitz nearby. Got a lot of use out of the 48 Hour Dresden City Cards

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gurke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My husband and I had the chance to spend one night here while the grandparents took care of the kids. We chose this as a romantic hide away and it was very cute. It was very easy to find if you have a sat nav :-)
We had a nice walk in the hills behind the hotel ( they recommended a nice route) and then a three course dinner at the restaurant. All very nice.
The only downside, at least in room 14, were the beds. Neither of us slept particularly well as the beds are rather uncomfortable. No continental beds here, but rather rustic spring beds with rather hard mattresses on top. A double room has to single beds pushed together. Not perfect for romance, even if the atmosphere goes a long way in compensating for that.
I would recommend this hotel for people travelling through the area, it is a nice place, but for more than one night or romantic evening in the room I would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Room 14 had no shampoo or conditioner so bring that along.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Delightful old villa that has been restored to its former glory. We booked through expedia so didn't get the best of rooms, the lady who checked us in said you get the nicer rooms if you check in through them directly but as we got a good deal through expedia we didn't mind and our room which was on the top floor was still lovely although a long way to carry suitcases as there is no lift. The dining room where you have breakfast is beautiful, you feel like royalty, just a shame they weren't open for dinner when we were there (mid-week) but we were told of a nice place to go to just a short walk up the road and we had a delightful meal there among the walnut trees and vineyards.

Room Tip: Book through Hotel to get best room but you won't get the deals the chain bookings offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tigergalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoge noorden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Little hidden gem, beautifull, great food, very friendly staff, very good value, highly original, spotless clean, etc, etc, etc. Please don't tell anybody!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank broer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
121 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2009

Not cheap! A bit hard to find this hotel - you definitely would not want to stay here unless you had a car. Room huge but I was shocked that the bedroom had no carpet! There is no tub, but that was clear online which said "shower only". The staff speak very minimal English and I still don't know whether they have nonallergenic bedding or not. Best thing about the Villa is the restaurant. Also, if it had been hot out, we would have suffered here.

I would not chose this hotel again -it is not that comfortable, and is not convenient, but it is quiet.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olderfemaletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radebeul
Hotel Villa Constantia
#4 of 9 in Radebeul
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Neustadt
Bulow Palais
Bulow Palais
#3 of 118 in Dresden
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Sorgenfrei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Sorgenfrei

Property: Hotel Villa Sorgenfrei
Address: Augustusweg 48, 01445, Radebeul, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Radebeul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Radebeul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Sorgenfrei 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by vineyards and charming gardens, this chic hotel is peacefully located in Dresden's Radebeul district. An elegant restaurant and spacious accommodation with free Wi-Fi are offered here. Set in a carefully restored, 18th-century villa, the bright rooms and suites at Hotel Villa Sorgenfrei feature hand-painted walls, wooden floors and antique-style furniture. Comforts include a flat-screen TV and delightful garden views. An a la carte or continental breakfast is available each morning. French dishes and Mediterranean-inspired cuisine is served at the restaurant at Hotel Villa Sorgenfrei (which is closed on Tuesdays). The hotel is ideally located for guests wishing to explore the Saxon Wine Route. After an eventful day, visitors can relax with a glass of fine wine on the terrace. Free private parking is available at Hotel Villa Sorgenfrei. The historic city of Dresden is 9 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HRS, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Sorgenfrei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorgenfrei Hotel Dresden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing