We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but nothing more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
NOVINA Hotel Herzogenaurach
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Herzogenaurach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed at the Novina for one night in March 2012 during a business trip.

Perfectly decent business hotel in the middle of nowhere, can only be recommended if you have an early (or very late) meeting in one of the businesses next door. The room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast ok and the staff courteous.

Not a stay I will remember, but nothing to complain about either.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlouhimies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominik M, General Manager at NOVINA Hotel Herzogenaurach, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for your review and your time.

As we are mostly frequented by business travelers, we may be less attractive for a leisure stay. Sorry for that.

Nevertheless we hope to see you again. Maybe we can then do something to convince you!?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 149 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

I visited this Hotel during the Easter weekend. I lived in this area during the late 1980's -early 1990's and I wanted to see how much this area had changed. And how indeed. The area where the hotel is located is a former U.S. Army base whcih was called Herzo Base. They actually still call this area Herzo Base although the base has been closed since 1993. The hotel is still very brand new. On that weekend, it seemed like we were the only guests there. We visited the outlet ADIDAS and shopped around. This is located not too far from the hotel. Although there is a schuttle service, I rathered drive my own car to get around. The city of Erlangen is not too far and there is plenty to do there. Bars, restaurants and some clubs. The hotel room was very nice. Clean, roomy and spacious. The sauna was very quiet. The breakfast was good although on my first day, I didn't care much for the eggs. They tasted much better on the next day. Must have been a different cook. :-) I loved the big TV screen by the bar. I sat there watching some good German soccer games and a nice cold Weisen Bier. They also make a "mean" tasty mojito.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the north side. Better scenary and it's quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donbacardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominik M, General Manager at NOVINA Hotel Herzogenaurach, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for your detailed review and your time to write it.

I'm happy to hear that you were pleased with our hotel and services (and the Mojito ;). We hope to see you again on the Herzo Base!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel is a must relaxing suite, amazing service and you could not fault the staff from breakfast to dinner. The Director Dominic as created a warm friendly atmosphere to the hotel with lovely cuisine.

Room Tip: No swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank masatojones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominik M, Owner at NOVINA Hotel Herzogenaurach, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for your review and the compliments! It is always nice to hear that our effort can satisfy our guests.

Sincerely

D. Maiser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Rooms are nice and large, staff nice and breakfast good.
Disadvantage: internet connection did not work for my laptop and tried a few times with the hotel staff to get connected. Gave up after all and decided for the t mobile Wifi connection, which you have to pay for.
The ramada should really think about a free wifi solution for its guests which is international standard in hotels.
Thanks

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
Thank KT F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

I have recently stayed in this hotel and in my opinion it is excellent. The Hotel looks great, the rooms are spacious and very clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful and all of them speak English very well. The food is really good and you have a wide range to choose from. The hotel also provides you high speed internet free of charge.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anja988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

As with many of the reviews that you will read on this hotel, location may be a big factor for you. If you have a car, fine. Although there are plenty of buses and tax service is excellent, if you want to travel to Nuremberg frequently, then a rental car may be a better option. A taxi to Erlangen, the nearest town with a train station, costs Euro 20; driving to Nuremberg will set you back about Euro 40.

Overall summary of this hotel: All the basics are here, and then some, with pleasant and professional service. I recommend this hotel (which is good because you don't have much choice!)

Room:
Size: spacious for Europe. Mine included a nice work area with two chairs.
Bed: comfortable with duvet and two VERY soft down pillows.
Minibar: sparse; only four non-alcohol drinks
TV: excellent source to learn German, English channels limited to the usual intl news
Internet: free (no wifi)
Bath: Good with a deep and long tub, howerer narrow. Hot water plentiful
Heating/Air con: I didn't need either as the weather was perfect for sleeping. I turned the air con on to test it. It was quiet but not silent.
No hot pot but they will bring you hot water upon request

Restaurant:
Breakfast: nice selection of breads and meats. I am fussy about my eggs and the scrambled eggs failed the test. Waffles are added once a week for variety. There are over 20 different tea selections, six jam selections and the coffee is excellent. Six kinds of granola but no hot cereal. I did not order anything from a menu. Indeed, I never saw any guests order from a menu so there may be no choice but the buffet.

Lunch: I did not eat lunch here.

Dinner: The menu is pretty thin, but there is adequate variety once you request the bar menu. The food is prepared well, the salad crunchy and tasty. I recommend the local Franconian wines by the carafe.

Fitness Room:
Stair Master, XC ski, treadmill, stationary bike, free weights and universal gym.
Sauna, lockers and shower all clean and well maintained
No attendant, at least when I was there

Service:
I found all the employees at this hotel friendly and professional who are willing to accomodate your requests.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmbassadortotheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel mid-July. On the whole, service, room (with free internet), breakfast, restaurant are very good.

The only problem I would like to highlight is the quality of the towels in the bathroom: they look like "cheap Chinese standard" and this is a pity for such a nice hotel.

Otherwise, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VOYAGEURShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herzogenaurach
2.1 mi away
Hotel HerzogsPark
Hotel HerzogsPark
#2 of 8 in Herzogenaurach
119 reviews
4.4 mi away
NH Erlangen
NH Erlangen
#1 of 36 in Erlangen
404 reviews
4.7 mi away
Novotel Erlangen
Novotel Erlangen
#4 of 36 in Erlangen
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Nuremberg
3.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#1 of 3 in Hessdorf
69 reviews
5.9 mi away
Select Hotel Erlangen
Select Hotel Erlangen
#23 of 36 in Erlangen
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NOVINA Hotel Herzogenaurach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NOVINA Hotel Herzogenaurach

Address: Olympiaring 90, 91074 Herzogenaurach, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Herzogenaurach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Herzogenaurach
Price Range: $88 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — NOVINA Hotel Herzogenaurach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your NOVINA Hotel Herzogenaurach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Herzogenaurach
Herzogenaurach Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing