We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chevron Rosemount, Ranikhet
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ranikhet
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My family and I recently stayed in this property at Ranikhet during our visit. We got ourselves a double room accommodation that was adjacent to the main building. The stay at the resort was nice and comfortable. The rooms were very basic, as were the bathrooms. However, they were clean and tidy. The food was simple and not rich in spices. The lack of amenities were more than compensated with the pleasant and helpful attitude of the staff - right from the manager on duty to the people in the service team. Service was prompt, willing to please and effective.

Ranikhet, being a cantonment area for the Kumaon regiment, is sparsely populated and serene. The resort is located a little away from the main town and the main market - Sadar Bazaar is about 15 minute drive. Places to see include the Chaubatia Garden, which is an orchard with apple trees and a forest, the KRC museum, Tweed factory. Golf course and temples were not a part of our itinerary.

Meal timings - Morning tea was available around 6:30am, breakfast at 8:30am, dinner from 8:30pm onwards. Meals had something for everyone. So for breakfast, if you are not from the aloo-poori cadre, you have cornflakes, curds, milk and fruits.

The hotel has a front lawn that provides a great sit-out during evenings. From here, we were told that one could see the Himalayan ranges. During our trip, the range could not be seen because of the haze due to forest fires that had enveloped most of the hills in this area. The lawn has plants, some of which are labelled. A level below this front lawn was a field that had a couple of swings, an activity corner for kids and a play area. Stepping further down was a neglected hut with a thatched roof that probably could be used for dining outside, although it is a little distance away from the kitchen. There is a dilapidated brick house at that level on the other side, that was a excellent adventure place for kids.

Mornings had a slight nip in the air and evenings were very pleasant out on the front lawn and we were also treated to the sounds of leopard during our stay, Carrying and consuming your own liquor is absolutely fine. You can use their fridge for chilling your beer. If you run out of stock, there is a shop in Sadar Bazaar that you could use to replenish, but brands available are limited. The hotel can also get it for you without a fuss. For recreation, there is a library, a carom board and a Table tennis room (that is hidden from normal view).

All in all, a place that I would sincerely recommend for staying during a trip to Ranikhet.

Room Tip: The "double room" is great for families since it has 2 rooms with a double bed in each and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abir69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    61
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
80
39
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have been to this resort more than twice. Every time, it has been a pleasure visiting Ranikhet and the resort in particular. The resort is close to the small Mall road of Ranikhet, The resort is more than 100 years old British (wooden) building, surrounded with dense forest. The approach road is lush green and excellent for short walks. The climate is truly of the hills, with cool breeze during the summer days also. We could hear the birds chirping, almost through out the day. It is a perfect getaway for relaxation. Highly recommended for a person who likes to stay at a peaceful hill resort, with nothing much to do.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piyush2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We check in on 20 th june,the climate was good.Hotel is situated in a calm place surrounded by devdar and pine trees.it is away from rush area,food was good and staff is also good.Overall value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEERAJ_TYAGI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Rosemount is a bunglow built in 1900 and located on Mall Road.. the stay here takes you away from fast pace of city life and you can enjoy the nature that surrounds this beautiful place. food quality was very good and home like. staff was extremely customer centric. one gets to see a vast variety of flora and fauna here

Room Tip: take rooms on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LokeshAgarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Thanks to the Indian Army, Ranikhet continues to be a secluded hill station, not meant for the noisy traveler! Chevron Rosemount is meant for the laid back traveler who prefers to go on long walks & stay away from touristy hustle bustle. Since this hotel is around 1 km or so from the main road, there's absolute peace & tranquility. you get to hear chirping of birds all day and get to see all sorts of birds.Staff is courteous & there's no buffet facility though we really liked the food they serve either in the colonial dining room or the lawn.A word of advice for those who are expecting absolute luxury.. this is a very old heritage hotel and don't expect best in class amenities. Stay at Rosemount if you are game for peace and willing to give up luxuries for a few days. Also, please do not pay more than 1000 rupees for your taxi ride from Kathgodam to Ranikhet (one way), you may contact narinder at 09411337158..he's a local cab driver who showed us around and didn't try to flee us. As far as local sight seeing is concerned, there are lots of temples in and around ranikhet, so choose your pick accordingly if you are not too religious as cab drivers tend to take you through all of them.

Room Tip: Pine forest facing room...ask for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simran_Pankaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This was probably our best stay in a 15 day long uttarakhand travel. Its one of those giant bunglows converted into a hotel, with each room different from the other. The interiors are very nicely done and has a colonial touch to it. The garden is just amazing, and the deck chairs to view the mountain was the icing on the cake. They have enough games to pass time.
I have to make a special mention of the food. They have really good italian and thai food. I was really surprised to see the menu of the day included thai curry, and I wasnt disapointed even a bit after eating my lunch.
The place is very clean, and is winter friendly too with nice heaters.
We enjoyed walking around the property and specially the early morning sunrise and sunset views from the place. I would definitely want to go back to this place.

Room Tip: Try to get the top most floor, they have really good windows and the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madhukarbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Ranikhet is one of those few Hill Station in northern India which is not overcrowded by noisy tourist and irritating travel agents. Still maintained by the Indian army, the hill is clean, fresh crisp air, great roads and pathways.

In the lap on clean blissful environment lies Chevron Rosemount. Its an old villa converted into a resort, the antique appeal of the rooms are still maintained. More than the hotel, I loved it's location. Completely isolated from the city, it lies practically in the middle of the jungle. The early morning walk from the hotel to the main road is completely blissful. Watch the early morning sunrise from the hotel, and a view of the mountains from the lawn.

You will notice variety of birds which you have never seen otherwise.There are not many places to visit in Ranikhet apart from the apple orchid, the natural golf course and few other temples. The best one that I visited was a 12th Centuary ancient sun temple known as Katarmal. 25 km drive from Ranikhet and 2 km tiring walk will lead you to this temple. The view is spectacular. View of the mountain and view of the Kosi river down below.

Food is good, staff friendly. The geyser might not work sometimes and you would have to ask the hotel staff for an extra bucket of hot water. Thats ok. You will also find a couple of photos of Hrithik Roshan and Preity Zinta in the lobby. Supposedly the shooting of a popular Hollywood movie happened the hotel.
Do not expect great service and luxury/comfort, cause you aren't going to get any. Overall if you are looking for peace, Tranquility, bird watching Ranikhet and Hotel Chevron is very much recommended.

Room Tip: Choose the room with lawn View. You will get a spectacular view of the mountains early in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PragG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ranikhet
1.5 mi away
West View Ranikhet
West View Ranikhet
#1 of 9 in Ranikhet
163 reviews
5.4 mi away
Woodsvilla Resort Ranikhet
5.7 mi away
Cosmos Himalayan Villas
Cosmos Himalayan Villas
#6 of 9 in Ranikhet
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Heritage Resort Kausani
15.1 mi away
Imperial Heights
Imperial Heights
#2 of 16 in Almora
186 reviews
3.6 mi away
Windsor Lodge
Windsor Lodge
#2 of 26 in Ranikhet
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chevron Rosemount, Ranikhet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chevron Rosemount, Ranikhet

Property: Chevron Rosemount, Ranikhet
Address: The Mall, Ranikhet 263645, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Almora District > Ranikhet
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ranikhet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chevron Rosemount, Ranikhet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chevron Rosemount, Ranikhet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chevron Rosemount, Ranikhet Hotel Ranikhet
Chevron Rosemount Ranikhet Haridwar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing