We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite holiday spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chevron Rosemount, Ranikhet
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ranikhet
Certificate of Excellence
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My favorite holiday spot”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I've stayed in this resort twice and have only fond memories of it. The first time was my honeymoon in 2007. We booked the nirvana suite that time, which was not to our liking. The hotel staff immediately changed our booking to one of the rooms that overlooked the view of the mountains, and what a lovely experience that was. The view is breathtaking in winter, when the Himalayas come into view. In the rainy season, when we went there the first time, the himalayas are not visible, but the greenery all around is very soothing. The best thing about this place is the distance from the main town of Ranikhet, which makes it very quiet and peaceful- ideal for a honeymooning couple. Ranikhet itself is not too commercialized and pretty quiet compared to other towns of Kumaon.

The second time, I went with my office crowd. We booked a two room cottage. The disadvantage with this room is that you have to come out and sit in the garden to have a view of the Himalayas. This trip was in winter and the mountains were visible in all their splendor.

The food in this hotel is something else. The chef appears to be a magician who excels at every kind of cuisine he puts his hands to.

The staff are amazing- friendly and helpful, with may of them having stayed with this hotel for years together. They treat you like royalty, never giving you any reason to complain.

All in all, it's a winning package- great stay, great views and great food.

Room Tip: If you are going as a couple, ask for the pine view rooms that they have. If as a large family/ offi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akrish24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    61
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
80
39
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level Contributor
129 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

this hotel made our trip! it was absolutely beautiful and with great food being dished out by the chefs there. Smack in winter time thats what you need! they would set up a bonfire for us in the lawns in the evening and the snacks and main course was really good.
Please choose the rooms in the front of the hotel facing the ranges. they give a feel of a tree house and have one of the best views around.
A must go when in ranikhet!

Room Tip: rooms facing the himalayan range and the lawn have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alpanadm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

This is the most beautiful hotels to stay in Ranikhet, and we enjoyed every second of our stay here.
We were travelling from Chukori to Corbett and decided to stay in ranikhet on the way for one night. The Hotels in sadar Bazaar for one night stay were poorly below average, and we were contemplating whether we made a mistake by scheduling our halt at ranikhet.
We decided to travel further on mall road towards chaubatia gardens and on our way we found Rosemount Chevron.
The Place, the ambience and the location is excellent. from their garden you have views of panchachuli and nanda devi peaks.
The Ambience is Colonial, and reminds of royal ways the brits stayed here. Food was nice too.
All in all a great place to stay.
Tip for travellers to ranikhet, 'Do not find hotels on Sadar Bazaar, proceed towards mall road'

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building are extravagantly spacious, if you are travelling with a group of 4 o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dinar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

The Hotel is at an extreme end of Ranikhet, Situated at a dead end off the famous mall road of Ranikhet, the property is 130 years old. With a beautiful view of the Himalayas on one side and the forests of Corbett on the other, the place is definately for people who love the feel of nature.
The rooms are good, the service is average, The food of the hotel is average, but having no decent place around, this is the best you could ask for.
The hotel has a beautiful lawn where you could just be sitting and enjoying the beauty of nature or you could have your meals.
The surroundings get a little scary at night, as it is very close to the forest land.
Overall a wonderful experience to stay

Room Tip: try and choose the rooms in the main building facing the lawn, as this room gives the best view in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amitladha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

A great place to stay to compliment a visit to a lovely/quiet hill town in the Himalayas.
The building is over 150 years old colonial structure, if i remember right.
Its quaint, spiral staircases, wooden floors, big windows, and a large area outside to sit out or explore.
The food was great as well, infact on one of the trips to ranikhet when i was staying elsewhere, we dropped in just for lunch and to take in the ambience.
One of the rooms on the first floor has a huge window on two sides, and on most clear days you can see the snow capped peaks peeping out in the distance.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hus_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Ranikhet is itself a low crowded place to visit, where most of the part is covered by the Jungle. We visited there last year in first week of August, during the Monsoon. During our trip to Ranikhet we were full of regrets, that whey did we plan for this trip in Monsoon, as it was heavily raining all around. Thankfully by the time we reached there rain has stopped and the weather was quite pleasant.

By the entrance of the Chevron Rosemount Hotel, no one can make out that its really a good 3 star rated hotel resort. But by the wood used to build up the main reception building of this hotel, it seems to be developed during British Rule. Absolutely clear and hygiene Atmosphere and ambiance to stay.

The hospitality of the hotel was visible from the entrance itself, when two of the hotel staf ran towards our Cars for the luggage, good to see them saluting to my parents. So soft spoken, that you cant stop praising them.

We opted for separate family cottage instead of going with hotel rooms, as the hotel rooms were too old, however classic in terms of interior. The family cottage were recently buildup with two rooms and attached bathrooms in it including one common drawing room in it. you'll be surprised to know the rates we were charged for the same. We were charged Rs 4000.00 per night on making the reservation from its Delhi office. However when we inquired on reception, they offered the same two room cottage at just Rs. 2500 per night. Isn't it surprising?

Room were equipped with every kind of modern requirement along with cable TV, hot/cold running water.

We reached by afternoon, had lunch and some rest, after that we followed to its garden having badminton court in it. Played Badminton for an hour, while kids enjoyed the manual fun rides in the garden. Our parents were enjoying playing the Chess.

They organized free bonfire at the evening, and we enjoyed the warmth with music and dance, of our own.

They have a good restaurant, with antique ambiance inside. Serving good food as per the location, cant expect better then that. They serve all kind of food. I mean normal. If you wish to have sea food or Mexican or others, you can't expect these at this place.

They had separate room for Table Tennis and Carom down towards their staff quarters. I lost all the games with my wife, that too was a big surprise for me.

Taking sip of tea, out of cottage, on the leaning chair in the morning with sun peeping from the clouds and fog being seen around, is like a unique experience for me, never seen never felt. The location of the hotel is really awesome, to provide all such wonderful experience.

Next morning we went for the temple near by Jhula Devi, good peaceful small temple. Further moved towards the original Ranikhet, the Chaubattia Garden. Spread over a huge area in between the Jungle of Ranikhet. Amazing.. Due to rainy season, didn't find much to see there, however could see only vegetables grown and the fruits trees didn't have fruits.

There are other places too to visit, but you may avoid them, as they are not worth visiting, its better to take rest in hotel.

Now more about hotel. not sure about other season, but if you are visiting in monsoon, please take care of yourself, use mosquito cream whenever you are out, as you can find mosquito all around due to Jungles and rainy season. Keep your rooms locked specially the net door, as the bugs may enter your room, and spoil your dreams. better not to move out of hotel campus at night, as the area does have dangerous animals, as said by the hotel person, however they did have the security all over the hotel campus, with full flash light arrangements.

Room Tip: single family better to get room on 1st floor, rest please go for cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onlynaval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
100 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Its a 150 year old "heritage" property nestled on the Mall Road and is very quite. It has open spaces and on a clear day you will get amazing views of the Himalayn Range....
It has a main buiding and some cottages. We stayed first night in the cottage and then shifted to a main building Room. I would suggest fellow travellers (specially those who have small kids) to stay in the main building. The rooms are much bigger and neat.
The food was alright, however the service needed reminders at times to get your job done.
Overall, we stayed there for 3 Nights and found the place alright.... as we went o Ranikhet to get some peaceful Days, we more or less got it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUN-VI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ranikhet
1.5 mi away
West View Ranikhet
West View Ranikhet
#1 of 9 in Ranikhet
163 reviews
5.4 mi away
Woodsvilla Resort Ranikhet
5.7 mi away
Cosmos Himalayan Villas
Cosmos Himalayan Villas
#6 of 9 in Ranikhet
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Heritage Resort Kausani
15.1 mi away
Imperial Heights
Imperial Heights
#2 of 16 in Almora
186 reviews
3.6 mi away
Windsor Lodge
Windsor Lodge
#2 of 26 in Ranikhet
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chevron Rosemount, Ranikhet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chevron Rosemount, Ranikhet

Property: Chevron Rosemount, Ranikhet
Address: The Mall, Ranikhet 263645, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Almora District > Ranikhet
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ranikhet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chevron Rosemount, Ranikhet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chevron Rosemount, Ranikhet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chevron Rosemount, Ranikhet Hotel Ranikhet
Chevron Rosemount Ranikhet Haridwar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing