We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and wonderful services”
Review of West View Ranikhet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West View Ranikhet
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ranikhet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hotel makes you live in the colonial era. With huge rooms and bathrooms you really feel living in the Bristish Raj. The staffs are very courteous and friendly. The lawn is beautiful and well maintained.The food is excellent and being served with great care. We really loved the dining place. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sougataKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 178 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were their for 3 nights from 20th May to 23 May 2013. Hotel West View has excellent location, the staff was very courteous and helpful through out our stay. Food is excellent - variety in breakfast & dinner was amazing. We met the owner who was a good host. Rooms were good and good linen was provided.

Overall stay was excellent.

By: Col. Naresh Yadav

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nareshyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We went there for 3 nights in the month of March. When had booked a suite but we ended up taking a Luxury room as the room quality was the same and it had the garden outside. We were not so convinced about the place when we entered but the kind of personalized service they had provided us...its commendable. The view is not that great from the resort but it itself is in such a location that you'll never get bored there. You can sit outside in the garden...can do bonfire, can play Badminton or TT...can go for nature walks etc. We were just impressed by the service/hospitality. If you are going there...its a wonderful place to stay away from all the hustle and bustle of the city.... The only place to find peace!

Room Tip: I would suggest to go for a deluxe room o the ground floor as it has a garden outside. No point stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riah26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Driven by the out-of-date impression of West View in Ranikhet based on a visit 25 years ago as a student, I had stayed at this property in 2005-06

Regretably, I found that the smooth functioning of a tightly managed property had slipped , and slipped badly. The staff are still excellent, specially the long-duration employees who still retain the skills. The new boys are eager but clumsy. They are denied good support from the management and the property is scraping along. Not recommended unless you are very, very keen on this specific location

Added to this is the unkindness of nature and the incessant cutting of trees, which has rendered Ranikhet a disservice - it is still a town, and in the hills, but it is also uncomfortably warm.

The combination of the two had rendered this stay as a major let down. I must salute the efforts of a large contingent of staff who are old and loyal, who do give the best service possible under the circumstances. They have good intentions and good skills, and add the only redeeming feature to the property.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GURGAONFAMILY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Wonderful surroundings and excellent weather greeted us on arrival. Well maintained heritage property - this is the place, if you are looking to stay out of crowd. A nice and relaxed getaway, walk among the pine trees - kids do enjoy.. Completely different experience from regular resorts.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Subramanian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here for a 3 nights 4 days stint from 1st to 4th may, i would rate this as one of the best property at ranikhet but it is only for people looking for a nice quite place away from the humdrum of city life, nestled amidst pine forests, this is a colonial bungalow converted to a heritage hotel , rooms are large and spacious with all modern amenities, service is prompt and staff very polite and courteous, we were in the main building ground floor overlooking the vast green lawns and pine forest, one can take lovely walks in the forest around the hotel, another highlight was the well maintained garden with different variety of flowers in full bloom. this is near chaubatia garden and jhula devi mandir the main attraction of ranikhet. Would defiantly recommend this for a quite getaway.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in the main building ground floor (delux)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manimantra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We checked in the Hotel on 16th February 2013.Luckily soon after we checked in there was heavy rain and snow fall.We enjoyed the view from inside the Hotel room.Though the building is old but all the amenities were available.The antique furniture,the cut glass chandeliers,crockeries are worth seeing.As regards the staff no word is sufficient to describe how courtious they are.Every staff right from Manager Mr Tanwal to waters were ready to help in every possible way. Very serene place for vacation.

Room Tip: best room is Highland suite.this is open from two side and one can see tha panoramic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xxrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ranikhet
0.7 mi away
Chevron Rosemount, Ranikhet
5.5 mi away
Woodsvilla Resort Ranikhet
3 mi away
Xomotel Ranikhet Heights
Xomotel Ranikhet Heights
#4 of 9 in Ranikhet
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Cosmos Himalayan Villas
Cosmos Himalayan Villas
#7 of 9 in Ranikhet
18 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Kumaon
The Kumaon
#3 of 5 in Binsar
26 reviews
13.6 mi away
Imperial Heights Binsar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West View Ranikhet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West View Ranikhet

Address: Mahatma Gandhi Road, Ranikhet 263645, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Almora District > Ranikhet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ranikhet
Price Range: $65 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West View Ranikhet 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West View Hotel Ranikhet is amidst all the natural beauty situated on a plateau overlooking the west valley, surrounded by pine and fir forests, covering an area of 6 acres. A family run heritage resort, West View Hotel dating back to 1918. The West View boasts 18 suites and rooms. The most popular annexe block houses ‘The West View and The West Mount Suites’, furnished in the Queen Annexe style–Luxury Personified! The sit out Café, The Oak garden, The Coffee Shop and The Dining Room offer a choice of multi cuisines. The West View’s warm personal appeal is matched by an understated sophistication in its detailed classic interiors with their elegant furnishings, rich woods and warm fireplaces, along with contemporary facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your West View Ranikhet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing