We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Calm, serene and close to nature”
Review of West View Ranikhet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West View Ranikhet
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ranikhet
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Calm, serene and close to nature”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Wonderful surroundings and excellent weather greeted us on arrival. Well maintained heritage property - this is the place, if you are looking to stay out of crowd. A nice and relaxed getaway, walk among the pine trees - kids do enjoy.. Completely different experience from regular resorts.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subramanian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    61
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
92
40
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here for a 3 nights 4 days stint from 1st to 4th may, i would rate this as one of the best property at ranikhet but it is only for people looking for a nice quite place away from the humdrum of city life, nestled amidst pine forests, this is a colonial bungalow converted to a heritage hotel , rooms are large and spacious with all modern amenities, service is prompt and staff very polite and courteous, we were in the main building ground floor overlooking the vast green lawns and pine forest, one can take lovely walks in the forest around the hotel, another highlight was the well maintained garden with different variety of flowers in full bloom. this is near chaubatia garden and jhula devi mandir the main attraction of ranikhet. Would defiantly recommend this for a quite getaway.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in the main building ground floor (delux)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manimantra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We checked in the Hotel on 16th February 2013.Luckily soon after we checked in there was heavy rain and snow fall.We enjoyed the view from inside the Hotel room.Though the building is old but all the amenities were available.The antique furniture,the cut glass chandeliers,crockeries are worth seeing.As regards the staff no word is sufficient to describe how courtious they are.Every staff right from Manager Mr Tanwal to waters were ready to help in every possible way. Very serene place for vacation.

Room Tip: best room is Highland suite.this is open from two side and one can see tha panoramic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xxrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Highlights-
1. Very quiet and peaceful.
2. Lovely walks.
3. Nice large rooms and comfortable old world charm.
4. Efficiently run, polite staff and uncomplicated processes.
5. Not frequented by the general tourist - so the crowds are absent and nice polite families are the other guests.
6. There is lovely golf course under the Army- very relaxing rounds can be enjoyed.
7. The Kumaon Regimental Centre runs a handicraft bazaar at an old church-'some nice woolen stuff and sometimes some nice tweed is available.
8. Lovely drives to Kausani, Mukhteshwar and from many parts of Ranikhet the snow views are visible.
9. The Cantonment is clean and preserved in pristine condition and one gets the feeling of going back to the 1950s.

Lovely place to take a break- not for the TV loving, shopping tourist.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sundeeprsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed in Jan first week. Surprisingly rooms were available. Searched the hotel via trip advisor only.

Though room are kept as they would be in british era but the facilities like bed/matress/quilt were not as you expect from Numero Uno.

No stay/food arrangement for Driver. They made our driver stay in closest KMVN resort and charged for it which as per me were above average. Food was average but expected more.

Occupancy would be arnd 30%.

Plus
Rooms were spacious. Warm water was available full time.

Hospitality was Good.

Overall average services for the price we paid for our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to open area on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Khurp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, Rajasthan, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Me and my family went to ranikhet for a superb trip .... i stayed there for 3 days away from all the pollution and of course the wonderful environment .....my hotel was amazing view was just breath taking and the feeling I have no words to express that .....soo I hope that you all will have the same experiance there

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 12_simmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

When you have planned a vacation , U might have been delighted for a sec , seeing a Perfect Old Bunglow amidst of green hills & pines. If you have dreamed about ur vacation , go for this . Live in an old colonial days with colonial british army in their old days. Wonderful , simply the one I might have dreamed about.

The Place is 5 km from Ranikhet Sadar Bazar and basically inside the army contentment area. All old good bunglows of ranikhet are basically in this place .

If you are travelling on winter days or in dry season , It need not to worry about the –ve reviews about this . The reason being , In monsoon area , it can be like this . And after all it is 150+ years old bunglow in a hilly place.

I found the food is wonderful . Generally bangalies have distinct taste and hard to adopt other than rice & fish cooked in mustered oil. Believe me , me Bong , have travelled with my aged parents and aged in laws and foods we really enjoyed and have actually put our weights during our 3 night stay. We booked the whole annex building and realy enjoyed every piece of it.

Again caution for those who expects 5 star facility in Old Bunglow life , simply because they might have paid similar price of 5 stars. 2nd , this is not a place for those , who came to a hill station to see every parts of the hill and travel from morning 6 to evening 7 on a CAR . This is the place for those who really want a vacation.

Room Tip: If travelling single family , book at Main building. If travelling with 3-4 Family , book for Annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hritu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ranikhet
1.5 mi away
Chevron Rosemount, Ranikhet
5.6 mi away
Woodsvilla Resort Ranikhet
5.8 mi away
Cosmos Himalayan Villas
Cosmos Himalayan Villas
#6 of 9 in Ranikhet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Heritage Resort Kausani
15.7 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#7 of 48 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
5.2 mi away
Rhodo ReTreat and ReSorts
Rhodo ReTreat and ReSorts
#4 of 25 in Ranikhet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West View Ranikhet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West View Ranikhet

Property: West View Ranikhet
Address: Mahatma Gandhi Road, Ranikhet 263645, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Almora District > Ranikhet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ranikhet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — West View Ranikhet 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West View Hotel Ranikhet is amidst all the natural beauty situated on a plateau overlooking the west valley, surrounded by pine and fir forests, covering an area of 6 acres. A family run heritage resort, West View Hotel dating back to 1918. The West View boasts 18 suites and rooms. The most popular annexe block houses ‘The West View and The West Mount Suites’, furnished in the Queen Annexe style–Luxury Personified! The sit out Café, The Oak garden, The Coffee Shop and The Dining Room offer a choice of multi cuisines. The West View’s warm personal appeal is matched by an understated sophistication in its detailed classic interiors with their elegant furnishings, rich woods and warm fireplaces, along with contemporary facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your West View Ranikhet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing