We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it and we'll be back very soon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West View Ranikhet

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
West View Ranikhet
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ranikhet
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We loved it and we'll be back very soon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

We were 3 couples and went to Ranikhet as our hotel booked by Makemytrip was some 2 star cottages "Cosmos Himalyan Villas". We reached Ranikhet and it took us 3 hours to find that "Cosmos Himalyan Villas" as we went to see the cottages from inside we came to know that cottages were closed for off season and only One 3 bedroom cottage was opened for us which was also not cleaned and there was only 1 caretaker for us and this property was very far from the main city, so we decided not to stay as we were the only couple in that cottages and that peoperty was really shabby from inside and from outside too. So we called Makemytrip and told them to change our hotel as we don't want to stay there....later there was no response from MMt we looked on internet and we came to know about this "WEST VIEW HOTEL", and we all decided to go there. We reached there and this hotel was out of the world as it made totally in British style we saw the room and decided to stay there for 2 night. We really had fun of our life...this is the best property in Ranikhet if you want to stay. Bedrooms are nice and clean, food is awesome, tasty and mouthwatering. Easily accessible and close to the city. There are lot many thins to do in West View like you can play cricket, baddi, you can do bournefire...amazing place to stay. 200% recommended.

Room Tip: Try little hard for a good discount. Rooms are excellent and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satty06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestViewHotel, General Manager at West View Ranikhet, responded to this review, November 13, 2011
thank you very much. looking forward more references from you.

ajit jain
09910295370
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    60
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
88
39
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Our first priority was to have some quite time and Ranikhet in offseason is must to visit lovely/quiet hill town in the Himalayas. We decided to visit Ranikhet in July in spite of knowing the risk of monsoon, which can play the spoil spot in your trip (but it didn't in my case).
The moment we reach hotel it was WOW effect, Imagine a stone made British structure with enough of open space which was made to provide luxury to their officers. Rooms are big and clean. Staff was courteous and always happy to help and serve. We enjoyed the food thoroughly be it breakfast or dinner. Special mention for Kumauni style Raita (Curd) made with fresh crushed mustered and spices.
Hotel location is great with no concrete structures around the hotel. Enough space for children to run and fun. Volleyball and Badminton courts are available in case you need to play. You can walk few kilometers in any side of hotel to click camera with views. Apple orchards are close by and must visit place to get the awesome view of picturesque Himalayan region.
At last can't resist talking about Mr. D S Tanwal (Mr. Manager) was courteous and helpful right from start of our trip ,on the way to guide us on route and during my whole stay. He was always available and helped us on all our queries. Overall a great and memorable trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mymyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestViewHotel, General Manager at West View Ranikhet, responded to this review, November 13, 2011
thank you very much. looking forward more references from you.

ajit jain
09910295370
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Our first priority was to have some quite time and Ranikhet in offseason is must to visit lovely quiet hill town in the Himalayas. We decided to visit Ranikhet in July in spite of knowing the risk of monsoon, which can play the spoil spot in your trip (but it didn't in my case).
The moment we reach hotel it was WOW effect, Imagine a stone made British structure with enough of open space which was made to provide luxury to their officers. Rooms are big and clean. Staff was courteous and always happy to help and serve. We enjoyed the food thoroughly be it breakfast or dinner. Special mention for Kumauni style Raita (Curd) made with fresh crushed mustered and spices.
Hotel location is great with no concrete structures around the hotel. Enough space for children to run and fun. Volleyball and Badminton courts are available in case you want to play in evening over a cup of tea. You can walk few kilometers in any side of hotel to click camera with views. Apple orchards are close by and must visit place to get the awesome view of picturesque Himalayan region.
At last can't resist talking about Mr. D S Tanwal (Mr. Manager) was courteous and helpful right from start of our trip ,on the way to guide us on route and during my whole stay. He was always available and helped us on all our queries. Overall a great and memorable trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mymyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

Of the many holidays that I have enjoyed over the years,this would surely be one of my best. An amazing property with british style accomodation,this is the place where you should be if you are looking for peace & the best of nature. The half a kilometer walk to Jhula Devi temple gives one the real feel of the woods. The hotel in itself with it's great surroundings,excellent service, friendly staff & great food would make you want to go back again....overall a wonderful place for a great holiday.

Room Tip: Room 23,where I stayed is one with the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Subroyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

Booked this hotel after reading lot of good reviews on tripadvisor. Being a weekend, It was packed, but managed to get a Standard(Basic) Room, and asked them to upgrade the next day subject to availability.
This being a heritage hotel, 150 years old, you could expect a lot of old world charm, and it delivered on that. The Main Building has a few deluxe rooms & Luxury suites, and rest of the rooms are in cottages tucked in a corner.

Our alloted standard room was also in a tucked away cottage. The room looked more like that of a cheap budget hotel than a heritage hotel like this. Bed was in shambles, creaking & shaking, with some dirt on the bed-sheet. The main door could not be locked due to some misalignment. The so called cupboards seemed like they have not been opened for years. Bathroom was okay and I would say, cleaner than the Bedroom. We didn't complain only on the hope that we will upgrade the very next day as assured by the manager.

Day passed fine, as we spent most of the time on the hotel's lawns & checking out the property, my kids having the most fun. Had lunch in Hotel's restaurant, taste was average and the quantity served in a portion was too less. All in all we were pleased with our choice. Buffet dinner was arranged on the lawns with bonfire. The food was again strictly average with not much variety.

What we didn't expect on returning to our room was that it was going to be one of the most horrible nights of our lives. Spotted quite a few (finger-long) earthworms like creepy-crawlies on the walls and floor. Called the room service and all they could do was supply us a insect-killer spray with a room freshener spray, WoW. Sprayed some of the killer spray, and hoped all will be fine. But, we were wrong as this was just the beginning. Hardly 10 mins later, spotted a 5-inch long scorpio right near the bed. The kids were terrified as were we, killed it with my shoe and immediately called the room service. As it was around 11.30p.m., after a lot of repeated calls, the room service guy appeared and showed his helplessness to do anything regarding this. We had no other option but to spend the entire night awake, guarding our little angels. Being a weekend, it was useless to go searching for another place in the dead of the night.
The insect spray seemed to have attracted more of them, as earthworms started descending from the gaps in the wooden roof like marine commandos, straight onto us on the bed. I remember killing atleast 20-25 of them, apart from innumerable others who were there on the walls and floor. Its hard for me to recall if I have ever had such a horrible night. Main worry was our kids, who spent entire night shaking of fear.
Early next morning, as soon as the manager reached the hotel, summoned him to appear on the crime scene. Though he didn't seemed to be apologetic about the whole thing which certainly proves that this was nothing new for him. All I wanted was a immediate check-out with a confirmed room in some other hotel. But he requested and promised endlessly to upgrade to the deluxe room in the main building which is free of any such issues.

After much thought and deliberation, we believed his words and shifted to the deluxe room. Apart from being a lot more spacious and cleaner than the standard room, it appeared to be the same, with no luxuries at all. Though the price they charge seems decent but they should offer much more than the standard TV & a intercom. The second night we didnt encounter more than 2-3 creepy-crawlies in this room, so all went fine.

Room-service was good, though the whole staff needs a new & fresh uniform. Though they were not dirty, it was surely worn out as is the hotel. Small things like these do not give that feel good factor, when you are paying a decent amount and do expect some basic level of sophistication.

If I forget that crazy night, I might stay here again( but only in the main building and would recommend the same to others), but not before checking out other options in Ranikhet.

Room Tip: Stay Only In The main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ScorpOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2010

Though it took long to reach Ranikhet from Delhi, as soon as we reached ranikhet all our tiredness was gone. The location of the hotel is very good. You can lovely walks to neighborhood. Do some picnicking in Golf course. The services and specially the food is very good. You can have bonfire in the night with fantastic snacks.

Everything about the hotel is fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pritiweekendtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2010

I visited Nainital and Ranikhet in July 2010. We stayed in West View cuz we found this hotel away from bustles of the city. We wanted to relax from our stressful working life. West view gave us more than what we expected from this hotel. We bargained a good deal as it was an off season.
The resort gives you a feeling of old English ruler's cottages, a large property with excellent big rooms and a big Bathroom. The interior of the room was tastefully designed and its was so supportive and was always ready to service
We booked a package for a night including the food. The food was simply superb and was available in variety, I never had such kind of mutton in my life. The breakfast was equally fabulous.
The resort also provides indoor gaming and badminton activities which realy relaxed us
It was a wonderful experience staying in this resort.
I would stay in same resort on my next trip to Ranikhet. West view ROCKS!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavitar_raheja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ranikhet
0.5 mi away
Chevron Rosemount, Ranikhet
13.4 mi away
Woodsvilla Resort Ranikhet
5.2 mi away
Cosmos Himalayan Villas
Cosmos Himalayan Villas
#7 of 9 in Ranikhet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Annabella Hotel & Resort
Annabella Hotel & Resort
#5 of 9 in Ranikhet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
17.9 mi away
Heritage Resort Kausani
17.1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#7 of 46 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West View Ranikhet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West View Ranikhet

Property: West View Ranikhet
Address: Mahatma Gandhi Road, Ranikhet 263645, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Almora District > Ranikhet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ranikhet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — West View Ranikhet 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West View Hotel Ranikhet is amidst all the natural beauty situated on a plateau overlooking the west valley, surrounded by pine and fir forests, covering an area of 6 acres. A family run heritage resort, West View Hotel dating back to 1918. The West View boasts 18 suites and rooms. The most popular annexe block houses ‘The West View and The West Mount Suites’, furnished in the Queen Annexe style–Luxury Personified! The sit out Café, The Oak garden, The Coffee Shop and The Dining Room offer a choice of multi cuisines. The West View’s warm personal appeal is matched by an understated sophistication in its detailed classic interiors with their elegant furnishings, rich woods and warm fireplaces, along with contemporary facilities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing