We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful !!! Felt so nice after visiting this holy place.”

Shri Mahakaleshwar Temple
Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in Ujjain
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful !!! Felt so nice after visiting this holy place.”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I visited Shri Mahakaleshwar Temple in the month of Nov-12 with my family members. It was an awesome experience for all off us

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank Narendra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    178
    24
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“The Great Mahakaleswar of Ujjain.”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The system of queue for devotees for the darshans of the Lord is very good. The system of issuing tickets for Bhashm Arati is very complicated. One is to submit a form with photo and photostated copy of the identification in the morning, and collect the ticket in the afternoon for Bhashm Arati Darshan at 4.00 a.m. on the next day. This system is required to be made more devotee-friendly.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
17 Thank DIPAKJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Support During my Recent Visit”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was in Mahakaleshwar Temple at Ujjain on 01st November, 2012.

I had a frecture in my leg and was really worried about how will i go for darshan, Trust me the Local temple people are so supportive that they helped me with the wheel chair till the main temple and helped me to push the same and even i faced no corruption as they dint demand any fixed amount from me to take me for darshan and helped me throughout.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rishi10285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, Madhya Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Speechless”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A very beautiful temple with awesome ambience. Very nicely maintained by the authorities. There is proper place for vehicle parking and keeping your footwear. The darshan queues are very well maintained.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sumeet1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shri Mahakaleshwar Temple also viewed

Ujjain, Ujjain District
Ujjain, Ujjain District
 
Ujjain, Ujjain District
Ujjain, Ujjain District
 

Been to Shri Mahakaleshwar Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing