We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful hotel in a beautiful town”
Review of Shipra Residency

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ujjain
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shipra Residency
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Ujjain
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel in a beautiful town”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Shipra Residency is an excellent hotel at a moderate cost. The rooms are quite big. My room also had an attached terrace. The food was excellent. Location wise it is not at the center of the CBD but at the edge of it. So you get peace and tranquility here. The behavior of the staff is very good. The idea of exhibiting of Sanskrit Sloka in a photo frame at the entrance lobby is highly praiseworthy. The room rate and the rates of food items are quite reasonable. However, there is no lift in this hotel. So stay only in ground / first / second floors.

Room Tip: Rooms near the stair case so that one can get the attached terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DIPAKJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    32
    28
    7
    8
See reviews for
44
11
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

First, I think that both Shipra Hotel and Residency are the same, eventhough they show up as two different hotels on this site. But heard from the driver who took us around that there is another hotel, which is new and which goes by the same name. Can't confirm this though.

We booked through the MPTDC website and paid the full amount for two double AC rooms for two nights, excluding taxes. They do not have elevaters. AC room was on the 2nd floor, asked for something on the groundfloor and was told they have only 'suites!' worth around 5k per night. Well, we had to adjust. Rooms are big and spacious. Thats the only positive thing. Furniture and fittings are old. Bathroom is old. There were cracks in the washbasin. Bathroom is ok, if you can ignore how old it is. The locals think this is a good place, but I will not return to this hotel. The place is swanked up from outside. But the rooms, atleast the doubleAC ones are a big let down, especially for the price we paid. So called complimentary breakfast, can be avoided. Food was bad, not enough and everyone had to wait for them to refill. Second day we went out for breakfast. My opinion? Absolute waste of money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank apukash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ujjain hotels

Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel, being one of the more expensive ones we stayed in while on three-weeks trip to India, was by far the worst one.
Compared to some of the guesthouses and hotels all over three different states, this place is shameless.
The rooms are large, but dirty and stinking of moth balls and a very some very strong lemon, most likely - industrial cleaner . The sheets had stains on them and smelled un-fresh, we slept in our sleeeping bag liners.
The bathrooms were disgusting - the toilets dirty and brown inside, the shower head grown over with lime and god knows what else. All the corners and floor were clearly dirty since probably the place have been built.
We wanted to open the drapes in the room, but decided against it after seeing all the fungus and dirt growing on the window frames.
A/C was so loud, we had to turn it off.
There was no hot water in one of our rooms.
When staff was called to fix the A/C and hot water, they came and went without a single shred of information on the progress.
They offered us to change the room in the middle of the night after having been called around 6 times, and the room they have shown to us was of the same standard.
The restaurant has a lot to wish for as well, but the food was ok.

A lot of the above could be understood and not mentioned if only we hadn't been told that we are staying in two 'luxury executive suites', and asked to pay a 'luxury tax'. Moreover, the staff was extremly rude and failed to acknowledge any shortcomings.

We were very tired after a long ride from Udaipur, and expecting another long ride to Sanchi. We didn't get any sleep, we were very uncomfortable and we definitely did not get our money's worth.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jjkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Shipra is a real small town hotel but coming from MPTDC it is a good place to stay.
The rooms are large especially the Suite .For a couple,the double rooms are also nice.
since we were 2 families we got to see both categories.The food is good and can be made to
your preference.The staff was attentive to your needs.
Though we had basic issues like the door not locking etc,it was taken care of in time.
All in all i cant think of any other place i would stay in Ujjain.Shipra is a complete choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tcs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed on 14.10.2012 and found the rooms big and spacious. But found the maintenance needs to be addressed. It is not worth the money they charge. The Air conditioners do not work properly, water do not flow in the bathroom specially the basin ones. Intercom was not working. In all they do not satisfy the 3 star status rather it should be reviewed. People do not attend calls, I had to visit the reception to lodge a complain. There is don't attitude.

I found the food to be good and the staff are friendly. The restaurant atmosphere should good for the status they are demanding.

Being a property of MP tourism there is lots of scope of improvement. They should have a full time travel desk to help the guests by highlighting the service they provide.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms intercom do not work. Air conditioner of Room 203 non functional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SHYAMALKANTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed at the Shipra Residency for 2 nights when we visited Ujjain in February 2012. We booked through MP Tourism. I found MP Tourism to be quite professional (I dealt with the Hyderabad and Raipur offices - very responsive).
Shipra Hotel is situated in a very good location, close to Freegunj/ Clock Tower which has lot of nice eating places (can’t forget the good food at Shree Mishtann) and the back entry of the Ujjain Railway station. Both places being at walk-able distance.
The Hotel per se is good though in need to better maintenance. The furniture and rooms look a little tired and could be cleaner. The restaurant is ok and decent food being available. The staff were fine and cooperative.
Overall a nice place to stay if you are in Ujjain. I would recommend it for its location…

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tvdsuccess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

A mp tourism run hotel.limited parking on busy days can get diffficult to get parking slot.rooms are arranged around central garden good ambience.higher quality rooms are spacious and clean.
Location on main road away from old city area.
Restaurant is terribly managed.breakfast spread is basic but ok for what they charge you.
No lift facility so book on ground floor only especially if you have senior citizens with you.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pravdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ujjain hotels
2.6 mi away
Anjushree,Ujjain
Anjushree,Ujjain
#1 of 32 in Ujjain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mittal Paradise
Hotel Mittal Paradise
#4 of 32 in Ujjain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rama Krishna
Hotel Rama Krishna
#15 of 32 in Ujjain
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Muskan Palace
Hotel Muskan Palace
#21 of 32 in Ujjain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ashray
Hotel Ashray
#10 of 32 in Ujjain
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shipra Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shipra Residency

Property: Shipra Residency
Address: Near Madhav Club, Ujjain 456001, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Ujjain District > Ujjain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Ujjain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shipra Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 28

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing