We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Shirdi
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Shirdi
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
1,397 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 614 helpful votes
“Disappointed !”
Reviewed April 16, 2010

Decided to spend a night at sun-n-sand Shirdi and was completely disappointed. Crappy service, dirty pool, dirty toilets with stains on the fittings and tiles..you name it. I would not have been so disappointed had it not been rated under the 5 star category. The quality of food in the restaurant was bad and the price was a rip off ! Would recommend Shraddha Inn hotel.
The fitness center opens only at 7.30 am so did not have a chance to check it out.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SagarVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    225
    74
    27
    14
See reviews for
351
61
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2010

good to stay.. cannot expect a lot in piligrim places

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pradeepsundeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2010

We stayed in this Hotel in one of our many trips to this pilgrim town. I feel the 5-star rating what the hotel claims for itself might be true for a town like Shirdi, but when compared to hotels in a city I will give this a 3-star rating ( Business Hotel in the latest trend).
Rooms are really very well maintained and marble is used extravagantly. This gives old world charm. Spacious rooms. We stayed in the studio one facing pool in the 5th floor. Excellent view. I recommend this strongly for people who want a premium option.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingReddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

This hotel is the most expensive hotel in Shirdi, a small religious town 8 hours from Mumbai. In fact, the rates here are two times more than others'. Despite the relatively high price, we booked a temple-view room online 'coz we thought that the Sun-n-Sand brand guarantees some minimum quality. But alas, it was not to be.

Checking-in was a bad experience as the person at the reception asked us to pay more than the web rate we had booked - something about rates having been increased. Somehow we were able to convince him to provide us the room at the rate that we had booked online.

The rooms are fairly basic and in need of renovation. The television set was an old one in need of replacement. The bathroom did not have a bathtub which is expected for the price they are charging. The changing rooms at the pool were in a state of neglect.

They have a spa on th property that looked and smelled good. We went there unannounced and were kept waiting for more than 30 minutes before someone even cared to acknowledge us. Seems they were seriously under-staffed.

Food, though, was good - quite above expectations. They served some good continental fare which was kind of unexpected in a small town. The driver for our temple pickup/drop service was very courteous and nice.

Overall, it is a bit overpriced considering the place and the fact that it is needs to be renovated. However, it is probably the best place you can stay at in Shirdi.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Direct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

the stay was confortable and pleasant. Its an good choice in Shridi. The hotel have free drop and pickup facility to the temple.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PawanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Sun-n-Sand is the only 5 star hotel in Shirdi. The hotel is a littl far from the Sai Baba shrine but the hotel provides shuttle service in Mahindra Scorpio vehicles.

The hotel provides a complimentary breakfast to all its guests, has a good swimming pool, spa, kids play area and a good lawn for an early morning walk.

The restuarant is pretty good value for money buffets for lunch and dinner. The a-la-carte service is also pretty good.

Its not very expensive for a 5 star. I paid approximately USD 65.00 per night.

  • Liked — Swimming Pool
  • Disliked — Far from the temple
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VFM_Hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

Surprising to find a 5 star hotel in Shirdi (probably the only one). Needless to say, it comes with all the conveniences of a 5 star. Very neat, clean, well maintained, but a bit expensive. A bit away from the temple too, but they make up for it by running a free shuttle to and from the temple (you can call for it once you are done with the darshan). Our experience with the reception desk wasnt too great though. Otherwise, service is good.

  • Liked — Neat and clean
  • Disliked — Service not too great
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MDMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shirdi hotels
0.1 mi away
St Laurn Meditation Spa & Resort
1.3 mi away
Keys Prima Hotel Temple Tree
0.0 mi away
Marigold Regency
Marigold Regency
#2 of 80 in Shirdi
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sai Jashan
Hotel Sai Jashan
#1 of 80 in Shirdi
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jivanta Hotel
Jivanta Hotel
#5 of 80 in Shirdi
191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shraddha Inn
Shraddha Inn
#12 of 80 in Shirdi
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Shirdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Shirdi

Property: Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Shirdi
Address: Village Nighoj | Taluka Kopergaon, Shirdi 423109, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Ahmednagar District > Shirdi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Shirdi
#7 Family Hotel in Shirdi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Shirdi 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Shirdi, where history and spirituality blend seamlessly to offer an unforgettable experience. Sun-n-Sand, Shirdi’s premiere five star hotel is situated at just 5 minutes walk from the Saibaba Temple and is conveniently located, one km away from the railway station. The hotel, built on a five acre plot with beautiful landscaped gardens boasts of new richly renovated 100 guestrooms and 20 serviced apartments. Maintaining the sanctity of the pious city, this five star hotel offers strictly vegetarian fare and has a no alcohol policy. Sun-n-Sand Shirdi houses the city’s only Italian fine dining restaurant, "Little Italy" along with "Checkers," the coffee shop which serves vegetarian buffet meals and features a full service multi-cuisine a la carte menu. It is equipped with a conference room, indoor and outdoor banquet areas and the renowned "Kaona Spa." This five star hotel offers unmatched recreational facilities including an outdoor swimming pool, joggers track, children’ play area, fully equipped games room with pool table, table tennis and various coin operated games. Internet facility is available at extra charges. Sun-n-Sand Shirdi offers complimentary buffet breakfast and free shuttle service to The Saibaba Temple to all its residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Shirdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun-n-Sand Hotel Shirdi
Sun n Sand Shirdi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing