We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay at Hill Fort Kesroli”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Alwar
Certificate of Excellence
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice stay at Hill Fort Kesroli”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This hotel/resort is a different kind of hotel and it looks like a big haveli rather than a fort. The rooms are different and looks like ancient rooms renovated for matching some requirements of modern life style. The food (especially dinner) is very good and the folk dance program is also nice. It is good for a break from normal hectic life style of cities. It suits more for foreigners/NRI's since, they might not have seen such places in the past. Otherwise for us also, it is a nice break from normal hectic life style.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kishore373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Hill Fort – Kesroli.

We are pleased to know that you thoroughly relished the cuisine offered. Your compliments have been conveyed to the Chef. We have also conveyed your appreciation about the folk performance to the artists.

The 28 Neemrana 'non- hotel' Hotels across India are instrumental in and custodians of much of India's restored and revitalised architectural heritage. Seven hundred years of history, await humbly for you to extract all the joys of travelling and living out the essence of India in all its nobility and simplicity.

We thank you for your patronage to the Hill Fort Kesroli and look forward to welcoming you back for many more enjoyable breaks.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    230
    56
    6
    11
See reviews for
219
181
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

So this is a place where you want to have some quite yet memorable time with your family.... The place, ambience, hospitality and food is very nice... It is one of the oldest property of india and I must say that it has been maintained well and all the amenities are there.... overall wonderful experience. Would like to stay there again.....

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwarnaSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read about your experience at the Hill Fort – Kesroli heritage hotel in Alwar.

It is heartening to receive your positive feedback as this is exactly what we strive to achieve.

Your appreciation about the maintenance has been conveyed to the management.

As you are aware, at Neemrana we try and keep a balance between old-world charm and modern amenities so that the past is not completely obliterated.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back for many more peaceful stopovers !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We choosed this place when Neemrana Fort was booked during holidays. And we did not regret our decision.
Its a old rajashthani haveli kind ambiance, with excellent view of mustard fields around. Staffs and hospitality was just too good.
Its a good weekend getaway for a relaxing family time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 45671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review about the Hill Fort – Kesroli heritage hotel in Alwar.

We are delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed the views of the mustard fields that surround the property.

The team at Kesroli is honoured to receive your feedback about the service provided.

We look forward to welcoming you for many more relaxing weekend getaways !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This fort was built in 14th century and is over 700 years old. It was built on the top of a small hillock and provides a unrestricted view of the fields all around the fort. This fort is smaller compared to the other forts of Rajasthan and must have belonged to a landlord or smaller ruler. However it has been restored back beautifully and this place is a good break from the polluted cities of Delhi, Gurgaon or Bhiwadi.
To reach the reception and the rooms, one has to climb up some stairs. Can be difficult for older people. Since the rooms of the fort have been converted into hotel room, none of the rooms are same. We had booked 3 rooms - Swagat Mahal, Neelkanth Mahal and Tota Mahal. Swagat Mahal is just by the fort entrance. The room has a window which opens on to the fort entrance. The room has one smaller room with a single bed and another slightly bigger room with a double bed. Same for Neelkanth Mahal. Tota Mahal has one room only.
The beds are good for two people, but if you have a kid then make sure you take one of the rooms with a smaller bed. The rooms are small but has a mini fridge and coffee/tea maker. The bathroom of Neelkant Mahal is bigger than the room. The window opens to the actual toilet used by kings in earlier days. So you can see the old world toilet if you take this room.
The view from the ramparts is spectacular, particularly the sunset.In the mornings, you can enjoy cool breeze if you sit in the shade near the swimming pool area.
Food is good and there is set menu. You cannot order a-la-carte. Service is average.
Overall this is a nice place to spend a weekend. Nothing much to do, if you are planning to stay beyond 1 night.

Room Tip: If you have older people in the group then take the rooms on the ground floor. Rooms on the second f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ritwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about the Hill Fort – Kesroli heritage hotel in Alwar.

The origins of the seven-turreted Hill Fort-Kesroli are traced back to over seven centuries. It is believed to have been built by the Yaduvanshi Rajputs, who claim descent from Lord Krishna, but converted to Islam in the mid-14th century to be called Khanzadas.

It subsequently changed hands, being conquered first by the Mughals and then the Jats, before reverting to the Rajputs in 1775 when the princely state of Alwar was founded. It saw its golden period under the Ranawat Thakur Bhawani Singh (1882-1934) who was renowned for his equestrian skills.

Your compliments about the restoration have been conveyed to the Chairman.

We are pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the cuisine offered.

With reference to your feedback about the absence of recreational activities, please note that there is a swimming pool, and a massage facility that has recently been added for the convenience of our guests. In addition, the property offers various board games, badminton, and cycling to the nearby village. To discover the nearby excursions, please visit the activities page of the hotel website.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back for many more enjoyable weekend getaways !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

it is a nice located old fort renoweted in an interesting way. a lot of bugenvalia trees make the old walls look friendly and welcoming. it is very quiet and relaxing place with smiling stuff, helping but not imposing. i liked the system of no individual tips. rooms are nice however beds are very small - at least in deepika mahal room. bathroom clean and maintained. food is very good and many options, even for kids. it is place rather for weekend or so as it is quite far from any attractions. swiming pool is clean and big. i feel it is a little overpriced, however after expiriences with so called resorts in India I feel it is still worth the price.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bogi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Hill Fort – Kesroli heritage hotel in Alwar.

It is guests like you that continue to reinforce our philosophy of putting new life into an unused and dilapidated ruin.

You will be pleased to learn that majority of the team is from the local village and has been empowered by Neemrana to run their local heritage with pride. Your compliments about the warm hospitality have been conveyed to them. We have also conveyed your appreciation about the maintenance and the cuisine to the housekeeping team and the Chef.

We have noted your observation and shall certainly look into the same.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back for many more relaxing getaways !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

went there with a group of 35 persons from different countries. its around 3.5-4.00 hrs drive from Delhi. The rooms are tastefully designed and gives a feeling of living in a bygone era. It has got a fantastic view from the terrace. The rooms are very clean and tastefully done. The food is excellent and delicious. the staff very helpful. The rajasthani folk music and dance was a treat to watch. The International participants wanted to stay back in the hotel for ever. That says it all about the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nskfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback about the Hill Fort – Kesroli heritage hotel in Alwar.

Your compliments about the restoration have been conveyed to the Chairman. It is heartening to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the countryside views.

The Chef and service team are delighted to receive your positive feedback about the food and the service. This is exactly what we strive to achieve and it is always rewarding when someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love !

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming your group for a longer stay soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Went here with 20 people on a family reunion.
- place is 2.5 hours from Delhi (NO traffic) OR about 3.5 hours with traffic. Roads from Delhi going to Neemrana are decent.
- Rooms are old but very clean. If you are expecting modern rooms, don't go to a fort then!
- gardens and open areas a great
- service is amazing. My wife is pregnant so Chef Kamlesh specially catered food for her. We had folks making many customised requests -- all honored by hotel staff with a smile.
- pool was very nice as well

Definitely recommend for all people to go visit!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank travelaholic3602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to hold your family reunion at the Hill Fort – Kesroli.

Your appreciation about the maintenance has been conveyed to the housekeeping team. It is rewarding to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the ambience of the property and the facilities offered.

We have conveyed your compliments about the personalised service to Chef Kamlesh and the service team.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alwar hotels
36.6 mi away
Neemrana Fort-Palace
10.3 mi away
Dadhikar Fort
Dadhikar Fort
#3 of 22 in Alwar
454 reviews
26.4 mi away
Sariska - Tiger Heaven, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Alwar Bagh (Sariska) by Aamod
7.8 mi away
Burja Haveli Hotel
Burja Haveli Hotel
#7 of 22 in Alwar
92 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Aravali
Hotel Aravali
#9 of 22 in Alwar
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli

Property: Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli
Address: Village Kesroli | Near M.I.A Post Office-Bahala, Alwar, Rajasthan, Alwar 301030, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Alwar District > Alwar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alwar
#1 Spa Hotel in Alwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fourteenth century Hill Fort-Kesroli is one of the oldest heritage hotel sites in India ! Sited atop the rare, dark Hornstone Breccia rocks, you live among the security of splendid 700 year old walls which rise steeply to two hundred feet. You can enjoy the changing agrarian views of fields of mustard, millet and wheat. Kesroli makes an ideal base to visit the neighbouring palaces, museums, natural sites and sanctuaries of Alwar and Sariska. The origins of the seven-turreted Hill Fort-Kesroli are traced back to over seven centuries. It is believed to have been built by the Yaduvanshi Rajputs, who claim descent from Lord Krishna, but converted to Islam in the mid-fourteenth century to be called Khanzadas. The restoration process started in the year 1995 and the Hill Fort has been open to guests since 1998. Its interior gardens – both in the Mardana and the Zenana quarters are refreshing and intimate, framing the tent of sky above. A stunning pool rides over the view and leads to the restaurant turret. Kesroli also has facilities to confer in large or small rooms hidden below the ramparts. The duplex rooms are ideal for families with children as they offer them the excitement of a fort-destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill Fort Kesroli Alwar
Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli Alwar, India - Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing