We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good weekend getaway from Delhi for those wanting peace and calm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Alwar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

GETTING THERE
Type "Fort Kesroli" in google maps for good directions. Don't type kesroli as that points to a place in karnatka
Took us about 3 hours from Gurgaon via Bhiwadi
Drive for first hour is a bit tiring due to traffic but the last one hour is fanstastic and very scenic surrounded by fields and with hills in the background
Small difficulty was that their local contact was mostly inaccessible for details

AT THE PROPERTY
Nice rooms - we took Hindola with direct bacony access
Some things we enjoyed doing - cycling down the lane with hotel cycles, stroll around the pool post dinner and the evening entertainment (only weekends) organized by hotel. Some kids played badminton too.
Be careful about tractors and insects (March phenomenon) while cycling.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pankaj G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Hill Fort-Kesroli heritage hotel in Alwar.

It is heartening to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in the Hindola Mahal suite.

We are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your weekend getaway from Delhi and were able to discover the nearby areas as well.

Do let us know whenever you choose to visit our 28 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 591 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were there in the last week of February for our marriage anniversary. The roads were average except for SH 25 in Rajasthan. SH 25 was too smooth. I could get the highest speed of my car on this road.

The fort was located very appropriately...towards the end of a small village. It also had a great view...open fields. Although it's a small fort it gives a feeling of the old centuries.

The hotel has been maintained. The rooms are clean and hygienic. There are TVs in the room which is a very good point. There is only one TV in the common darbar.

On Saturday, they also had a cultural program (Rajasthan) which was pretty entertaining. The food spread during breakfast, lunch and dinner was average but the food was delicious. The chef makes great food.

The beds are slightly old and need to be changed and they need to make it more comfortable.

Over all the fort and people gave a nice cozy feeling. This is a nice property of Neemrana however they have better than this as well.

It was a good stay.

Room Tip: I stayed in ToTa Mahal which has double beds. However, I understand that there are rooms with twin b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Vineet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Hill Fort-Kesroli heritage hotel in Alwar.

We are pleased to learn that you had a comfortable stay at the property. Your compliments about the food have been conveyed to the Chef.

It is our endeavour to make each guest’s stay memorable and we thank you for choosing to celebrate your marriage anniversary with us.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

For review of the place, here is my blog :
http://vabstravels.blogspot.in/2013/03/kesroli-forgotten-fortress.html

As for the resort, here are a few quick points which should be a ready reckoner for the hill fort @ Kesroli :
- Charming and awesomely antique place
- Doesn't have TV, Room Service & Wifi. So be ready for a tranquil respite from the crazy city life
- Rooms are slightly smaller but still worth every penny of it.
- The food is exquisite and especially the evening snacks, ensure u reach with an empty stomach
- Hospitality is good although can be improved
- Resort is kept in good condition and the main patio is an astounding view

Room Tip: The rooms are smaller than you anticipate so work accordingly..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vaibhavsaini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read about your experience at the Hill Fort-Kesroli heritage hotel in Alwar.

It is heartening to learn that you were able to relax at the property. This is exactly what we strive to achieve.

Your compliments about the restoration and the maintenance have been conveyed to the Co-Chairmen and the restoration team.

The 28 Neemrana 'non- hotel' Hotels across India are instrumental in and custodians of much of India's restored and revitalised architectural heritage. Seven hundred years of history, await humbly for you to extract all the joys of travelling and living out the essence of India in all its nobility and simplicity.

We thank you for your patronage to Hill Fort-Kesroli and the Neemrana brand in India.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

An ideal destination to spend time with your family. A peaceful ambiance with excellent food.The rooms are very good although they do not have TV in rooms and there is no room service either. But that really adds to the overall experience as you get more time to spend with your loved ones.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piyush_Aquarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Hill Fort-Kesroli heritage hotel in Alwar.

We are delighted to learn that you were able to spend quality time with your family and rejuvenate as well.

Your compliments about the cuisine have been conveyed to the Chef and his team.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Hill fort Kasoroli is approx 3 and half hours drive from Delhi. Do carry map with you because there are not many sign boards on road to give you direction and even local people don't know much if you ask them for directions. There is a big sign board on road from where you enter its village. It is located in middle of a village and surrounded by mustard & wheat fields (If you travel in winter months). View from terrace a nice though you may see buffalos and small houses next to fort.
It is comparatively smaller property in comparison to other fort hotels of Neemrana group. Also it is not maintained too well when it comes to common open areas.
Some rooms are comparatively very small in size, so if you need spacious room then specify at the time of booking. Rooms are tastefully decorated with ethnic village touch. Bathrooms are fine and hot & cold water are available. They have given names to rooms same way as in other Neemrana properties.
There was a small cultural programme also, when we visited. It was ok ok, nothing special.
Food is very good. Breakfast and dinner we had was fresh and tasty. I personally feel that for dinner they should also give option of ala carte along with buffet.
Its ideal if you want to spend weekend away from hussel bussel of city. Appropriate for unwinding and for romantic weekend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sapnakapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Hill Fort-Kesroli heritage hotel in Alwar.

As you may be aware, every effort has been made to retain the original structure of the Fort. Since each room has its unique characteristics, we always recommend contacting our Delhi sales team for further information regarding the rooms available.

Your gracious compliments about the cuisine have been conveyed to the Chef and his team.

Your feedback about the public areas has been shared with the Manager and we are confident that you will notice an improvement whenever you choose to visit next.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The place is a 3 hour ride from gurgaon. No signage on the way...only on the last turn. So make sure you get a good map handy while driving.

The really old fort is really hidden away in mustard and wheat crop fields.... a small place with 21 rooms. Could be a romantic get away for couples, a time away for friends to spend quality time together. But for kids...no way as there are just beautiful views, nice sunny patches to relax in winters, and lovely walks in the fields down there. There is no walking space available in the fort. And yes, by next month there could be a pool and a spa too. Otherwise really a quiet zone away from the maddening crowd. Ample spaces to chat.
The rooms are small. Where we stayed...Nirmal mahal is quite spacious for 2-3 people, on the terrace having another private terrace of its own which is lovely. Make sure you ask about a spacious room if you want one as there are not many of them. Though these are a little on the expensive side. The rooms on ground floor dont get much light. Terraces are better.
The rooms are nicely done in ancient decor, well provided but definitely need more cleanliness. No room service available at all. But helpful staff. The food is yum with freshness written all over. The complimentary breakfast is not much to write home about. They could definitely add some items.
The shop has almost no range...looks like an after thought.
The cultural show was a show down.....needs more quality stuff.
A good property for a one night stay. What makes it special is the walks in the fields for me. Otherwise Neemrana on Jaipur highway is more happening.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skh95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about the Hill Fort-Kesroli heritage hotel in Alwar.

We are pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in the Nirmal Mahal suite.

As each room has its unique characteristics, we always recommend contacting our Delhi sales team for further information regarding the rooms available.

We have noted your suggestions about the breakfast and shall definitely consider adding more variety to the spread.

Our Head-Merchandiser is visiting the Neemrana shop within the property at the moment and will be adding a new summer collection at the earliest.

The much awaited pool will be launched in mid March 2013 and will definitely add to the recreational activities for children and adults.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This property outdid all the other Neemrana properties i have visited in the past.
The "shabby chic" decor and the attention to detail did it all for me.
The staff were very polite,friendly and offered great service.
The fort set on a mound, amongst fields of yellow mustard, had amazing views from the terraces and turrets.
It is a place where one can unwind completely.
Not a place that young kids would enjoy.
i will definitely go back there in the near future

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rs1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read about your experience at the Hill Fort-Kesroli heritage hotel in Alwar.

Your compliments about the warm hospitality have been conveyed to the Manager and his team.

We are pleased to learn that you were able to unwind and rejuvenate at Kesroli and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alwar hotels
36.6 mi away
Neemrana Fort-Palace
10.3 mi away
Dadhikar Fort
Dadhikar Fort
#3 of 23 in Alwar
470 reviews
26.4 mi away
Sariska - Tiger Heaven, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Alwar Bagh (Sariska) by Aamod
7.8 mi away
Burja Haveli Hotel
Burja Haveli Hotel
#7 of 23 in Alwar
94 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Aravali
Hotel Aravali
#11 of 23 in Alwar
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli

Address: Village Kesroli | Near M.I.A Post Office-Bahala, Alwar, Rajasthan, Alwar 301030, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Alwar District > Alwar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Alwar
Price Range: $80 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fourteenth century Hill Fort-Kesroli is one of the oldest heritage hotel sites in India ! Sited atop the rare, dark Hornstone Breccia rocks, you live among the security of splendid 700 year old walls which rise steeply to two hundred feet. You can enjoy the changing agrarian views of fields of mustard, millet and wheat. Kesroli makes an ideal base to visit the neighbouring palaces, museums, natural sites and sanctuaries of Alwar and Sariska. The origins of the seven-turreted Hill Fort-Kesroli are traced back to over seven centuries. It is believed to have been built by the Yaduvanshi Rajputs, who claim descent from Lord Krishna, but converted to Islam in the mid-fourteenth century to be called Khanzadas. The restoration process started in the year 1995 and the Hill Fort has been open to guests since 1998. Its interior gardens – both in the Mardana and the Zenana quarters are refreshing and intimate, framing the tent of sky above. A stunning pool rides over the view and leads to the restaurant turret. Kesroli also has facilities to confer in large or small rooms hidden below the ramparts. The duplex rooms are ideal for families with children as they offer them the excitement of a fort-destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill Fort Kesroli Alwar
Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli Alwar, India - Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing