We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neemrana on a Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Neemrana Fort-Palace
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Alwar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I traveled from Delhi to spend a weekend with my spouse and also catchup on some work locally. Even though i have been traveling to Neemrana for last 3 years, i never fathomed that the fort which is a destination of its own could be so engaging. For new comers, Neemrana Hotels (the company) develops boutique properties with not so hotel feel, which means the opulence of traditional hotels is missing while keeping the uniqueness of the property intact. Neemrana Fort is also on the same line. It is essentially a 14th century fort (left in ruins but brought back) with few additions done in 17th century & major works happened in 21st century (which is in the last decade) including addition of majority of the rooms, pools & other public areas. I wish these were part of the original fort but have to accept they are new built to look like heritage by placing good antiques & giving each room a unique identity. Some of the rooms are better than others so i suggest anyone to call the hotel directly and ask the following questions
a. How far the room is from the main reception, swimming pool & main dining hall? - for mobility constrained & finicky
b. Does the room have a window & outdoor seating? - i like natural light in my room. essential for 1 person room
c. Does the single room have a wider single bed or smaller single bed? - single travellers

Getting to the room is a maze which i simply loved (but to each his own) and was located in between both the pools. Lower pool is shallow and apt for adults & kids and the higher one is strictly for adults. Go half and hour before sunset in the higher pool and enjoy the magnificent views while in the pool . No beverage service at pool so it is worthwhile to carry some water etc. with you. We also tried the Spa & gym which was frankly average although staff was extremely courteous. What is very different about the place is the courtyard inside the spa is lit by small openings in the roof which are essentially the bottom of the pool above. This arrangements makes water sparkles in the entire courtyard which was a pretty 'special' effect.

I had a 3person & a 1person room and both were comfortable cannot really say well appointed which is due to the obvious setting.

Pros -
1. As close to fort living as possible.
2. Charming property with its small galleys, hidden courtyards & multiplicity of viewing areas. Each room, each corner gives a unique feel.

Could be better-
1. Service - The company has done a brilliant job of training the locals to manage the hotel. Once identified what the customer really wants, the staff did go the extra mile. However, what i found lacking was the 'identification' - it took quite a few calls to get their attention, staff would huddle together to discuss on something while only few tended to tables, incase the dining is full they were not able to tell the incoming guests that its full from outside & the guests had to come inside & float around for free tables, etc.
2. Food - No matter how much they say food does need to be prepped up. Still very average.
3. Warning signs - being what it is, some areas of fort do need warning signs, few areas slopes are very slippery & it rained a little the day we were there which made some slippery slopes more like skating rink. Upper Pool last stair is VERY edgy - scratched my foot (not very deep) & hit a low passage doorway in low light. (being a 6+ footer isn't really a boon)


Important to Note
1. The fort is located on a hill which is accessed via a small twisty lane & up a steep rocky incline (low ground clearance cars beware).
2. Give the property a call to really get to know the room before hand.
3. Saturdays get crowded (weekend). For real peace and better rates try it on a weekday.
4. Carry some of your own beverage (beer, wine...) and find a cosy corner with a view and spend some quality time with your SO. (You might not get beverage service where & when you want it).
5. Book Zip Lining (Flying Fox) in advance while booking your room. For summers do the first round in morning or last one in evening. (20 mins of trek & 1.45 hrs of zipping & waiting for team to zip)

Room Tip: 1. Room with views 2. For single Traveler (Barsaat Mahal - loved it)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yash_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana Fort-Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about Neemrana Fort-Palace.

Your compliments about the Neemrana concept of hospitality have been conveyed to the Chairman and the entire Neemrana family. It is guests like you that continue to reinforce our philosophy of putting new life into an unused and dilapidated ruin.

Your observations regarding the gymnasium and the spa have been noted.

Neemrana is built across 12 tiers of a hill, spread across 6 acres. The architecture of heritage properties is such that the property has many levels and includes slopes ; therefore, we recommend guests to carry walking shoes. All guests are given a map of the property along with the welcome letter which has other information. We do have signage for public areas and meals. We apologise about the pool incident. The maintenance team has been pulled up for the same and the problem will be rectified at the earliest.

As you may be aware, Neemrana tries to employ as many local people who are often not educated. We put them through a training program and then try to empower them to run their local heritage with pride. Although the service staff is not fluent in English, they strive hard to deliver warm and efficient service. Your feedback has been conveyed to the Manager and his team.

We are disappointed to read your feedback about the food. Please note that the lunch and dinner buffet includes approximately 15 dishes with a mixture of Indian, Chinese, and Continental cuisine including vegetarian and non-vegetarian soups, salads, starters, main courses, and various Indian and Continental breads and desserts. Do give our Chefs an opportunity and they will try and please you whenever you choose to visit next.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,979)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,266 - 1,272 of 1,980 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2014

It was a mixed experience for me. I love forts and palaces and the first impression Neemrana Fort creates is one of a blast from the past, and a rather impressive one at that. The first room I stayed in was so small a cat wouldn't want to sleep there, let alone be swung :-) The second room was absolutely grand... Could have accommodated 5 people, with their cats! The food was okay but boring. The Rajasthani thali was bad. Some of the staff seemed quite annoyed that the place had guests. At the same time, some of them went out of their way to look after your every need. I know it is a fabulous and very popular property but I came away a little confused whether I should recommend it to others or not.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginipyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana Fort-Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Neemrana Fort-Palace resort near Delhi.
With respect to your feedback about the rooms, please do note that Neemrana has a range of rooms from INR 3000 to INR 25000. The room size, decor, and bathroom amenities are in accordance with the price. The heritage wing has some rooms which are small or quirky in the lower categories while others are rather grand. Do inform our Sales team about your requirements and they shall gladly assist you in finding a suitable room whenever you stay with us next.

With reference to the feedback about the food, please note that the lunch and dinner buffet includes approximately 15 dishes with a mixture of Indian, Chinese, and Continental cuisine including vegetarian and non-vegetarian soups, salads, starters, main courses, and various Indian and Continental breads and desserts. Do give our Chefs an opportunity and they will try and please you whenever you choose to visit next.

Please do let us know what was lacking in the Maha Burj thali restaurant so that we are able to improve upon the same.

We assure you that your observations have been conveyed to the hotel personnel concerned and we shall take the necessary steps to ensure that you have a more enjoyable stay whenever you choose to visit next.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

It was a very short stay .... Still the service provided by everyone there was superb . its a must visit place when around .... Special thanks to f&b manager Mr. Amresh chauhan for all the arrangements .

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Sakshi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana Fort-Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about Neemrana Fort-Palace.

It is heartening to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the Neemrana experience and were able to relax and rejuvenate.

Your compliments about the service have been conveyed to the team and it is guests like you that continue to reinforce our philosophy of putting new life into an unused and dilapidated ruin.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This massive Fort from yester years has now been converted to a Hotel with two swimming pools, many areas for relaxation, a small gym an ayurveda treatment area, and wonderfully appointed rooms to take you back to the past centuries. However, there are lot of steps and mazes to negotiate, and may be an issue for older Tourists. But worth at least a nights stay. The view from any room is just magnificent. The staff very helpful, and the in house Restaurant is very good. The staff take good care of the visitors

Room Tip: Most rooms can be only accessed by climbing many steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fjp4564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana Fort-Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about Neemrana Fort-Palace.

Your compliments about the Neemrana concept of hospitality have been conveyed to the Chairman and the entire Neemrana family. It is guests like you that continue to reinforce our philosophy of putting new life into an unused and dilapidated ruin.

As Neemrana is a heritage hotel in Rajasthan, there are multiple steps and levels across the Fort. However we provide a complimentary palki (palanquin) service for the convenience of our elderly and differently abled guests.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the ambience of the rooms, the spa, the gymnasium and the two swimming pools

Thank you for your appreciative words about the service and the restaurant.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Pro`s
1) Great View/Location - Nice value preposition
2) Beautiful & Large rooms

Cons:
1) No proper visuals or directions provided as to where the rooms are. In many cases, people used to go in one direction and later learn that it was the wrong one.
2) The men working there themselves were confused with the direction thingy. Needs to be improved upon greatly and quickly

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rahul_Dsouza_Dsoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana Fort-Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback about the Neemrana Fort-Palace heritage resort near Delhi.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your room and the location of the 15th C. Fort.

All guests are given a map of the property along with the welcome letter which has other information. We do have signage for public areas and meals. However, guests are requested to view the map which helps them discover various nooks and corners of the Fort.

The 27 Neemrana 'non- hotel' Hotels across India are instrumental in and custodians of much of India's restored and revitalised architectural heritage. Seven hundred years of history, await humbly for you to extract all the joys of travelling and living out the essence of India in all its nobility and simplicity.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The Neemrana Fort-Palace is an awesome property to visit. The 15 C construction is something to stare at & it is most beautiful at night. This palace is huge & it has at least 13-15 floors. The main problem comes when you find out that you have to climb all the way to 9th floor to reach your room. Rooms are quite big & well maintained & they supplied all the required things. The bathrooms were clean & well maintained. The room doesn't have any TV as it is a heritage site but you can find a minibar in your room. The rooms are quite far from each other & if you are in a group, you have to face lots of difficulties to find other room. The dining hall was good & well maintained. The food was average except the desert section. They had some amazing deserts & i liked it all. The evening was better with Rajasthani folk dace & music. The ambiance of this place certainly change during the evening time. The fort look much better in its well arranged lighting system. There is nothing much to do in day time except you are going for fly foxing or line zapping. We didnt got the opportunity as we were in a business meeting. The room service was pathetic & don't even expect it from the management.Overall the experience was good & I will definitely recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nirvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana Fort-Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about Neemrana Fort-Palace.

Your compliments about the Neemrana concept of restoration have been conveyed to the Chairman and the entire Neemrana family. It is guests like you that continue to reinforce our philosophy of putting new life into an unused and dilapidated ruin.

As Neemrana is a 15th C. heritage hotel in Rajasthan, there are multiple steps and levels across the Fort. The rooms in the new wing are mostly situated on a higher level. However we provide a complimentary palki (palanquin) service for the convenience of our elderly and differently abled guests. Do inform our Sales team about any special requirements related to the location and type of room and they shall gladly assist you in finding a suitable room whenever you stay with us next.

Your compliments about the desserts served during buffet, maintenance and housekeeping departments have been conveyed to the respective teams.

With reference to the feedback about the food, please note that the lunch and dinner buffet includes approximately 15 dishes with a mixture of Indian, Chinese, and Continental cuisine including vegetarian and non-vegetarian soups, salads, starters, main courses, and various Indian and Continental breads and desserts. Do give our Chefs an opportunity and they will try and please you whenever you choose to visit next.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed the authentic Rajasthani folk dance and music performance that takes place in the evening each day at the hotel.

Further, guests may enjoy varied activities at the fort like swimming, zipping, the vintage-car ride, the spa facility, the gymnasium and may also visit the step-well and take the multi-media tour! The common area has a variety of indoor games as well.

At Neemrana, common hospitality practices like televisions in rooms are avoided. This is part of our USP.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you at our 27 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

I booked thru a travel agent (my friend) coz to book directly is a task. Ppl are too casual. The lady charged our Credit card and then refunded the whole amount and asked me to visit the sales office to pay in person. I was trying to explain things at d reception but d lady was in a hurry to avoid my query. May b bcoz of the lang ( as i don't knw hindi- born and brought up in Toronto). Finally met with a sensible guy who explained everything to me in detail ( but y i was not given the option of bank transfer over phone). Fort is beautiful and service was nice! Felt a bit overrated! But nice experience overall. A must visit for heritage lovers. Cheers, Sahib Aggarwal

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Sahib_Aggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana Fort-Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback about the Neemrana Fort-Palace heritage hotel near Delhi.

Since Neemrana opened its doors we have been working on a very different hospitality model that revives ruined or unused heritage architectural structures. Every effort has been made to restore and retain the original structure of the Fort which dates back to the 15th century. We are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the ambience of the fort and the service.

With reference to your feedback about the personnel who assisted you during the first time that you were trying to book, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We shall ensure that the same dose not recur in the future. Guests can pay through avariety of modes such as – cash deposit, cheque, credit cards, bank/online transfer in order to book through our sales office, and also have the option of booking and paying through our website.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alwar
36.6 mi away
Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli
29.1 mi away
Dadhikar Fort
Dadhikar Fort
#3 of 23 in Alwar
468 reviews
43.0 mi away
Sariska - Tiger Heaven, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Ramada Neemrana Jaipur Hwy
4.3 mi away
Days Hotel Neemrana Jaipur Highway
36.9 mi away
Burja Haveli Hotel
Burja Haveli Hotel
#7 of 23 in Alwar
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana Fort-Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana Fort-Palace

Address: Village Neemrana, Alwar 301705, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Alwar District > Alwar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Alwar
Price Range: $98 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Neemrana Fort-Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the last three decades, the ‘Neemrana’ of the stunningly restored 15th century Fort-Palace, has come to mean many things. For architects it is a unique example of utter waste turned into a 14-tiered marvel with palace wings, courts and stepped gardens, felicitated with national and international awards. For guests, it means discovering over five centuries of history experienced with modern comforts. Only 100 kms from Delhi, just off the main highway NH8 to Jaipur, Neemrana Fort-Palace is a favourite site for celebrations, feasts, conferences, a quiet retreat for yoga and relaxation or India’s first site where you can indulge in five thrilling zip-line tracks that literally fly you in the sky. Built since 1464 CE, on a plateau of the two billion year old Aravalli ranges, this 14-tiered property sprawls across 10 green hectares / 25 acres. For guests, this offers 72 rooms / suites, 3 conference halls (Jazam, Qanat & Kasturi), hanging gardens, arched pavilions and balconies. The upper levels of the northern wing of the Fort-Palace can now be accessed from the car park by a 110 feet high lift which leads by the Saat Bagh to a second box lift. This architectural wonder can now also be enjoyed by the elderly and the less-abled who can be shown the upper parts carried on a palanquin chair by four able men ! Neemrana Fort-Palace has two spectacular pools that lean out to the sun. The upper pool is heated in the winter months to take the enjoyment of sunsets to another level. An intimate play area for young toddlers & the adjacent Neemrana eco-farm have been added recently so that you consume healthy organic food. Try our Maha Burj gold-platter thali for Rajasthani cuisine, or the buffet with a variety of cuisines that suits many palates. Wander the 2.4 hectares/6 acres of Palace with a self-guided multimedia tour. Ride a camel/camel cart or a vintage car. Walk out to the 16th century step well which descends 7 floors into the earth. Feel a new Indian high. To have you here is to share our life’s vision of how ruins can revitalise a whole region. Neemrana not only strive to revive and restore the heritage structure but it also generates jobs and economic opportunities hiring and consuming locally. It is no wonder that Neemrana has been listed in the 100 things you must do on the planet Earth before its time for you to leave it ! But when this list was made, only one Neemrana existed – now there are 23 ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Neemrana Fort-Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neemrana Fort-Palace Hotel Alwar
Neemrana Fort Palace Rajasthan
Neemrana Fort-Palace Alwar, India - Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing