We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning location with a royalty feel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Neemrana Fort-Palace
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Alwar
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
384 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Stunning location with a royalty feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

A one night stop over at the Neemrana Fort Palace Hotel was enough to recall history and dive into memories of the regal era. The Fort Hotel is maintained well and the uniqueness of the rooms are they are all individually laid out and decorated with theme names. We stayed in the Meru room which was perched on the higher side of the fort with a small sit out overlooking the hills. There are no five star comforts of room service but their evening tea time with cookies served in the verandah was a beautiful experience with birds and peacocks around. The only problem we faced was the Meru room had too much of small furniture placed all over, resulting into a bit of cramped living. The meals served in the dining hall were delicious, especially dinner outside in the courtyard with hundreds of lights at night lit all over was mesmerising. The hotel is a good stay for a night or two as there is nothing much to do other than the stay. The room tariff are pretty high and so are the charges of meals. They do not serve a la carte menu so one has no choice but to have their buffet spread which is priced on steep side. Other than that a great place to relax and enjoy the bygone royal era experience in India..

Room Tip: The fort has rooms all over at different levels. For those who have problems to climb, please check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pervin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana Fort-Palace, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Neemrana Fort-Palace heritage hotel near Delhi.
We are pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the evening tea experience and the outdoor dinner.

We have noted your feedback about the Meru Mahal and shall do the needful at the earliest.

With respect to your feedback about the activities, please note that Neemrana offers camel cart rides to the nearby 17th century step-well, vintage car rides, and various other indoor games. Apart from the two outdoor swimming pools, the Ayurvedic spa, and the health-club, a table tennis facility has also been recently added to increase the choice of activities for our esteemed guests. Neemrana also offers India’s first zip-lining facility.

We thank you for your patronage to Neemrana Fort-Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    591
    255
    88
    107
See reviews for
576
607
39
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were planning to visit Neemrana for almost a couple of months and visited Neemrana fort on 20th Oct. Needless to say, I went through tripadvisor reviews so many times during planning and thanks to all the reviewers on tripadvisor for valuable advice.

The fort palace is indeed a unique destination. The property is big and majestic, slightly up on the hills overseeing neemrana town. Well, you can always visit far better forts may be for a day trip but wandering around in several courtyards, gardens, narrow walkways, stairs, have a dip in beautiful swimming pools and having dinner soaking in 12 levels of history is definitely something.

Contrary to many other reviewers, I won't rate the views very highly. In fact, you can see the town below from most of the property and land beyond just like any high rise . Only some corners have views of Aravalis and greens. At night some loudspeaker was spoiling the ambience at cultural program. The rooms at the top and bottom of the fort are good because those offer full view of the fort.

Taking senior people having difficulty in walking is plain dare devilry. You can not walk 50 mtrs within the fort without having to climb down or up an stairs. However, our 3 year old daughter enjoyed the climbing much to our surprise and satisfaction.

The maintenance of the property is very good given its size. Gardens, pools and rooms are very clean and beautiful. One can always find fault with exteriors at many places though.

The most disappointing thing is the room, especially for the price they command. I think the only reason the prices are so high and still it remains booked is its closeness to NCR. But definitely, not value for money. Having said that, with initial disappointment settled, one can appreciate the great effort hotel has put to make such a old fort livable.

The dinner buffet and breakfast was good and lots of variety. Service was good at restaurant and staff was cooperative.

On saturdays, they have a mandatory cultural program for which they charge in advance. Though the artist, the ambience and the performance was good, I couldn't help but feel the irony that a foreign dancer trained in Belle, Gymnastics and aerobics got attracted and chose to learn Bharatnatyam while most of the Indians watching the performance would have been happier to not pay if given a choice.

The flying fox is good. It looked terrifying to watch others zipping. Even after a brief practice session, it looked unbelievable looking at 400 ft wide zipline across a valley that we can do it. However, the staff made it seem very light and in the end after 5 zips, one gets used to the thrill.

One suggestion for Neemrana is to provide more information and pictures on rooms on their website as each one is totally different. Also, their booking office should be more proactive on finding out the requirements of guests and recommend the rooms. Well, you already have healthy booking as I understand but it will greatly improve the satisfaction.

Overall, I would recommend for its uniqueness.

Room Tip: The rooms at the top and bottom of the fort are good because those offer full view of the fort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vsgblr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana Fort-Palace, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Neemrana Fort-Palace heritage hotel near Delhi.
Your compliments about the ambience and the maintenance of the property have been conveyed to the Co-Chairmen and the restoration team. We have also conveyed your compliments about the food and the service to the hotel team.

With reference to the loudspeaker, during the festive season there are programs that happen in the neighbouring village. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

With respect to your feedback about the rooms, please note that Neemrana has a range of rooms from INR 3000 to INR 25000. The room size, decor, and bathroom amenities are in accordance with the price. The heritage wing has some rooms which are small or quirky in the lower categories while others are rather grand. Do inform our Sales team about your requirements and they shall gladly assist you in finding a suitable room whenever you stay with us next. You may also refer to the tariff section of the website which has descriptions of each room along with a photograph.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Very unusual palace hotel overlooking the village.
Enjoyed very warm welcome.Stayed a night with children visiting India for the first time.They enjoyed every moment.Outstanding hospitality as usual with Rajasthani flavour.
Evening entertainment was ruined by tourist checking in and walking in and out in the middle.
The standard of performers rather poor and far below expectation.Rajasthan has extremely high standard of musicians and kalbelia dancers and the hotel can raise it's image by presenting them.This was a huge disappointment.

Room Tip: check and compare the rooms before settling.They are varied and all different.Some may be too dark w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a1hirani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana Fort-Palace, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review about the Neemrana Fort-Palace heritage hotel near Delhi.

It is heartening to learn that you were well looked after by the team. This is exactly what we strive to achieve and it is always rewarding when someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love.

Although there is a Rajasthani folk performance on weekdays, please note that on Saturdays Neemrana Music Foundation organises a special cultural performance by well-known artists followed by a Gala dinner. We do hope that you will enjoy this whenever you choose to visit on a weekend between October and April.

Thank you for your patronage to Neemrana Fort-Palace. We look forward to welcoming you at our 27 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The property is no doubt interesting. However the Reservation team at New Delhi is extremely inhospitable and impolite, which might set your mood off at the first step itself. Some rooms are terribly small alongwith the washrooms and it was horrible to keep calling for small things like towels and a dental kit. The property is breathtaking however these little glitches might rub you the wrong way !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parul_delhi650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana Fort-Palace, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about Neemrana Fort-Palace.

We are disappointed to learn about your experience with the Reservations department. Please send us your booking ID number at the email address mentioned below and we shall investigate the same from our end. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

With respect to your feedback about the rooms, please note that Neemrana has a range of rooms from INR 3000 to INR 25000. The room size, decor, and bathroom amenities are in accordance with the price. The heritage wing has some rooms which are small or quirky in the lower categories while others are rather grand. Do inform our Sales team about your requirements and they shall gladly assist you in finding a suitable room whenever you stay with us next.

Your feedback about the housekeeping department has been conveyed to the personnel in-charge and they have been given the necessary instructions to ensure that such requests are handled swiftly going forth.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you at our 27 properties across India !
Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I was travelling with my German family and booked 4 rooms.Rooms were all differant and are very well furnished even if some of the rooms are having small beds.our stay was very comfortable and enjoyable.Dinner in a open air garden was a superb expierence.food quality is outstanding.Breakfast in the Cellar room was also very good.Spa is also very professional.I took some Yoga lesson and ayurveda massage.We will certainly come back next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravindra199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana Fort-Palace, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind review about the Neemrana Fort-Palace heritage hotel near Delhi.

We are pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the property, including the Gala dinner and the food. Your compliments about the breakfast experience have been conveyed to the Chef and his team.

It is heartening to learn that you enjoyed the yoga session and were able to relax and rejuvenate at the Spa.

We thank you for your continued patronage to Neemrana Fort-Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

it was a surprise for me as my gf took me there for my bday...we checked in early and the staff had placed flowers and a Birthday greeting in our room...the place is awsome ..u feel not feel bored (even if theres no gadgets)...u can explore the property all day long as its a huge one...try n stay in old side of the property... pools are naice and well maintained too...yes like other guests I wud like to say that the food is over priced and had less options however this willnot gonna stop me from going there again...just loved the place..!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on old side of property
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarun9971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana Fort-Palace, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about the Neemrana Fort-Palace heritage hotel near Delhi.

It is heartening to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your birthday surprise and our team was able to make it memorable. Your compliments about the swimming pools and the property have been conveyed to the hotel team that strives hard to maintain the same.

Your feedback about the food is disappointing. The lunch and dinner buffet includes approximately 15 dishes with a mixture of Indian, Chinese, and Continental cuisine including vegetarian and non-vegetarian soups, salads, starters, main courses, and various Indian and Continental breads and desserts. Should you desire to taste a special dish or have a particular preference, you can certainly make a request at the previous meal or in advance via email, and the chefs will try and please you whenever you choose to visit next.

We thank you for your patronage to Neemrana Fort-Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofnemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The palace is indeed breathtaking, a maze of magical pathways and pavilions overlooking the village of Neemrana. Sunsets are particularly beautiful, especially from the small patio above the area where tea is served -- not to be missed.

That said, our service experience was nothing short of pathetic. Reservations were bungled (room was already occupied when we arrived!) and we were offered a "rooftop tent" instead of the palace room we had booked. When we explained how absurd a prospect that was and demanded an alternative, the manager "upgraded" us to a different palace room and acted as though he had done us an enormous favor.

Later in the evening, when we arrived for the mandatory "gala dinner," there were no tables available. We asked three separate people for a table and all said they would go find one and proceeded to run off, get distracted, and do nothing to help us. Finally we located a manager who got us a table and told us to go to the bar to order drinks. I got to the bar and there was no one there; I asked two servers for help with drinks--both in English and in Hindi--and both literally walked away without responding.

All I can say is that I hope someone buys the place and hires new management. The beautiful setting demands so much more than the lackluster service currently on offer. If you have the option, skip Neemrana and spend your money instead at one of the equally beautiful--and much more beautifully managed--heritage properties elsewhere in Rajasthan, like Samode or Devi Garh.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank baltiquatious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana Fort-Palace, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about Neemrana Fort-Palace. We are sorry to learn that your stay did not work out as expected. We are writing to apologise and to offer an explanation.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused at the time of your check-in. We have investigated the same from our end and it seems that there was a temporary technical snag in the booking engine. This has been communicated to the service provider and resolved. We do hope that you will not hold the upgrade against us as our team was trying their best to resolve the matter.

We are distressed to learn your feedback about the Gala Dinner. This should never have been the case. We assure you that the respective personnel have been pulled up and given the necessary training and support so that incidents like this do not recur in the future.

We do hope that you will give us a chance to overlay your previous experience with a fresh and enjoyable one. Once again please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alwar
36.6 mi away
Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli
1.0 mi away
Ramada Neemrana Jaipur Hwy
43.0 mi away
Sariska - Tiger Heaven, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Treehouse Dwarka Hotel and Club
0.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Neemrana
Golden Tulip Neemrana
#2 of 8 in Neemrana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
38.1 mi away
Alwar Bagh (Sariska) by Aamod
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana Fort-Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana Fort-Palace

Property: Neemrana Fort-Palace
Address: Village Neemrana, Alwar 301705, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Alwar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Alwar
#2 Spa Hotel in Alwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Neemrana Fort-Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the last three decades, the ‘Neemrana’ of the stunningly restored 15th century Fort-Palace, has come to mean many things. For architects it is a unique example of utter waste turned into a 14-tiered marvel with palace wings, courts and stepped gardens, felicitated with national and international awards. For guests, it means discovering over five centuries of history experienced with modern comforts. Only 100 kms from Delhi, just off the main highway NH8 to Jaipur, Neemrana Fort-Palace is a favourite site for celebrations, feasts, conferences, a quiet retreat for yoga and relaxation or India’s first site where you can indulge in five thrilling zip-line tracks that literally fly you in the sky. Built since 1464 CE, on a plateau of the two billion year old Aravalli ranges, this 14-tiered property sprawls across 10 green hectares / 25 acres. For guests, this offers 72 rooms / suites, 3 conference halls (Jazam, Qanat & Kasturi), hanging gardens, arched pavilions and balconies. The upper levels of the northern wing of the Fort-Palace can now be accessed from the car park by a 110 feet high lift which leads by the Saat Bagh to a second box lift. This architectural wonder can now also be enjoyed by the elderly and the less-abled who can be shown the upper parts carried on a palanquin chair by four able men ! Neemrana Fort-Palace has two spectacular pools that lean out to the sun. The upper pool is heated in the winter months to take the enjoyment of sunsets to another level. An intimate play area for young toddlers & the adjacent Neemrana eco-farm have been added recently so that you consume healthy organic food. Try our Maha Burj gold-platter thali for Rajasthani cuisine, or the buffet with a variety of cuisines that suits many palates. Wander the 2.4 hectares/6 acres of Palace with a self-guided multimedia tour. Ride a camel/camel cart or a vintage car. Walk out to the 16th century step well which descends 7 floors into the earth. Feel a new Indian high. To have you here is to share our life’s vision of how ruins can revitalise a whole region. Neemrana not only strive to revive and restore the heritage structure but it also generates jobs and economic opportunities hiring and consuming locally. It is no wonder that Neemrana has been listed in the 100 things you must do on the planet Earth before its time for you to leave it ! But when this list was made, only one Neemrana existed – now there are 23 ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Neemrana Fort-Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neemrana Fort-Palace Hotel Alwar
Neemrana Fort Palace Rajasthan
Neemrana Fort-Palace Alwar, India - Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing