We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway come Delhi”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dadhikar Fort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dadhikar Fort
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Alwar
Certificate of Excellence
Darjeeling
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great weekend getaway come Delhi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I was recommended Dadhikar Fort by a colleague. It turned out to be just a couple of hours from drive. Lovely propery perched on the Aravali Hills overlooking magnificent villages. I took a drive through number of villages in the evening and it gave me a good sense of rural life of Rajasthan. Amazing experience. Just stayed for one night but planning to go back soon. The traditional dance show was great (trust me I have seen a fair bit of these dances on my journeys). The rooms are magnificently restored and the fort is simply stunning. Also great bit of credit goes to the gardener for keeping the fort very green inside and outside, it is a welcome change on the otherwise arid and dry region. The owner and the staff is courteous. I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a weekend getaway fro Delhi, Jaipur and Agra.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PravinDarjeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    162
    47
    14
    8
See reviews for
178
142
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stumbled upon this property when looking at options for a weekend getaway from Gurgaon and what a find it turned out to be ! A mere 2 hours by road from Gurgaon to reach a beautiful fort in Alwar. The property is located as such that it is convenient to reach. Upon reading reviews from others we figured it would be a great place to head to and we were right on the mark and more ! The staff is extremely courteous and the property is beautifully maintained and spacious and is a delight to explore. The rooms are quaint and tastefully done and the washrooms are airy and clean. The buffet lunch is a great spread under the shade but the charm of the place picks up even more so as the sun sets and they arrange for evening snacks and tea at the terrace. Followed by a musical evening to highlight their traditional folk music and dance, performed beautifully and even including the guests and welcoming them to join and dance with them. The dinner and breakfast buffet are absolutely delicious and the variety in the food is tremendous, ranging from Indian to traditional dishes to live pasta counters and tawa vegetables and desserts. Have never enjoyed feasting on vegetation food as much as I did at Dadhikar, that too being a non-vegetarian ! Awaiting September / October for the weather to get better to visit again. Definitely on my list of places to visit again , this time with a group of my friends. What we loved the most was the fact that all their meals were arranged and set up in different parts of the property such that the guests would have a new experience with each meal.

USP - Fabulous staff and service, game room for recreational activities, scrumptious food !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderlust09_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Revisiting the fort was totally a different experience .We visited the fort in march, and surprisingly the weather was very favorable for our activities. like table tennis , badminton , etc. We enjoyed the evening and the dance show which was based on the rajasthani culture . The food was extraordinarily delicious and was arranged in a grand manner which captivated our all imagination about the trip. in short the experience was thrilling and would like to thank the staff for such an excellent service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kumar_satish64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Dadhikar Fort Hotel truly deserves all the accolades showered on it by folks who have posted reviews prior to me. In fact, the positive reviews on TripAdvisor was the deciding factor for us to spend the long weekend of Good Friday at this property. The fort is a recreation of a former structure that stood at that location centuries ago and a tastefully done one at that. The rooms provide great ambiance (we had opted for 'Madhuvan') and the view of the Rajasthan country-side from the Fort is a very beautiful one. For city folks, the fresh/pollution-free air should in itself make this trip worth it! Food (strictly veg!) might be limited in variety but more than makes up for it in taste. The staff is extremely accommodating and truly lives up to the legendary Rajasthani hospitality. A must-visit destination!

Room Tip: The Madhuvan worked for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chanakyanand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

This place is perfect if you want a 1-2 day getaway from all the hustle of our regular life. The property has been re-constructed and gives you a heritage feel. Rooms are spacious and loo's are modern. You will enjoy the mornings and evenings with all peacocks flying around the fort. Since the rooms dont have t.v's it gives you time to actually interact with your near and dear ones.
Service was excellent. Quality of food was also good. Just the price of the buffet is a little exorbitant, considering you dont have any other eating place nearby.
You can also visit the city palace.

Room Tip: If you are 4 adults then choose Mahavan, which is a duplex+ you get a terace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The worst travel experience in my life. Booked a room through agoda.com and got confirmation from hotel that the room will be ready. As some more family members were joining the trip, had to book one more room and did it through agoda.com only and sent the confirmation to hotel one week prior to arrival. Reached the hotel on time to know that only one room is available and they said they would provide an additional tent room as a courtesy.. Was shocked to hear that. Why do the hotel makes deal with hotel booking sites like agoda.com if they dont have any responsisbility in providing the room??? Only good thing observed was that staff were courteous enough to listen to us and they did not charge for the tent and provided a free dinner for all of us to compensate for the damage. Location is lovely and the fort itself has been reinstated in a decent way. The room (not the tent) that was provided to us was the cheapest in the hotel without any balcony though agoda.com has promised all features including balconly/terrace while doing the reservation. Attracting people through such offers in online hotel booking websites and disappointing them in this way is actually cheating or rather I would say its fraud. Dadhikar fort hotel can not wash their hands from the responsibility as agoda.com can not do it on their own without any agreement with the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SujeshN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just little away from small town. You wont even notice that you are going to a fort when you pass the small galies of that rajasthan town. They have done an excellent work in rejuvenation of the dilapidated fort. Nice rooms clean and give you a glimpse of the history with the artifacts placed inside the room, beds doors bathroom etc. I went during monsoon and it was drizzling outside I just want to be there with my wife all day on the roof top.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Himanshu_Shruti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alwar hotels
29.1 mi away
Neemrana Fort-Palace
10.3 mi away
Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli
20.8 mi away
Sariska - Tiger Heaven, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Alwar Bagh (Sariska) by Aamod
7.8 mi away
Burja Haveli Hotel
Burja Haveli Hotel
#7 of 21 in Alwar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
5.7 mi away
MGB Hotels Alwar
MGB Hotels Alwar
#6 of 21 in Alwar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dadhikar Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dadhikar Fort

Property: Dadhikar Fort
Address: Village Dadhikar, Alwar 301001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Alwar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Alwar
#4 Family Hotel in Alwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dadhikar Fort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dadhikar fort is a heritage property which has been converted in to heritage hotel, which is just 6 kms from alwar city and close to sariska tager santuary ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dadhikar Fort Alwar, India - Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing