We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Poor Service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alwar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Palace Hotel Siliserh
Ranked #13 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Alwar
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This RTDC property is very like its Ranthambore cousin, the Jhoomar Baori. The location, a placid lake in the midst of Aravalli is superb. But the hotel itself is not up to the mark, The place is not well kept or well run. Rooms are in a bad state. Food which sometimes can uplift a hotel experience is also sadly below expectations.

The worst part is that during weekends, crowds pour in at such a scale that guests who are booked in for rooms are often stuck in their rooms with noisy crowds on the balconies and on the boating sites. Overall the cost for the rooms and food are also extremely expensive considering the services provided.

This is to take nothing away from the place though. Siliserh is lovely and great place to be in the mornings and nights. Best to book here only during weekdays when rates are lower and crowds are absent.

Room Tip: Choose one of the suites even though they might burn a hole in your pocket. they are on a separate l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srajagopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 104 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

This place is a great weekend drive getaway. Been here several times, though best times to get here are winter months. The drive from Delhi is decent (except the last few kms) and we usually club it with a visit to Sariska tiger reserve (25 min further drive). Being run by govt, the rates are very nominal and the food is good. Now they even accept online bookings which makes the trip planning easier. Try to get the terrace rooms (only 3) as they're the best. The center one has a marble bed. Other rooms are just ok and mostly not worth it. There is not much to do nearby except enjoy the lake view and small treks around the lake. The place is surrounded on 3 sides by lake, and there's a lot of terrace space to sit and enjoy the view along with snacks.

Room Tip: Top 3 terrace rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rajshw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Budget Hotel..We booked 2 suites..therefore, the rooms were big and spacious with great view. It takes about 3.5 hours to reach from Delhi. We also took a motor boat ride in the lake in the evening @ Rs 600. Since we went in the middle of scorching summers, there weren't any locals either. However, it is govt run and the shows in the condition of this heritage property.

Plus : Great location, the service was prompt ( knowing how things run in the Govt, we gave some good tips at arrival itself..n it surely helped )
Minus :Fixed limited menu, no toiletries, poorly maintained hotel

It could have been an amazing property since it is surrounded by lake on 3 sides and Sariska is about 24 kms away.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smiti_SS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We decided to spent year end of 2011 in Alwar. And due to late booking we ended up in Siliserh Lake Palace. Entry fees were waived off as we had booking. This includes lunch, dinner and breakfast. Buffet with a fixed limited menu. Having no outside choice, these are great, especially in the winter night.
Parking was an issue as day tourists fill up all the parking places. Free parking for boarder.
Its a good choice for weekend trip.

Room Tip: Only one link I have found to book a room. It is http://203.132.156.107/rtdc/HotelSearch.aspx?blnF...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Subhashis65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I found silsereh lake palace as a nice weekend getaway from delhi. and tried it but this become one of the worst expereince of my life to be there. i booked a non ac room as i visited the place in march 2012.
Location is good , but too many locals there made it a crowdy place. Hotel rooms are worst part of this hotel. Most dingy, never ever cleaned , torn curtains and abundance of lizards and there droppings...damn it. when i am writing this review i am feeling depressed.
Food was good though. but visit if u want do not stay there. there are hotels around and do your homework well.

overall bad bad experience - trip to sariska tiger reserve and this palace . i will never commit this mistake again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank schauhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The location of the palace is on the bank of beautiful lake. Though maintained by rtdc it has very well maintained. You can relax at the place The food is very nice specially the Vegetable Pakoras.You can have the food in the open space of the place.The room are nicely decorated.
It is very economical option from delhi to spend weekend there.
You can enjoy boating at the lake.

Room Tip: Prefer the Room Lake facing on lower Floor to have beautiful lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VIJAYJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

This is a case of excellent property with huge potential being wasted by public sector apathy.
The hotel in a wonderful location is in disrepair. It is littered with monkey droppings. The terrace which looks so inviting for a peaceful session of tea soon shows its reality in the menace of monkeys. The employees do their best to scare away the monkeys but that doesnt give back the peace. My room had 6-7 lights but only two were working. My brother couldnt sleep all night since monkeys outside his room created a ruckus all night.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaipurLalit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alwar hotels
11.3 mi away
Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli
4.7 mi away
Burja Haveli Hotel
Burja Haveli Hotel
#6 of 24 in Alwar
95 reviews
16 mi away
Sterling Sariska
Sterling Sariska
#4 of 24 in Alwar
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Hotel Aravali
Hotel Aravali
#11 of 24 in Alwar
101 reviews
33.7 mi away
Neemrana Fort-Palace
5.6 mi away
Dadhikar Fort
Dadhikar Fort
#3 of 24 in Alwar
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Palace Hotel Siliserh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Palace Hotel Siliserh

Address: Siliserh Circle, Alwar 301001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Alwar District > Alwar
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Alwar
Price Range: $28 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Lake Palace Hotel Siliserh Alwar, India - Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing