We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meets expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Grand Solitaire Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Secunderabad B&B and Inns
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Meets expectations”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The hotel is centrally located and is easily accessible from Secunderabad railway station.

Though a slightly dated and cramped property, I found the room comfortable. Biggest plus is the food. Room service and breakfast at the lounge were good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronen26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    33
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
7
4
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Grand Solitaire , Secundrabad from 21 Feb to 23 Feb 2013. We were given Club rooms , which were very spacious , clean and cozy beds and rest rooms up to the mark. The food quality at the restaurant was very good and breakfast spread excellent as good as any in 4 star hotels. Service by the lobby staff as well as restaurant staff was impeccable. We had no complaints whatsoever during our stay.
Good place to stay for mid range travelers. You may get bargain offers on the web.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UDAY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We arrived after midnight and were able to check-in immediately as it was 24hour check-in. (very helpful) Our room was very comfortable but it was just a general hotel room and we upgraded to a larger one the next day.
The smell on the guest room floors was stomach turning, but it was only outside the rooms. Inside was very pleasant, with western toilets and modern facilities as it is a newish hotel. Our original room overlook a parkland and a major road so even though we had a good view it was very noisy.
The new room was quieter except for a pack of dogs every morning, which moved on very quickly
Breakfast is included in accommodation and if you like Indian cuisine, delicious. My husband loved it. There are some western dishes on the buffet, however I took my own longlife milk and weetbix from home as I was doing my best to avoid Indian dairy products and anything that may have been washed in the water.
They serve other cuisines at lunch and dinner as well as on the room service menu. (Spaghetti Napoli was delicious).
The service was mostly very good, there were a few times when we just had to stop and remind ourselves where we were and that things ran differently in India. The wait staff were over zealous in their quest to please which can get a little annoying, but again that's how things are in India and you just have to go with the flow.
I researched for ages before picking this hotel for locality, price and facilities (free internet).
It is about 40 mins to Charminer markets and Hyderabad and central to many suburbs in Secunderabad.
The security outside the hotel made sure any taxis or auto rickshaws didn't overcharge us as they would very firmly send them away.
Overall it is a good place to stay if you can hold your breath from the lift to your room.

Room Tip: upgrade to the club double/twin and get a room away from SP road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I got a chance to stay here for one night but it left a lasting impression. Room was good with all facilities required for a 3 star hotel. Bed was very cozy. staff was courteous and polite. Wifi is complementary(Some hotels are charging 1.66/min !!!). complimentary breakfast provided was excellent with a variety of choices. Looking forward to be there in future too................

Room Tip: choose topmost floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christinstrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The rooms were clean and nicely done up with modern appliances. Wi-Fi connectivity is good.
Very good prompt room service.

Restaurant serves quality food and rich and testy continental breakfast.

Staffs were friendly and helpful. Limited gym equipment but good.

The stay was really nice and my warmest congratulation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank flyingfrogs10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed there 1 night, as nearby property refused to acknowledge the prepaid booking. Good service, nice coming to the rescue.
Rooms are full 3 star quality, nice beds & bathroom, good coffee tea making and TV. B'fast quite good for 3 star; breads, fruit, cereals great and wide warm buffet. Western choices in that limited, Indian choices vast (and quite okay according to my Indian roommate). Only downside were, hopefully temporary, maintenance problems with their generator. In night we had 8-10 power cuts and in morning one, and everytime starting the generator took 2-3 minutes instead of seconds. NOT what one appreciates during checkin at reception or taking a shower in bathroom etc., 3 mins of total darkness.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikandSandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Im not really going to go into too many details but just put the facts out there.

1) Booked this Hotels.com and told the hotel and the website customer service that we will reach late at night (midnightish) - when we got there - it was pouring rain - no one to help from the car to the hotel. At the front desk they didnt have reg cards ready - we had to fill them out manually at half past midnight.
2) Asked for what was available for room service - were told we can get curd rice - anything else? NO!
3) No water in the taps when I went for a shower at night - though there was in the morning - unbelievable.
4) The rooms are really tiny -which was ok because it was only a "place to sleep" sort of booking.
5) The cupboards were smelly and damp., Certainly wouldnt want to put my clothes in there.
6) Bed didnt work for me - some people think the beds are great but they didnt work for me.
7) Breakfast was extremely poor. I asked for a cheese omelette and got one without cheese with onions and tomatoes. The baked beans at the buffet remained empty pretty much though breakfast and despite asking them to refill it - it was not done. A very limited breakfst buffet - with poor service to match.

Overall I spent nine hours in that hotel. Unfortunately its wasnt worth the money paid. I wouldnt stay there if they paid me to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shivir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Secunderabad hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Secunderabad hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Taj Tristar
Hotel Taj Tristar
#4 of 31 in Secunderabad
181 reviews
0.7 mi away
United-21 Hyderabad
United-21 Hyderabad
#12 of 31 in Secunderabad
113 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mango Hotels, Secunderabad - MG Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Baseraa
Hotel Baseraa
#11 of 31 in Secunderabad
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belsons Taj Mahal Hotel
Belsons Taj Mahal Hotel
#21 of 31 in Secunderabad
77 reviews
0.5 mi away
Time Square - The Landmark Hotel
Time Square - The Landmark Hotel
#3 of 31 in Secunderabad
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Solitaire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Solitaire Hotel

Property: The Grand Solitaire Hotel
Address: 1-240, 41 & 43, Parklane, Secunderabad 500003, India
Location: India > Telangana > Hyderabad District > Secunderabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Secunderabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Solitaire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Grand Solitaire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing