We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mexican”
Review of The Scared Crow

The Scared Crow
Ranked #7 of 51 Restaurants in West Malling
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great mexican”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Went here for sunday lunch with the family. Great food, huge portions and really good service. Good range of mexican food as well as steaks, burgers, etc.. Additional benefit is they have Adnams!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    49
    10
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fajitas”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This pub is great and has a great atmosphere. The staff are very attentive and my friends and I go a lot. The food is excellent and I love it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Good and large portions but expensive”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

First time at the restaurant and I had the house pizza. Quite honestly all four of us could have shared it as it was so large. The portions do seem excessively large especially if you have had a large starter first. I didn't think the food was outstanding in flavour, my wife had the scampi which was not scampi tails but more like chopped and shaped. Again there was far too much in our opinions. If you want to fill yourself up then this place is for you. Personally I would not return under my own steam. The price for four of us, three starters, four main courses, with a bottle Prosecco, two bottles of Peroni and two small cokes was £111 which I thought was a little high.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KentBoyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leybourne, Kent
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I decided to try this after reading the good reviews and we were not disappointed. Lovely pub and friendly staff. The food was great and portions quite big. Highly recommended. We'll done!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First time”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Excellent food and ambience. Great selection, fajitas and nachos very good. Good wine selection.

Will be back

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BobSorted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Scared Crow also viewed

 

Been to The Scared Crow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing