We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Posh Nosh in a Classy Environment - Highly Recommended”
Review of The Swan

The Swan
Ranked #4 of 51 Restaurants in West Malling
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $76
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Posh Nosh in a Classy Environment - Highly Recommended”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I haven't been here for a few years and I have to say that our recent visit was excellent.
4 of us booked a table for a Thursday night and the restaurant was fairly quiet.

The haddock rarebit tasted so good and two of us had the steak which has so much flavour. We all had dessert but really shouldn't of, it was just too much!!

Overall an excellent meal, with attentive and helpful staff.

The only downside was the bill, a little pricey but hey you do get what you pay for!

Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    197
    93
    61
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks Kent
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

To be honest we booked by mistake! We wanted another Swan in West Peckham but then asking Siri on my ipad for nearby restaurants it came up with the Swan in West Malling. We loved the decor and layout, very modern but also comfortable. Service was very attentive, maybe just a fraction too much but hey better than invisible staff. Good food, I had foie gras followed by beef wellington, this was cooked spot on. Price was top end for a country town around £145 with wine and service. We will go again soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GaryJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“When I want to feel pampered I book the Swan”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Perfect for a trendy hot date, or special occasion, celebration. I have eaten here lots and it never disappoints. Classy food, tasty and well presented. Perfect for the Friday night wind down or Saturday night dinner date. Great cocktail menu and perfect chateaubriand for two people.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid_Murray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Monday night, dinner for two”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I like The Swan in West Malling. I've been a couple of times and on a Monday night in January the bigger part of the restaurant was closed off making the five or six occupied tables much cosier. The set menu looked appealing but we just fancied a steak so off to the a la carte we went. Good meat, well cooked medium rare, great chips. Confident, attentive service without being intrusive. Only criticism (there's always one) was with the Corona; I've always thought it's best drunk out of the bottle but my companion wasn't given the option as our waiter poured away. Same with my Sierra Nevada. It's a really minor thing but stuck out as the only little fault in an otherwise great meal. A great restaurant, heartily recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank offduty1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
136 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“really classy!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Really classy place. great food, great staff , nice place. Hope to go hear again soon?! Thanks for a nice meal!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank IloveshoppingKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swan also viewed

 

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing