We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent pub food”

The George at Trottiscliffe
Ranked #3 of 51 Restaurants in West Malling
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Tel number 01732 822462 Postcode ME19 5DR
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“excellent pub food”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

went here yesterday lunchtime for a wedding anniversary celebration for seven of us!We had booked the table ahead thank god as was so busy which to me is always a good sign!
We all had starters some of us had pate which was delicious,others had the sprats and whitebait and also we had the potatoe skins!all very generous portions and tasty!
For main courses we a few of us had the lovely large roast dinners with delicious stuffing,veg etc!The others had racks of lamb and liver and bacon and two had suet puddings and potatoes and veg!
Again no complaints at all all tasty hot and generous portions!
Some of the party had puddings and said they were delicious!
All in all was really pleased with the food and the service etc as so busy!would def recommend this place to other people and will def be visiting again soon!
Especially would be lovely place to visit in the summer with the kids as great garden and play area!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jems21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    101
    44
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Atmosphere was fabulous, staff were friendly and food was great. Even met a family of travellers (gypsies). The town is beautiful and the history of the "haunted" cellar is incredible but did leave me a bit spooked but very intersted

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank yvonne694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This place is a favourite when we want to take our dog - lots of outdoor space and an area indoors where dogs are also welcome. Very generous portions and the prices are very reasonable - the vegetarian lasagne is particularly nice!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank samanthamoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I've recently moved to the area and tried a few of the local restaurants and pubs, So far the George is mine and my families favorite! We came here on Sunday, and though it was completely packed they managed to get all 6 of us sat down and the wait on food wasn't bad at all! My kids had kids meals and loved them, as well as the bouncy castle and play area! which kept them very busy indeed... the rest of us had roasts, which were all perfect! portions were generous and great value for money, and the staff were amazing, engaging in conversation and seemingly enjoying themselves and getting the job done! the two tattooed boys behind the bar were brilliant and kept checking up on us and all the surrounding tables throughout, we only had to leave the table for the toilet!
i would recommend this place to anyone! and will certainly be back there myself!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine coast
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“29.09.13”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We visited yesterday as a family to celebrate a birthday this was our second visit on a Sunday lunchtime. On our first visit the food was very nice along with service, unfortunately on our second visit the roast dinner was horrible the soups were revolting and the staff were very rushed. More importantly we were a table of 10 and as soon as we paid we were asked to leave to accommodate another sitting I wonder how long we could have sat there if we hadn't yet paid. Very rude. Not acceptable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George at Trottiscliffe also viewed

 

Been to The George at Trottiscliffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing