We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“30th Birthday at The Nevill Bull Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nevill Bull

Nevill Bull
Ranked #13 of 51 Restaurants in West Malling
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $38
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A traditional country pub in the pretty village of Birling, just outside West Malling. All food ingredients are sourced and purchased by Andy. F Our chefs take great pride in preparing our dishes from scratch using only the finest ingredients. See our Website for the latest menu. We have 3 hand pumps for real ales and have been in The CAMRA Good Beer guide for the last two years. We have a separate dining room which can be used for Birthday Parties and other family occasions. Our large patio is perfect for al fresco dining in the warmer months. Music events take place throughout the year which will be advertised on our website and Facebook page. A family friendly pub where everyone will be made extremely welcome by Andy and Emma. Dogs are also welcome and fresh water is always available for them after that long walk!
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“30th Birthday at The Nevill Bull Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

I had a great time at the best hidden gem I have found in a country road in Kent. It is full of vintage soda siphons, pictures on the ceilings, ornate chandeliers and mismatched furniture that I LOVE! The atmosphere is intimate and special! They have a beautiful diningroom and a barn, complete with skittle alley! I had my 30th there last night and Kate and Paul were absolutely amazing. Even when the weather threatened to throw a spanner in the works and I switched rooms twice, they managed to pull through at the last minute, decorate, have the most amazing fresh cooked buffet and even sorted the music. Everyone who came wants to come back again and we have all fallen in love with the barn and all it's coolness! They recommended a regular singer for me, who was AMAZING! Chris Till is a regular singer there and totally worth it! I cannot be happier with the Nevill Bull and want to find a reason to have another party there!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie12072014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    41
    19
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Top quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were entertaining a friend who was visiting from France and decided to take her to the Nevill Bull. It was a real treat. Our friend ordered aubergine tempura for starter, my wife went for home made pate and I had the mixed fish platter. Unlike in many places we also were given a basket of fresh bread to accompany our meal. Our excellent waitress returned soon after the order to apologise for not having aubergine and offered courgette tempura as an alternative. All the starters were beautifully presented, tasted great and there was a lot of it. For the main course I ordered the bbq rack of pork, which was simply enormous, and delicious. The other two each had a large veal chop in a red wine sauce, accompanied by a large quantity of excellent vegetables. At the end there were three very satisfied, very full diners. We finished with a really good expresso - there was just no room for pudding. This is pub food at its best. Our compliments to all concerned.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DannyCunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious food worth the cost”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful roast, I had the veggie option which was delicious and we all agreed it was one of the best roasts we'd had in a while. The food really was superb. The pub was pretty inside quirky and we sat in the garden. Service was good the only thing I would say is the barmaid offered to open the skittle alley for our kids but this never happened. I'd also say it was expensive but this is mostly due to lack of options for kids, in total we spent 90 for four adults and four kids, four roasts, one lasagne split between the kids and two soups. Wonderful food.

Helpful?
Thank rosysnozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Richard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

What more. . Sitting in patio garden with a pint of real ale ..an excellent wind down pub.. if your hungry then go for a wide variety of different meals. . Fish is lovely. ..

Helpful?
Thank rhbrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

There are a lot of great county pubs in this part of Kent but the Nevill Bull is definitely the best I've ever been to. Small, local charm but with modern touches, great beers, friendly staff and the Sunday lunch was incredible! Probably the best Sunday roast I've ever had. And good value too - £17.50 for three courses.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DubDol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nevill Bull also viewed

 

Been to Nevill Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing