We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shame about the decor”
Review of Nevill Bull

Nevill Bull
Ranked #13 of 51 Restaurants in West Malling
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $39
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A traditional country pub in the pretty village of Birling, just outside West Malling. All food ingredients are sourced and purchased by Andy. Our chefs take great pride in preparing our dishes from scratch using only the finest ingredients. See our Website for the latest menu. We have 3 hand pumps for real ales and have been in The CAMRA Good Beer guide for the last two years. We have a separate dining room which can be used for Birthday Parties and other family occasions. Our large patio is perfect for al fresco dining in the warmer months. Music events take place throughout the year which will be advertised on our website and Facebook page. A family friendly pub where everyone will be made extremely welcome by Andy. Dogs are also welcome and fresh water is always available for them after that long walk!
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“shame about the decor”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

the outside of the pub is lovely but the inside is a real let down with awful flooring and appaling "tat" everywhere.I have not eaten in this pub for a while due to the landlady being difficult to say the least,however I thought I would give it another chance and the landlady was not present.what a different atmosphere,welcoming and attentive.you can tell there was a new chef as the food was lovely and there was an assortment of potatos this time instead of chips with everything.pleasantly surprised and will probably return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daniel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hepzibah66, Owner at Nevill Bull, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for such a positive review. Just to let you know we are currently in the middle of returbing the inside of the pub and the floor is a work in progress! Once we get rid of the glue that stuck some terrible 1970s tiles down the floor boards will be sanded and polished. The other "tat" is all part of what other people call "quirky"! Just to confirm the chef is, was and always will be , the landlady!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    44
    22
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Restaurant is located in the beautiful village of Birling - quintessentially English and a lovely looking pub from both inside and out.

Service with a smile and I can honestly say they make all guests feel welcome.

Food is of a good quality, locally sourced and served swiftly.

Not your typical pub grub, this place is best for a special lunch or dinner.

Prices are very reasonable for the food you receive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hepzibah66, Owner at Nevill Bull, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your lovely, positive comments. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee on the Solent
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent Family gathering”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

A great country pub with fantastic menu at excellent prices. Eclectic décor that is entertaining to browse; look for the taxidermies dinosaur! This décor spread to the plates and cutlery which worked really well.
Rack of ribs was huge and burger real ground beef. Local beers and good wines at a good price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ovalmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hepzibah66, Owner at Nevill Bull, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
So glad you enjoyed yourselves. It was lovely to meet you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely quirky pub”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely meal of rack of ribs, lovely BBQ sauce presentation really good was presented on a wooden platter in the shape of the pubs logo, I thought this was quite unique,food great, staff very friendly,landlady&landlord very welcoming, a pub wll worth visiting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“At long last......a non plastic pub”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stopped in for a meal this evening not knowing what to expect but having read the excellent reviews we decided to 'go for it'. Well.......what a lovely pub, lovely hosts and the food was absolutely top dollar. I had one of the best Sirloin steaks with a peppercorn sauce and my wife had local pheasant which she still hasn't stopped raving about! If you want your typical plastic pub with standard decor and bland food then go somewhere else. This is seriously home from home with such a relaxed feeling throughout. I am so envious of all the locals who have this gem of a hostelry on their doorstep. Well done to all at the Neville and next time we are passing I promise we will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LawMan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hepzibah66, Owner at Nevill Bull, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your vey positive comments. We do try to be a little bit different from the norm, looks like we hit the spot with you. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nevill Bull also viewed

 
West Malling, Kent
 

Been to Nevill Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing