We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Angel at Addington Green

The Angel at Addington Green
Ranked #13 of 50 Restaurants in West Malling
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

great food, great location, we have used here often and can not find fault with any thing, it is a nice atmosphere in the stable block area to eat, would not hesitate in recommending the place to anyone

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lisa84Sissi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    109
    43
    26
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely little pub restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

A great little pub with excellent food. Its 16th century with oak beams and this combined with really attentive staff create an atmosphere that is unrivalled in the West Malling area.
The place is clean and well maintained very often the first things to go in a struggling pub.
We had a steak and fish both were perfect followed for me by dessert - fantastic.
Worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Slim09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent. UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not Family Friendly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Enquired about booking a table for my wife's 60th birthday lunch including our children and our 2 grandchildren of 3 and 15 months. Novelly for these days and this type of establishent they do not possess a high chair, a real problem. I imagined, at first, that they considered themseves more select than their menu would suggest; however from enqiry of someone who has dined there it seems that the dining area itself is very resticted for space and , therefore, it could be that young children would be considered a problem. Whether the close proximity of tables means that if you reach for your hankerchief a diner on the next table goes face down in their soup is something I don't know.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JonandJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Level Contributor
122 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Could be much nicer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Myself and 3 colleagues chose to have a business lunch here, I have been here previously, to eat and just for a quiet drink, its a traditional old village green pub.

The food was adequate, nothing to write home about, the garden is lovely on a nice sunny day and they have a building also in the garden for when its not so sunny, also by the looks of this room, they hold small gatherings here as there is a mini bar in the corner.

With a bit more effort, this pub could clear up in this area, focus a bit more on the food and the peaceful village and i'm sure they would be on an even bigger winner than they already are.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had been here previously, but not for Sunday lunch. We went with two friends, and all agreed that it was an excellent lunch, plenty of choice and very reasonably priced. Will be back soon.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kc3824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Angel at Addington Green also viewed

 
West Malling, Kent
 

Been to The Angel at Addington Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing