We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in West Malling”

Frank's Restaurant and Mussel Bar
Ranked #2 of 51 Restaurants in West Malling
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
UK
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“One of the best in West Malling”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We went in a party of eight to Franks for a birthday party. It was the first time my wife and I have been there since the restaurant changed hand quite some time ago. We were quite impressed with the first impression, the decor was much improved and we were welcomed with smiles all round. Mussels don't agree with me so I chose a fillet steak, while several others did have the mussels. My steak, cooked rare, was one of the best I can remember, and all those having the mussels raved about them. We got through several bottles of wine and were pleasantly surprised when the bill arrived. We all thought it was excellent value for the quality of the food, all intend to visit Franks again soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeff05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    100
    36
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Outstanding choice of meat, mussels and fish”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

West Malling has a great selection of restaurants packed into its charming high street area - you really don't need to venture any further! Franks stands out as offering something different and still at top quality. The menu is varied catering for meat lovers, vegetarians and of course, those seeking sea food. We went on the popular 'moules night' which offers a fantastic value choice of around 20 varieties of mussel dishes with really good desserts for just £12.50 - we'll definitely be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j5183v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little Gem”
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Eaten here several times and the atmosphere is always relaxed and the food is well presented. Love the 70's music vibe which adds to the experience. Extensive mussels menu which is excellent value. The boys had steaks and thoroughly enjoyed them. Recommend highly!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jools1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice but pricey!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Visited on a Friday night in September. We live about 18miles away and used the SatNav to get us there, or so we thought! Post code took us to a residential property 3 miles away, called restaurant to tell them we would be late and explained why, they said that this happens all the time! Maybe they should put a note on their web site? Luckily we know the high street where Frank's is so put Tesco's post code in the Nav and got there in the end!

We used to visit when this was Cafe Belge, interior much the same, new tablecloths and prints etc on the walls.

Mussel menu smaller, but still good.

3 of us had mussels which were nice. When it was Cafe Belge you got French bread AND fries with mayo, now you can only have bread OR fries.... maybe a bit stingey?

My husband had fish and chips, the portion wasn't huge and whilst he enjoyed it, it was a bit over priced.

We had a good meal and a nice time, but the tables are very close together and it is hard to talk and be heard at times.

So, to sum up! Good service, nice mussels, run of the mill fish and chips and a bit pricey. Will return because I love mussels!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shashaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfleet, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great night out”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

had a lovely mid week meal the food and service was excellent. great wine and beer list loads of mussels for your money highly highly recommended 5stars

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank's Restaurant and Mussel Bar also viewed

 

Been to Frank's Restaurant and Mussel Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing