We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of Villa Iokasti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Iokasti
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Koutouloufari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Iokasti Hotel is a small, cosy hotel in Koutouloufari with a beatiful view at the harbour of Hersonisos.
Tania is a very nice and sweet person. We had a lot of fun at the bar in the afternoon or after dinner which is excelent.
Many thanks also to Katie and Dimitri for a wonderful and pleasant stay.
Highly recommendent.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ApJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 173 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2010

I can't comment on the hotel's accommodations as we did not stay there, but the food and service we had in the hotel's restaurant was easily the best we'd experienced in Koutouloufari. We ate there on three separate occasions during our two week stay and I'm happy to report that the food was consistently excellent and the staff was superb. If you get a chance, you have to try the grilled vegetable starter and the home-made cheese cake! Wow!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan_Gorec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We have visited Villa Iokasti for numerous years now and each time we go we do not want to leave.
Firstly Koutouloufari is a beautiful Cretan village where you can experience a slow, relaxed pace, with some good tavernas and restaurants, and Iokasti, of all the hotels and apartments in the vicinity is by far and away the best place.
Katy, Dimitri, Eleni and Tanja made us feel so welcome....like part of an extended family.
Te lazy days by the pool are so tranquil and relaxing just listening to the sounds of the crickets and the tranquil music coming from the verande...or having a nice cold Mythos or some great food from the kitchen.....you must try the Osso Buco if its one the menu, and Dimitris green beanc and stuffed tomatoes are heaven.
This place is a brilliant base for families and couples who are looking for a stress, hassle free holiday in the perfect setting.
Everytime we have been the other guests have always been very friendly and I know they get a lot of repeat business from other families similar to our own.
Over the years we have met some really nice people (not necessarily British) who have helped make Iokasti into a perfect destination.
Cant wait for next year!!
Paul, Adelle and Lucas

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thompson73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

When we first arrived they made us feel so welcome. It's a small place with a big heart. Kathy, Dimitri and Tanja are some of the people that works there, and they make it hard for you to feel homesick. I really love this hotel and I would really recommend this lovely place to everyone; families with young kids or teenagers, first time travellers or anyone who wants a safe, reliable and familiar hotel. / Johanna, Thomas, Agneta, Jesper and Felix.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johannaagneta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Our stay at Iokasti Village was just like coming home. Katie, Tanja and Dimitri did everything to make our days pleasant.
I had the pleasure to visit several times the kitchen where I could see how typical greek dishes are prepared. All meals are made from biological vegetables and meat.
My daughter had a good time at the swimming pool with her new made friends.
I really like to return one day

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salsera63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We didn't stay at Iokasti, but decided to eat here one evening of our trip as it looked very nice. When we were seated, we were suprised to see that the restaurant only consisted of 8 tables, but really liked the interior and the look of the menu. We were dining as a family, 2 adults and a 7 year old and quickly realised that there was no reduction in price for children, but thought that this was ok as the prices were quite reasonable and the menu appealed to us. We ordered when the restaurant was only half full at about 8.15pm. We declined starters as we had seen the size of the plates that were being brought out and ordered 2 portions of pasta and a pork fillet dish. After about 20 mins the waitress gave us a plate of bread and homemade tapenade, garlic butter and olive oil which was delicious, and made us look forward to what else was to come. By this time other tables had started to fill up and an hour after we had ordered the place was full. We realised from looking around that we were the only English people here, the rest of the tables being Dutch. We enquired how long our food would be after an hour and were told that it was on the way, still feeling postive as the food coming to other tables looked so nice we continued to wait. After another 20 mins we were a bit upset to see that the table of 4 who had come in an hour after us had been given their starters and enquired as to the whereabouts of our food again, and had to order more drinks as we had finished ours. We were told that our food was definately next and that she would 'go and shout at the chef' to hurry him up, meanwhile a table that came in at the same time as us had just finished their desserts!! When the waitress then brought out the mains to the table who had arrived an hour after us we told her that we could no longer wait, it was now 10.15 and our daughter was crying she was so hungry. the waitress then proceeded to tell us that it was our own fault as we had not ordered starters and the chef likes to cook all the starters first!! We asked how on earth the chef could cook the starters of a table that hadn't come in until an hour after we ordered before cooking our food and she said that that is just the way they like to do it and if we had had a starter then we would also have had our main by now. We told them to forget it, refused to pay for the drinks we had been forced to order whilst waiting and walked out, returning to our hotel (the Sunrise - fantastic place) where they made our daughter a much needed snack!! Only visit this place if you have hours to wait and don't care about being fobbed off, or you are Dutch and are planning on ordering starters lol!! The worst thing was is that the food that was finally coming out to people looked lovely, but we will never know if it tasted as good as it looked!!

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank jennielo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaiokasti, Manager at Villa Iokasti, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2010

Dear Sir,Madam,
As a manager of Iokasti I would like to apologize for your bad experience you had in our restaurant.In your review you mention that the restaurant got packed within 10-15 minutes and this the main reason for not been served on time.These things happens under pressure.I spoke with the waitress about the incident and they do not remember telling you that you had to order starters and I know for shore that they are very polite and this is the main reason they are working with us.Anyway we will try,if we have the chance,some
other time to make the Best restaurant experience of your whole holiday.We all feel sorry for the inconvenience we produced to your holiday.
Kind Regards
Dimitri Vasilakis
Villa Iokasti
Koutouloufari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2009

I would like to start off saying it was a year ago when we visited Iokasti's restuarant, and after a year, I still long to go back. It was beautiful, everything about it made my whole family feel alive and in bliss. We only visited the resteraunt but it was super. The pink flowers above our heads had such a beautiful fragrance, I actually went in search of a room spray or candle that spelt of it. Then there was the service, the friendliness of of the two hosts was unbelievable, they were so kind and helpful and by the end of our 2 weeks in crete, I thought of them as like family. Then came the food. I'm quite a food fanatic so it was cruciall that the food was nice. They brought bread to start with, with a few dips which was a great start to the evenings. The first night, I had pizza which I'm sorry to say wasn't very good, but by the second night, I could say no bad. We had been out to other resteraunt for dinner and it was vile, so we made our way to Iokasti for some desert. I asked for the chocolate mysterery, and if it's still on the menu, try it. It was the most beautiful desert I have ever tasted, it was simple but unique and amazing. It's diffucult to describe, but it's definatly a chocolate pudding from heaven. The third night we had a good night in. On the rest of our times out the favorite resterant was definatly Iokasti. All the meals were constitantly fabulous. I reccomend to everyone who wants to try mediteranian foods.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HJACL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koutouloufari hotels
0.3 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#3 of 13 in Koutouloufari
588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
368 reviews
0 mi away
Sundance Apartments & Suites
Sundance Apartments & Suites
#9 of 13 in Koutouloufari
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astra Village Apartments
Astra Village Apartments
#8 of 13 in Koutouloufari
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Iokasti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Iokasti

Address: 10 Ag. Konstantinou, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Koutouloufari
#6 Romantic Hotel in Koutouloufari
Price Range: $46 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Iokasti 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Iokasti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iokasti Hotel Koutouloufari
Villa Iokasti Koutouloufari, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing