We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$110
View deal
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com$110
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (932)
Filter reviews
932 results
Traveler rating
575
284
56
9
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
575
284
56
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oliva restaurant half board pool bar self catering air con shuttle bus plenty of sunbeds next year great holiday walking difficulties one bedroom apartment each evening surrounding villages two weeks lots of restaurants nothing is too much trouble sun loungers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 932 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2019

This is an outstanding hotel outside of Hersonissos between two small villages. There is only 50m walk to either one of them and they are full of restaurants and small shops. I would recomment a car and there are two parking lots - up in the street and down below the swimming pool.
There is a decent grosery store across the street - this couldn't be any closer unless situated on the premesis.
Hotel have lot's of stairs so take a note of that. Being on a hillside have an advantage - great views! We had a great view over the pool to the city and sea.
Aircon and safety deposit are included in the price. However breakfast is not but you can get it cheap when doing the booking. Ours was (2 aduls, 1 child) 6€/day. Well worth it! It was actually one of the best breakfasts I have had ever! Not by quantity but by quality. Cold stuff was is a cold cabinet and hot stuff in a hot cabinet. I have never seen this before!
Wifi was good enough and dl speeds was 8MB/s. I need to mention that this hotel has a 'normal' wifi. This means that you can use Chromecast in your room tv!
This was the first hotel in Greece where beds are not stone hard. They are very comfy and there is even a pillow menu. You can choose your pillow from +6 different options. This was great and we found perfect ones easilly. Room was in good and clean condition. The small kitchen didn't have anything with what to do the dishes. For us this was not a big deal since we only used couple of glasses.
Staff is very friendly and also the pool bar is very good. Prices are the same as in surrounding restaurants.
Poolarea is very nice for children. There is a big pool with 3 water features and it's not very deep. There are also a kid's pool and a jacuzzi. What was the most important: They didn't play any music by the pool! If they did it was very quiet and by the bar and it didn't bother at all. Thank you for that! There are enough sunbeds for everybody. Reserving them is not allowed but I'm not sure if that is monitored. Anyways we always found a good spot regarding the time.
All in all this was a very good experience and I can highly recommend this to all who are not afraid of stairs. Good job management and staff!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank petri100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonisVoltyrakis, Hotel Operations Manager at Asterias Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2019

Dear petri100,

Thank you so much for your excellent review on Tripadvisor.

Our Management and our Team are so happy to know that you appreciated our facilities and services during your stay at the Asterias Village Resort.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back!


With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2019

6 of us stayed here for the week commencing 8th July 2019.
We had rooms 51 & 53, which were quite close to the pool and reception. And just a short walk up the steps or hill to get to the top of the road which put you in the middle of Piskopiano and Koutiloufari.
Rooms were very clean, fairly good size, and the cleaners in most days with fresh towels and beds made up.
The staff were very friendly all round, reception, bar and waiters, couldnt do enough for us.
Pool was a decent size, and was nice and warm throughout the day.
We stayed B&B and have to admit the breakfast was decent quality. Plenty on offer to suit everyone.
The bar in the evening was a very pleasant place to enjoy a beer and sometimes had entertainment.
Be prepared the Island has random power cuts which can last from anywhere between half hour and 3/4 hours. Happened 3 times we were there. Not the hotels fault by any means, but something to bare in mind.
Temperatures were between 33-37 whilst there and we found eating out after 9pm was much cooler on the rooftop terraces in the villages.
A Big thank you to all the staff at Asterias Village for a wonderful stay in Crete.
We Will see you again one day. Take Care All.

Room tip: Rooms close to the pool or reception will enable easy access without the need to go up and down the hill or steps.
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank si237g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2019

We have just returned from an amazing stay at Asterias village, first time in Crete, and I would highly recommend it. Asterias is fab, rooms are spotless, cleaned every day with fresh towels etc if you wish, however they ask you to help with the environment and not refresh towels etc if not necessary(but no issues if you want them changed). We had a one bed apartment which was spacious in comparison to others I have stayed in. Kitchen has basics but we didnt use much as the tavernas are so amazing, it would be criminal not to eat out. There is a kids club runs through the day and Sissi is great with the children and really makes them feel welcome. There is some entertainment for guests on a Tuesday and a friday night but this is really small scale and finishes sharp at 11. The bar can be really quiet at nights, however it was lovely to just have a wee night cap after being out for dinner then go back to room and sit on the balcony. Breakfast had a nice choice and was good, the only one small thing I would suggest would be to extend the breakfast area as it was really busy and not enough seats for people, also people queuing and squeezing past each other etc, however the staff were always on hand to help and tried their best to accommodate everyone. This seemed to be worse nearer 10 o'clock, seemed quieter before then. The oliva restaurant attached to the hotel is really good value, you get 5 courses for €14.50 or €11 if you book 4 nights directly with the hotel, and the food was very good. The pool area is nice, on the first week there was no issue with getting sunbeds but on the second week people started reserving them, the hotel did come out and try to deal with this by putting notes on people's beds. Asterias is set in the mountains, if you come out and go left you are in koutoulafari and it is stunning with streets full of tavernas, shops and the most friendliest human beings. To the right takes you to Piskopiano which is similar maybe not quite as much, and keep walking about 10/15 mins takes you to old Hersonnisos, also stunning. A 15 minute walk down the hill takes you to Hersonnisos at the beach, it was nice but more commercialised, but lots to do down there. Never return to same place on holiday as I like to try different places but will definitely be back here.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
4  Thank Leeanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonisVoltyrakis, Hotel Operations Manager at Asterias Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2019

Dear lfaulds35,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripdvisor after your recent stay at the Asterias Village.

We appreciate your feedback and we are really happy that you highly recommend our Resort to other travelers.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back and offering your our best services!


With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2019

we had a wonderful holiday here, we arrived and plenty of sunbeds, no need to get up at 6am to reverse one, Firt day of arrival we were given the wrong room but got moved to our one bedroom apartment the next day which the staff moved our luggage. breakfast was plentiful with a good choice which we all enjoyed. we had 2 nights of entertainment through the week, but not much going on in the day, which i didnt mind., over all we had a very good holiday. WARNING:- NOT FOR THE INFIRMED, plenty of steps, you pay for air con also, I refused this, and tourist tax, they ask at end of holiday, make sure you have enough euros to cover, I did suggest this may be better if asked for when booking in a the beginning of the holiday. overall brill holiday and I would certainly go back,

Date of stay: July 2019
1  Thank soz1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2019

We are a family of four; our girls are 7 and 8 years old.

We arrived at around 11pm and after a quick and efficient check-in, we were shown to the restaurant for the first of what was to be many lovely meals in Oliva restaurant.

We opted for half-board, which entitled us to a buffet-style breakfast (plentiful, with something for everyone) and an evening meal. This could be swapped for lunch.
What we really liked was the fact that we could order from a menu. There was proper crockery and linen and you felt as though you’d actually been for a meal, rather than ‘feeding’.

The location is fab, with many beautiful little restaurants and bars within a stone’s throw. Greek night in Old Hersonnissos was wonderful and well worth doing.

The beachfront is approx. 15 mins away downhill and Star Beach is worth a visit if you have a young family. There is a little water park, which our children loved.

What really made our holiday was the staff. Particular shout-outs go to Maria, Ivanna and George in the restaurant, as well as the two day-shift Barmen (I forget their names) who were just brilliant.
We genuinely enjoyed spending time with you and we will certainly be back. Thank you!

Leila, Glen, Sophia and Farrah Simms xxx

Room tip: Our room was 31 and (although small) was half-way between the pool and the restaurant. Great views too!
Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
5  Thank lolita1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews