We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly people, pretty site.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asterias Village Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Asterias Village Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Koutouloufari
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly people, pretty site.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We usually go for higher star ratings for our holidays, especially in Greece, but were recommended to the Asterias by the travel agent as reviews are excellent. It is a very pretty site and the staff are helpful and friendly. Our one bedroomed apartment was fairly spacious and clean but quite dated, especially the shower room with a leaking toilet which only showed towards the end of our holiday so we didn't complain. Towels were thin and a bit tatty. Good job I had taken my own bath sheet. Lots of steps which the travel agent had not told us about. I managed but not easily. Good views towards the sea but not a place for beach lovers. Good free shuttle bus down towards the main town. Very good points were the lovely villages of Koutouloufari, Piskipiano and Old Hersonissos with typically Greek restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room midway between Reception and main road. Only approx 36 steps to manage mostly then!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maggierose47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    188
    28
    6
    4
See reviews for
146
268
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North West England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just returned from 10nts at the Asterias. We were greeted at reception with a welcome drink, which was a nice start. We had booked a 1-bed apt but were advised on arrival that the hotel was full and only a studio was available for the first night and we would change over on day 2. This was very disappointing but with no alternative we agreed an acceptable compensation for the inconvenience with the hotel.

The hotel staff were very friendly throughout our stay and special mention to Alex at the pool bar (really made our stay enjoyable) and Maria in the kitchen who worked tirelessly 7 days a week from breakfast until 6pm.

The 1-bed apartments were of a good standard for Greece. We had a kitchen area (had 2-hob cooker, kettle, but would have been helpful to have a toaster), 2 sofa beds in the lounge area, table & chairs. Bathroom with shower & bath tub & hairdryer. Bedroom with small double bed, TV & air-con unit (7 euros extra per day). Safe deposit box was also available at 2 euros per day. Balcony had partial pool & sea views. The rooms were cleaned & towels changed 6 days per week (cleaners don't work on Sunday).

Pool area was nice and of a good size, plenty of sunbeds and umbrella's to go around. Separate children's pool & play area. The hotel is set on a sloping cliff side so the pool area has great views of the island, sea & Hersonnisos bay. Pool bar also has pool table & air hockey. You can rent pool towels for 1 euro, plus a refundable 20 euro deposit.

The slight downside of the hotel being set on a cliff side for certain travellers is that on one side of the hotel there is either a steep 86 step climb down from road to pool or a fairly steep slope and less steep steps on the other side. Neither would be ideal if you have walking difficulties.

Breakfast is served 7:30-10am. Its fairly basic but good, and includes the usual juices, cereals, tea, coffee, fruit, cheese & meat, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, beans & mushrooms, toast. Sometimes french toast, sometimes pancakes. We often had lunch at the pool bar and it was probably the best lunch fayre & value for money we had in the village. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant, Olivia, so cannot comment.

The hotel is in an excellent location and you step out onto the quiet road between the lovely traditional villages of Piskopiano and Koutouloufari where there are plenty of very good restaurants/taverna's to choose from. They remain unspoilt and without an english or irish bar in site! The main town of Hersonissos is only a 20min walk downhill and is alot more commercialised and touristy. (Its 7 euros back in a taxi if you don't fancy the uphill walk!). Old Hersonissos town is also about 15/20mins walk if you turn right from the hotel and is another lovely little traditional village and is a must visit on a Monday night when they have greek night with dancing and plate smashing, great fun.

Restaurants to recommend in Koutouloufari:

The Alchemist - must visit, run by 2 brothers with mum in the kitchen, beautiful food and very friendly service.

Rahati - Dutch patisserie serving breakfast to evening meals and a homemade cake or 2 inbetween!

Patriko - Lovely traditional setting with Maria greeting you at the entrance, she was very friendly every day and never once mithered us to eat there.

Esperos - Must visit, again beautiful food, extensive menu and very friendly welcoming staff.

Ariadni - Tables on the upstairs terrace, man making fresh pizza dough and probably the best starters we had anywhere

Cafe Greco - lovely setting to stop for a drink/coffee

Vinny’s Bar - great atmosphere, trendy bar to have a drink/cocktail

Restaurants to recommend in Piskopiano:

Gevsi - small but traditional, run by family, very friendly and very good food.

Overall we would definitely recommend this hotel for his good standard of accommodation, very friendly staff and excellent location. The nearby villages are full of excellent restaurants and the local people are so very friendly. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank C_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

You open the door and the window and you get a midsummer breeze that saves you 7 euro per day - cost of the a/c.
Spent a weekend there at a great discount in August 2013. The staff is wonderful, attentive and friendly. Lovely.
Breakfast is really good, not fancy. but good. They do charge extra for the mediocre espresso (why pay, why mediocre?) but all else is good.
Not easy for some folks, it is on a steep slope. nice pool, though. They even had a singer perform one evening.
Bonus: 5 minutes walk from David Veggera - a restaurant to remember. Quick service, fresh food, always packed (bring abook while u wait). 7 euro at most for lamb in wine sauce, 3 euro for delicious dolmas or rice-stuffed zukkini flowers. Huke plates. 6 euro for 24 (!) fresh sardines.
Nive shops nearby, ideal for economy vacation.
So peaceful, I was able to almost finish writing a book..
Question: COuld you please legislate hotel TVs will not be less than 37"?
Other than that - look for spanacopita, greek for spinach pie.
Amnonymous970
Israel

Room Tip: ask to see a few before selecting. Open doors and windows brfore deciding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amnon M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel is a typically Greek offering with fantastic staff who would do anything for you and give you a big smile to go with it. We arrived at Asterias Village late in the evening to the sight of a lot of stairs (you have probably seen the photos), with our luggage it looked a huge task. However we were soon told not to worry and leave our cases at the top they will be shipped down to us in a few minutes. Sure enough we headed downstairs to check in, which was done very efficiently with an obligatory Greek smile, and our cases were ready and waiting for us as if by magic!

We stayed half board in a maisonette and as such got tickets for breakfast and dinner which we exchanged each day at the pool bar for breakfast and the restaurant for dinner. Breakfast was the usual suspects, in my opinion was ok the food was nice but not much variety, however dinner is a totally different story. Dinner is in the Oliva restaurant which is open to the public as well as guests which gives it more of a feel that you are going out to eat which I really enjoyed, instead of the usual buffet style restaurants. We were provided with a four course menu with plenty of choice and for your voucher you could choose a starter, salad, main course and dessert with Greek cuisine, chicken and fish dishes on the menu there really is something for everyone. I would recommend the Gyros! Koutouloufari has lots of lovely tavernas and bars you can sample if you are going self catering or B&B, as we did eat out a few times also.

Our room was traditional Greek simplicity with whitewashed walls and wooden furniture, as the hotel offers self catering, etc each room has a kettle, fridge, hot plate, and cutlery which came in handy for drinks and snacks. The only thing that lets the rooms down is the bathroom which is tiny and I prone to flooding sometimes, and the lack of a full length mirror (which I find is always an afterthought in hotels).

All in all it is a great hotel and I wouldn't hesitate in coming back again, however I would do self catering next time as there are so many gorgeous little restaurants to try it is a shame not to. If you are looking to stay here I don't think you can go far wrong, all the staff are like your best friends and the hotel is very clean and well looked after. Just don't let the stairs put you off they are a pain but nothing a beer at the bar at the top wont cure!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winniethepoohtigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Waltham
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Any negatives that I have picked up in previous reviews are really down to that persons own incompetence in researching the place they are visiting, or factors beyond the Villages influence.
Upon the recommendation of a previous reviewer, we upgraded to an apartment from a studio (extra £30 on the holiday cost, Jet2.com), this gave larger accommodation and better balcony area, often with sea views. Been abandoned at “The Well” by the package holiday appointed shuttle in NO fault of the village either – it’s only a very short walk from there to the village, so didn’t really take issue with that either.
Koutouloufari is an excellent, authentic village up in the hills with cobbled streets and an excellent choice of Tavernas, we ate out every night and NEVER had a bad meal – you really can choose according to your budget – expect average of 40 euro, two people, two courses, two beers and half litre of wine. Cheapest was 29 euro, dearest 63 euro, each worth it in their own right. The greatest plus been that there are NO theme bars or “English/Irish Pubs” – so pretty cosmopolitan and relaxed.
Anyway, back to Asterias Village, can’t fault it! Again, previous research showed that indeed, all you get is a kettle and double electric stove plus fridge. With the intention of eating lightly and then dining out each evening, didn’t really see anything else been necessary? Brilliant the way that the complex is laid out in a village style, complementing the locality very well. The Asterias Village is kept very clean and the staff are all very friendly, competent and efficient, a real asset to the place. Pool area was great and we weren’t forced to listen to hotel entertainers throughout the day, as there are none – peace and relaxation is the real deal here. Infirm travellers may want to enquire about higher up rooms, as there are quite a lot of steps?
All in all, if you want peace, relaxation, great Tavernas, great old buildings within the original core of Koutouloufari and an ideal base from which to do so, then pick Asterias – or just mope in your room with a load of groceries, figuring out how to cook em 

Room Tip: upgrade to a one bedroom apartement
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stevina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We came for a holiday here, we were very pleased with our choice.
We had a lovely big room at the top which was ideal for us as we didn't have to walk up all those steps, every time we went out, the only time we used the steps was going down to breakfast or if we wanted a swim
The breakfasts were lovely with so much choice, either hot or cold what ever you had was very nice.
We went to the Greek night in the adjoining restaurant, which was a lovely night, we had a nice meal, but the red wine wasn't so nice, we had had better house wine in other restaurants.we enjoyed our night the only fault I can say about the night is the dancers were pulling you up to dance when you were still eating, which wasn't so good.
The swimming pool was lovely, you did have to get down early though for a sun bed, one fault about the pool was it was very slippery as you entered the pool their was railings to hold and there was a notice but I still saw people slipping, so maybe they should do something about that.
This was one of the nicest places we have ever stayed in Greece, the staff were very good, they kept the hotel very clean.
I would come and stay here again, but take earplugs as you could here cockerels,not good early hours of the morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sidami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We arrived on 14th September at 23:30 and arrived to be welcomed in a warm manner by frosse (lovely waitress). We went to check in and whilst this happened our luggage was brought down by staff from reception and that was a sigh of relief seen as there's a mass of steps to come down (hard work at times, and the uphill walk to the top is much better to manage). We was then asked to go to oliva restaurant as they was expecting us and provided a welcome meal!

We woke up to a beautiful view as we was given a studio apartment above reception, wasn't disappointed either! Rooms are a tad basic but you can expect it, it's a very typical Greek hotel in that aspect, mattresses are hard but you get used to them, if you can't then reception will provide a topper (if they've got some available), satellite tv was more catered for German and Dutch folk! No toaster but then again not needed as we was on half board basis!

Breakfast had a decent amount of selection! I.e. Cereals,croissants,toast and fruits to a cooked breakfast (not an English breakfast in my eyes) as sausage was smoked mini hotdogs and bacon wasn't what I call bacon!! (But typical) scrambled egg is awesome though! And breakfast doesn't stay hot for long though so eat it quick!

Big selection of beverages for breakfast too........

Lunchtime menu is pretty good value for money and I did tend to enjoy the baguettes and a large beer lol......as you do!

Around the pool is relaxing, good mixture of folk that were pleasant towards me and my fiancé, I found putting towels down for sun beds were a reasonable time of 8-9 am and then on to breakfast!

The pool is ace but disappointed jacuzzi wasn't in working order.......

The set four course menu was okay I suppose meaning its repetitive but I wasn't pleased with one or two meals my fiancé received and no apology was received for one of them. But that's all il say as they were very good up there as I guess that night they struggled as a chef wasn't there and frosse cooked so fair play........

Plenty of tavernas to go to and sample, I mean one after the other!

Now what makes this hotel is the staff.......... My praise would have to go to Alex (pool barman) he's a big character and I for one found him to be gem and made me smile......top top guy!........

Frosse and sophe are great waitresses and will do anything to make your night(s) rememberable........now I am not able to name the fella that was the host at the front, he was a very good host and was on level par with Alex and I regret that I can't remember his name.........

All in all I loved it and I would definitely comeback but on B&B basis!

Room Tip: Above reception gives a great view from balcony and the free wifi is pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jkirby85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koutouloufari
0.5 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#5 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
1.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 177 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,554 reviews
5.2 mi away
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asterias Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asterias Village Resort

Property: Asterias Village Resort
Address: 59 Evropis, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Koutouloufari
#5 Romantic Hotel in Koutouloufari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Asterias Village Resort 1*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asterias Village Resort is located on a prime crossroad of the Hersonissos, Piskopiano and Koutouloufari settlements, offering a unique panoramic view of Hersonissos and the Cretan Sea. That location gives one the opportunity to choose between the dynamic modern developments of the cosmopolitan settlement of Hersonissos, and the traditional culture and architecture of the two beautiful old villages: Koutouloufari and Piskopiano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Asterias Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterias Village Hotel Chersonisos
Asterias Village Resort Koutouloufari, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing