We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like Crete you will love this resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Asterias Village Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Koutouloufari
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you like Crete you will love this resort”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Back again for the second time this year, we have stayed all over Crete and Chersonisos the most this is our 7th time what can I say negative about this place NOTHING !! I have three grown up children youngest 29 next year we all go, I want them to experience what we have, fantastic staff fantastic food fantastic accommodation what more can you ask, BOOK NOW best holiday I've had in years

Room Tip: All rooms excellent, not so good at the top if your elderly
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JayJay2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    192
    28
    6
    4
See reviews for
149
276
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed in the village in mid-October for 1 week. This was a very last minute break to soak up some rays of sun to ready ourselves for winter - as well as to relax and chill for a week.

As we arrived on a very early flight, we didn't expect to be given a room - and had been warned by our holiday rep. Alas, we arrived at the entrance, and are bags were taken and we were asked to report to reception. We were then shown to our rooms, and the luggage came afterwards. We were by the pool at 10.30 am.

The approach to the village is on street level and there are many steps to walk down to get to the pool and reception area. Furthermore, our room was at the bottom of some further steps. So with people who have walk difficulty or those with prams, this may cause an issue. There are no elevators in the village. There is an access road down the side - which is very steep but has steps - and which you can use to park your car in car park below.

The room was cleaned daily - except Sundays - with clean towels. Although the beds were hard as bricks, we had nothing to fault in the rooms. Very spacious and roomy for 2 people - can't imagine a family in there though. We paid for air condition at 7 euros a day only because there was a heatwave during the time we were there in October (read 35 degrees). We found that we couldn't open the windows - not for the mosquitos (there seemed to be plenty) but for the fact there was many stray cats on the property - which other guests seem to be feeding and which encouraged them to come back for more.

The day we arrived, we notice a cat loitering near our room. As neither my husband and I are cat lovers, we tried to forget about it. After a day spent around the pool, we left our beach towels to air on the chairs on the terrace. We came back after dinner that evening, and saw that a cat had made itself very comfy on my towel. The cat ran away - so we thought - after we booed it away. We went back into our room and left the towels on the sofa. As the room was quite hot, we opened the front window to get some air in.

Just getting ready for bed, and a set of eyes were looking at me. Indeed the cat had climbed through the window and was laying on the towels. We had to close the windows and sleep in a very stuffy room all night - sleep not!! it was too warm! We reported the incident to the staff, and they kindly offered to clean our towels. We did have to hire some towels for the next day and this came with a 15 euro cost each - a deposit. On returning the towels, we received 28 euros back. For 2 euros for a week's use of large beach towels we didn't complain.

We never ate in the restaurant, nor took breakfast in the Village. We used the pool bar during the day and the guy was always very friendly and chatty. The pool toilets and showers were also very clean.

The pool area was one of the most relaxing I have been too. Lots of beds - nicely spaced out, large terrace, nice pool. As the village is situated out of Chersonisos - which totally pleased us. We only visited this place once and I said I would never go back there as it is quite a nasty, tacky seaside resort. Have stayed in Rethymnon previously - there is a sharp contrast between these places. When booking this village, we were both very sceptical both about staying in an apartment as well as staying away from a main town. To be honest, we loved it!! We would most definitely choose this type of holiday again. We found it very relaxing. Just perfect for our needs.

We ate out every night in the surrounding villages - never once venturing into town. We only went to town to pick up the bus once to take us to Iraklion - but after that we hired a car for the duration of the week. The villages are for tourists and do close out of season - so rely fully on tourists coming to eat here and buy in the shops. As we visited in mid October, the villages were not fully occupied, and you could tell that some of the places were just ready to close for the winter. It seemed sad in a way but we tried to visit the most busiest places each evening. The staff were always very appreciative of your custom and would always say hello to you when you saw them the next night.

Another warning! Being a jogger, I ventured out a few times as running in the hills, in the clean air, in the morning was just fantastic and great running experience......until you come across some stray and quite wild dogs. There seems to many just walking around, looking for food, or viciously barking at you - in some cases, I saw dogs literally trying to attack people. This quite scared me - so I decided no more running as the dog situation was quite stressing. Furthermore, there are lots of stray cats - not only in the Village Resort, but also running around the villages. They are all stray, looking for food, or to be fed by customers at the restaurant. They are quite annoying at times - especially if you're having dinner at there are cats dancing under your feet. Cat Haters! Watch out!

Overall the Village Resort was very enjoyable. We felt fully relaxed and so sorry to leave after our week. We much preferred this one week here to that of 12 days spent in a 4 star hotel that we had stayed in during our summer holiday.

Highly recommend this place - cats and access issues aside! We would return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LizzzzyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithville, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just got back to TX-were there Oct 3-17-2012-great place-the several flights of stairs helped my arthritis!-staff were great-Alex-Sophia-Frosso?-Victor as was food at the Oliva Restaurant-helped with Greek food choices-even had recipes and some great sweet wine from Santorini-open @ 8 so we could get on with our day-rented a car @ airport and covered the Island from one end to the other-drove like the Greeks! Want to go back-like the little village-relaxed pace-away from the beach crowd. Would suggest you bring-bar of soap-shampoo/conditioner. One suggestion for the resort would be to have some sort of mosquito screen so could leave the porch door and a window open for the sea breeze at night-otherwise AC is 7E/day. We had a kitchenette and local German grocery story was down on the beach road. Weather was wonderful!

Room Tip: We were in an apartment for two. Bed was hard/firm but after a day of walking-being in the open air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TxKittie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterlee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed at the village last week in sept. all the staff are brill. happy and friendly and will go out of there way to help you.when we arrived as 2 families (5 adults) we where asked if we would share a suite with its own pool and patio area well what with the marvelous weather and the fantastic views it was a no brainer,the main pool area is very clean and kept that way ,no rush for beds in the morning,the only downer is to be careful entering the pool by the shallow end slope as it is quite slippy, both the pool bar staff and the Oliva restuarant staff are excellent special mention must go to Frosso (told you i would get it right), the holiday once we arrived was one of the best we have had thanks to the reception staff and all concerned at the village, i cant really say anything bad about the place except there are quite a few steep steps from the pool area upto the main road ok for us but if you have walking diffilculties could be a nuisance. The position of the village is spot on between 2 lovely villages with numerous great restaraunts in fact to many to count, did not have a bad meal all week and we went somewhere different everyday would deffinately go back, Now the downer when we arrived at Crete we found that 2 of our cases where missing, the Olympic rep. at the airport advised that they would be forwarded onto to the apartments on arrival, but later we found that both Olympic and Jet2 had policies that did not do this, we had booked with Olympic and we thought that they should have sorted this out but in the end with the help of the reception staff and cooperation of the swissair people at the airport we had to pay for a taxi to pick the cases up, I think this is very unprofesional of both Olympic and Jet2 and if possible will not be using either again, but once again thanks to the staff at the Asterias village the day was saved, said it once and will say it again would not think twice about going back.

Room Tip: If you can get it the suite is Brill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Asterias for a week in Sept 2012. Although at this time of year the weather is usually starting to cool down, there was no sign of cooler weather. A blue and almost cloudless sky for the majority of the week. it was our 6th stay in Koutouloufari, such is our love for the village.

The Asterias is a nice complex. There is a decent size pool, with more than enough sunbeds to go round, and a pool bar which was not too loud. There is also a 24hour reception, which we found to be helpful when needed.

Upon arrival we were handed our room key and set off to the room. We had been given a 1 bed appartment, despite having booked a maisonette. A trip back down to reception to ask why revealed that all the maisonettes were taken, and that we could have 1 in a couple of days. We were then told that the appartments were better. Having not seen a maisonette I cannot comment, but the appratment was certainly ok, with a bedroom, lounge / 2nd bedroom / kitchenette (usual Greek self catering standard), bathroom, and balcony. Our balcony was around the size of the bedroom, so plenty of room, and sunshine for most of the day. We also had a view towards the harbour at Hersonisos.

The only thing we found that let the hotel down was the commission they took to exchange Euro travellers cheques. Their rate was 7%, which we thought was way too high. The solution was to go to one of the other hotels and changed money there, for which they charged an acceptable 2%.

We ate at out at some of the areas many restaurants each night, as well as a couple of daytime meals. Those that stand out include: Mezes is always a treat, amazing hosts and food, and we went there twice; Nikos (the fisherman's taverna) was absolutely delicious; David Vegara is well worth a visit - although you may have to wait a while to get a table, the food is real home cooked greek fare; and Ellinikos (just down from the hotel) was a great lunchtime treat. The only average meal we had was at Kostas in Piskoiano. We found the food a bland, and the greek salad ruined by being drowned in vinegar. The also had the most awful house wine drank all week.

Overall the Asterias is a nice complex, in a good location, and relatively quiet. The amount of steps to the accommodation would not be suitable for those with walking difficulties, but the views from its hillside location are fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, and not to be directly under the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarkGTFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here the last week in September, it was picked because of the positive reviews and we were not disappointed. We were welcomed by friendly reception staff. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment with lovely views over the sea. The best thing of all were the lovely and charming staff - the bar staff were brilliant Andre what a personality and sense of humour he was priceless! - Alex what a charmer and can he dance!!! he worked tirelessly always with a smile. We stayed half board, lovely breakfast served by the pool and evening meal served in the Oliva Restaurant the food was lovely, great service even when busy, Frosa and Sophia were excellent. The pool area was lovely, with beds always available. The local villages were lovely with lots of traditional greek tavernas, and small shops. We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jackie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our visit was in mid September 2012
Its hillside location ensures great views from balcony, pool and restaurant but the steps down to reception and the pool area are not for the faint-hearted !! Reception is open 24/7 and staff are helpful and friendly.
Our one bed apartment was very clean but a bit basic. There was adequate hanging space for clothes but only 4 small drawers which meant some clothes being left in suitcases. A sofa or easy chairs in the lounge instead of the spare single bed would improve seating comfort and if intending to self cater be aware that there is only a small 2-ring electric hob - no oven, microwave or even toaster.
Our balcony was south facing which meant almost constant sun and great views over both pool and sea. Air conditioning was a must and is a chargeable extra (7 euros a day). Wifi was effective and free.
Despite lack of cooking facilities don’t be tempted to book B&B or half board. The hotel’s Oliva restaurant is very good but so are many others within a few minutes walk and it was good to have the choice. There are many traditional restaurants offering good value meals, an excellent Chinese and - for a special dining experience - don’t miss the Galini restaurant.
The main town is 15 minutes walk and the choice of restaurants, shops and other facilities was surprisingly large. The journey back is uphill all the way so use the complimentary hotel minibus or taxi at 7 euros.
A good value hotel and a few simple upgrades to the apartment would make this a really great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank G and J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koutouloufari
0.5 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#4 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
1.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,663 reviews
5.2 mi away
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
#8 of 37 in Kato Gouves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asterias Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asterias Village Resort

Property: Asterias Village Resort
Address: 59 Evropis, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Koutouloufari
#5 Romantic Hotel in Koutouloufari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Asterias Village Resort 1*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asterias Village Resort is located on a prime crossroad of the Hersonissos, Piskopiano and Koutouloufari settlements, offering a unique panoramic view of Hersonissos and the Cretan Sea. That location gives one the opportunity to choose between the dynamic modern developments of the cosmopolitan settlement of Hersonissos, and the traditional culture and architecture of the two beautiful old villages: Koutouloufari and Piskopiano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Asterias Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterias Village Hotel Chersonisos
Asterias Village Resort Koutouloufari, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing