We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING VIEW IN PEACEFUL SETTING”
Review of Creta Blue Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Creta Blue Suites
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Koutouloufari
Certificate of Excellence
BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING VIEW IN PEACEFUL SETTING”
Reviewed May 12, 2010

A friend & I stayed at Creta Blue after coming off a guided tour of Turkey. It was an ideallic place to regroup and enjoy a more relaxed pace. The sounds of birdsong and the tinkling bells of the local goats were soothing and calming. George, our greeter and host, was very accommodating and helpful with suggestions and directions (we had a rental car). Some evenings we ate at the restaurant. The food was excellent. The owners of the hotel were friendly and interested about their guests - gracious hosts.
The hotel was very clean, roomy but intimate. The grounds and pool were beautiful. All the staff were friendly and very helpful.
I would recommend Creta Blue for friends, for couples and honeymooners and for anyone else who wished to trade the noise, smells and people of the cities for calmness and peace within a friendly place.
I wish to return to this place with my husband at a time when Eleni will be holding her cooking class - perhaps October . . .

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BcBam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    96
    22
    14
    3
See reviews for
108
345
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Hotel: spotless, extremely friendly and helpful staff, good rooms with kitchenette and ocean views; in general a feeling of well-being and relaxation. Location: close enough to the sea, far enough away from the hectic tourist area; in the adorable town of Koutouloufari. Restaurant: excellent food prepared by the owner, reasonable prices, good portions. Grounds: well groomed public areas, extra clean infinity pool, enough lounging areas. We needed a break from the rat race and we found it here. We will be back for sure !

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zimtstern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2009

very peacefull, great view, no partypeople and very nice owners

Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SandraG5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Reviews on TripAdvisor sold Creta Blue to me. I was an inch away from booking an all-inclusive at a 4-5 star resort but reviewers comments about this family run hotel changed my mind. It was one of the best decisions I have made.

We went at the end of October, just one week before the tourist season ended. The hotel of 28 rooms/suites was not full - probably about half full. The weather was warm, mid to high 20s. Apparently, it was not so good the week before we arrived, and rain was predicted for the week after our stay! Needless to say, the hotel was not so busy and good weather - both contributed a large part to our enjoyment of our holiday.

We were met at the airport by a taxi arranged by George. It is a good idea to take a taxi as Creta Blue is not easy to find, unless you know where it is. The cost was 35 euro for about a half hour journey. We were driven through the 3 traditional villages near Creta Blue. Apparently George (one of the owners) tells the taxi driver to take new visitors through the villages so they can see what's available nearby. We found this very useful and visited the 3 villages Piskopiano, Koutouloufari and Hersonissos Village several times, for entertainment and meals. On our arrival, we were greeted by George who showed us to our room. As we have two young boys, he had arranged for a room on the ground floor, facing the pool, so we could, if we wish, allow our boys to swim in the pool and yet be able to keep a watch on them from our little patio area. A little bit of thoughtfulness which we really appreciated.

Breakfast was basic as described by other reviewers but we were served so warmly by the staff that to complain would be churlish. The bread was always fresh and delicious. Breakfast was served from 9-11am. We would sometimes hear a lovely tinkling sound up the mountain, and if you looked carefully, you would see a herd of goats making their way up the mountains, their bells tinkling merrily away. I can't say if this happens every mornings, as sometimes we did sleep in, but for our week long stay, we did manage to see the goats about 3-4 mornings. It is really lovely - eating our breakfast in the sunshine and hearing the goats' bells tinkling away.

We had a few lunches and dinner cooked by Eleni. They were always lovely and delicious. As others have already reviewed Eleni's cooking, I won't do so here. We also tried out the other options available in the nearby villages. I would NOT recommend 'The View' at Koutouloufari. The food was very average and poor value. We had a fun time at a Galini, Koutouloufari (www.galini-restaurant.gr). We also enjoyed a couple of dinners Petros, a blue-white tavern opposite a light shop. On our last day, we found a very nice taverna in Hersonissos Village, the largest one on the village square.

The hotel itself was comfortable enough. We had an Executive suite which comes with a double bed and additional sleeping area in the lounge. Towels were provided but no toiletries. There was a TV, hairdryer and small kitchenette with a fridge, kettle and toaster. Our beds were made everyday - I never really checked how frequently the sheets were changed. I have slept in better rooms, I have slept in worse. It's all about expectations. I knew this was not a 4-star hotel as we know it in the UK i.e. no reception, staff on standby to answer queries, only one pool, no entertainment centre, etc. I expected a small family run hotel with a good eating facility, a pool, great views and a warm welcome. I got there, and more besides.

This is a place for those who want a quieter form of holiday; away from the tourist-y places yet not too far should you wish for a bit more liveliness. We found it ideal for us and had a lovely relaxed holiday. It is hilly so will not be suitable for those who have mibility problems. George and his parents are very warm and very helpful. I am not sure about 'partiality' shown to other guests. We never observed any such partiality - what we did see was that they have many guests who have become friends and who make repeated visits to Creta Blue. In turn, we found these guests themselves to be very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OnlyPassingThru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2009

This hotel had so much charm. The food in the restaurant was excellent, cooked by the owner herself.
The only thing I would complain about is that it is very hard to find. We drove around for quite a while until we actually found it. If you do have a rental car be very carefull driving up the winding roads to get to it...go slow as it only allows for one car at a time to go by.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bdunlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2009

We had a great week at Creta Blue. We were somewhat concerned when the taxi driver from the airport had no idea where he was going - but when we arrived it was to a very warm welcome from George.

The accomodation was very clean, and as previosuly mentioned the cleaners worked hard to make sure the place was spotless every day. Something that I have not experienced in Greece previously. There was plenty of room in the suite, and we understand from George they will be getting a makeover for the new season - although they were already of a good standard. The view over the sea was a great pleasure each morning - especially as the weather was clear and sunny for the whole week - in October what more could you want.

The walk to some of the suites is steep - but good exercise after a big dinner.

I can only say that the pool was refreshingly cold and very very clean, no evidence of 'filthy' sun beds as previously mentioned.

The part of Creta Blue that makes it stand out, is George and his familys attention to their guests. Whilst they are attentive, they are never intrusive - any request is dealt with
without question including requests for taxis and car hire arrangments and luch at 3.30pm!

Eleni is a wizz in the kitchen. The pasta dishes are some of the best I have ever experienced anywhere and the Greek dishes are fresh and cooked to order ( ask for advice on how big the starters are though - as some are huge!). The breakfast is adequate, we felt that a better choice would satisfy more guests. Whilst the breakfast was always fresh, and the service prompt and friendly, it was a bit predictable come the end of the week.

Overall Creta Blue is made special by a quiet atmosphere, fantastic views of the sea, and topped by friendly service by a family and staff who want to make their guests holiday an enjoyable one.

Well done!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bally99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

We booked this for our 25Th wedding aniversary we wanted somehing special and we fell for the marketing hype.Creta Blues setting is wonderful but we don think it warrant s 4 Stars.They pool had lilos in it which riuned the whole infinity idea.the paths needed weeding.sun beds were never washed and looked fillthy.We where booked in for breafast which was very disappointing eggs.1 slice of processed cheese & ham juice from a carton every morning.We have stayed in 3 star accomadition which has offered
better Breakfast.Food & Drink at the bar was expensive.The Creata Blue has great potential to become a 4 star .Over priced for what was on offer.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgiosCrete, Owner/Manager at Creta Blue Suites, responded to this review, October 5, 2009
Dear Valuable Guest,
First of all i would like to apologize for not having the holiday that you were exepecting and furthermore that we have not prepared a celebration for your 25th Aniversary (as we always arrange a free private party for our guests) because we were not aware(nothing mentioned on your booking)!!
I would also like to take this opportunity to inform all our guests that our pool is taken care by a proffesional and is always kept clean (weather permitted) as it is cleaned twice a day were in other hotels once.
Also the breakfast that we serve is a continental breakfast. A typical continental breakfast consists of "a breadstuff (such as toast, croissants, pastries) and coffee, tea, or other liquid." However we at Creta Blue Suites have decided to enrich it with a choice of eggs,yoghurt with honey, and fresh fruits for no extra charge for every guest!!! All our products are fresh and of a first quality and the drinks served in the bar charged as much as in the village ( i wonder were the guest found it cheaper and what quality of drink they had). We have been awarded officialy by the Greek National Tourism organization with a four star rating and we offer things that other four stars do not offer. Our service is of high quality, the staff and the family who owns the hotel works around the clock and we are always there day and night to make our guests feel happy, comfortable and most important to feel what Greek Filoxenia (hospitality) really means.We at the Creta Blue Suites do not treat our guests as numbers!
Thank you for your time and attention and if there is anything that i can do for you my email is at your disposal.
I wish you all the best and a happy and healthy winter.
Kind Regards,
Georgios Roussakis
Hotel Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koutouloufari
0.4 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#5 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,751 reviews
2.4 mi away
Village Heights Golf Resort
Village Heights Golf Resort
#3 of 171 in Hersonissos
676 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palmera Beach Hotel
Palmera Beach Hotel
#8 of 171 in Hersonissos
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creta Blue Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creta Blue Suites

Property: Creta Blue Suites
Address: Ipsilantou St, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Koutouloufari
#3 Family Hotel in Koutouloufari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Creta Blue Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If anything truly defines Creta Blue Suites, it is the value we attach to lasting memories. Building upon our experience as travellers for many years and as hoteliers for the last 8 years, has endowed us with a rich tradition of hospitality. We offer experiences that are authentically local and we see people who visit us as guests that are walking into our home. Genuine hospitality is achieved when engaging service and personal attention to detail to elevate each stay into a cherished memory. The little nuances in the quality of service unmistakably measure the intelligence of the hotelier and truthfully state the value of his spirituality. Because serving is, above all, loving, and one thing we are proud for ourselves is that we DO love serving our guests.We have always been ready to listen to our guests, anticipating their needs and interpreting their desires. Your stay at our hotel is our opportunity to show you Crete the way our island should be experienced - through the eyes of a local family.Welcome to Crete ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Creta Blue Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creta Blue Hotel Koutouloufari
Hotel Creta Blue
Creta Blue Suites Koutouloufari, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing