We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“attractive apartments, delicious food, unique atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Creta Blue Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Creta Blue Suites
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Koutouloufari
Certificate of Excellence
cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“attractive apartments, delicious food, unique atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2009

We spent a very happy & relaxed 2 weeks at Creta Blue, being well looked after and feeling thoroughly spoiled. These attractive and tastseful cluster of low rise apartments are situated up a hillside, set around a lovely infinity pool with far reaching views out to sea and an easy 2 minute walk away from the village of Koutouloufari. Creta Blue is run by a lovely Greek family who immediately welcome you into their hotel/apartments & who work very hard to provide everything you need for the perfect holiday. The genuine warmth of their hospitality & the welcoming atmosphere at Creta Blue is exceptional and what makes this hotel unique & sets it apart. We have never before experienced such an 'inclusive' atmospehere & such personal service. There is a small restaurant set around the pool which serves delicious food (the best we had on the island) all day. By day it 's a relaxed pool bar, by night it 's transformed into a romantic, candelit, intimate restaurant serving excellent home made, traditional food, all cooked by Eleni the owner. Having such a lovely restaurant on site was a real bonus for us with small children as we didn't have far to wander when they wanted to go to bed. A definite asset to the apartments & we ate here alot. We stayed in an 'executive suite' which consisted of a large sitting room (sofabed for child, plus travel cot - plenty of room) with a small basic kitchenette and bedroom with balcony & wonderful sea views. Only slight comment would be the bathroom which was tiny (1 person only at a time) with hand held shower over bath but soon got used to this & really wasn't a problem. Beds huge & very comfortable. Air con in main bedroom plus TV with local channels (no DVD player.) All attractively & tastefully decorated & furnished. You can easily stroll into the lively village from the apartments which has a large selection of restaurants, tavernas, bars, shops, boutiques & supermarkets to suit all tastes. We would thoroughly recommend Creta Blue Suites, especially to families, couples or small groups of friends. As the aparments are set up a very steep hillside I won't recommend the accommodation to those with mobility issues. Creta Blue is a very special place, where everyone works very hard as part of a happy team to make sure guests feel relaxed and looked after - with this they succeed very well. Would love to return!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LHcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    92
    22
    14
    3
See reviews for
104
329
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

Looked at the website and thought it looked idellic. Bit dissapointed when we got there, the rooms (suites??) are not what you expect, much smaller and less grand than they look on the website. Its basically a bunch of self catering appartments on the side of a big hill, without the self catering amenaties! (Nowhere to cook etc).Just rooms. the pool is much less spectacular than on the website and to be honest ,it is just way over hyped. The greek family there are SPOT ON, george especially, but I would have expected this standard of holiday , for half the price. Food is expensive around the pool, it soon mounts up when every time your hungry you have to pay hotel prices. The local village is very nice and only a 10 min walk. The local standard of food is very good. But be prepared to be harrassed by the local restaurant owners.The main town is a taxi ride costing 6-7 euros each way. I was sold this holiday on the basis of 4-5 star by, Last minute .com, for my honeymoon! 4 Star where? Although nice, this is certainly not 4 star english style.I would say 3, at a very big push! To be honest this is not the greek experience I had hoped for. I found this part of Crete to be quite faceless and charmless to be honest. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dogster007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

Have just returned with our 17 year old daughter from a wonderfully relaxing 10 days at the Creta Blue, superbly run by the family George, Eleni and Vangelis (plus hardworking support staff).

Having read favourable reviews on TA, my decision to go was finalised when I received prompt and helpful emails (and Skype calls at my request) from George. We went for the Grand Suite which has a nice double room and separate self-contained lounge area (allowing privacy for my teenage daughter) a small balcony with great sea views and excellent decor. The hotel is set in the mountain side so it is a bit of an uphill trek to some rooms but the views make up for that. Eleni does the cooking at the CB, and she has a well-deserved reputation for high-quality, classic Greek dishes. We had breakfast there everyday (incl in our booking) which was lovely continental with choice of eggs and occasional treats of doughnuts for younger kids and Greek Yoghurt with honey. Breakfast is served in the outside bar/restaurant so during summer makes for a great sunny start to the day.

The nearest village 5-6 mins walk away is Koutouloufari - a collection of small shops, taverns and restaurants which although border on the touristy in look, serve well-priced authentic dishes. Down the steep hillside from Koutouloufari, you find Hersonissos, which caters for the younger set who want beach bars and nightlife.

All in all, CBS is a great getaway from it all place and we would love to go back if we have the chance (in fact, many of the guests there were returners..a good sign !)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2009

10 day visit to Creta Blue was great and we left feeling so relaxed. George and his family were lovely and very helpful. Elena's cooking in the kitchen was so tasty - I recommend the Stifado!

The hotel is set back form the main street in a lovely village so you have peace and quiet away from the main strip. A short walk into the village offers several good tavernas and bars for a drink. For those who are a bit more active it is a nice run from the hotel down to the end of the port. It is about 20 minutes and then a dip in the sea or pool is very refreshing.

We had a car for the duration of the holiday and it was really useful. Spar in the town was the best place to pick up supplies. Trying to find tonic anywhere else for the G & T's was impossible. George can give you hints and tips of nice places to visit and a very useful map.

Back to the hotel the pool area is lovely and the guests were very considerate of each other with noise levels, particularly if they have children. Saturday night is BBQ night and make sure you do not miss out. George and Vangelis do their hunter gatherer bit and provide the meat from the BBQ whilst Elena cooks her moussaka and that is again amazing. The staff are all lovely and attentive and not invasive and over bearing like in some of the restaurants.

If you are looking to have a relaxing break and be with like minded friendly people then Creta Blue is for you!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovers_from_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2009

We have just returned from a wonderful two weeks holiday at Creta Blue Suites. On arrival it was immediately clear that customer service and first impressions were high on the agenda. Our room, an executive suite, was better than we imagined with breath taking views.

Each evening we were spoilt for choice with options for dinner. There are several good restaurants in the neighbouring village, however we did find that the hotel food was by far the best. We particularly enjoyed the BBQ.

Day to day we found the hotel excellent. Breakfast was good with very friendly staff. If we chose to stay beside the pool there was always plenty of very comfortable sun loungers available.

We would really like to return to Creta Blue Suites one day in the future. We would like to pass on our thanks to George, Vangelis, Eleni and all the staff for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisKateManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

Having booked this holiday via Lastminute we did not know what to really expect, was the hotel identical to the pictures on their website? Was the family as welcoming and friendly as everyone said ?

It all started a week before arriving at Creta Blue, we had a few questions about how to getfrom the Airport to the hotel and decided to send an email to the hotel. We were surprised to receive a fast and detailed response from Georgos, the hotel manager, being really pleasant and helpful. Our flight arrived half an hour in advance and Georgos immediately re-arranged the private cab to come and pick us up straight away!

What a surprise when we first arrived (by night) at the hotel, everything was as it seemed on the pictures, the infinity pool was magnificently lighted, people were enjoying drinks at the beautifully decorated bar and chatting to the hotel staff but most of all were we surprised by Georgos' warm welcoming and gentle manners! He immediately made my partner and I feel at ease and relax, taking care of our luggage and showing us where the room was.

We were expecting a normal size room and were surprised by the size of what I'd call a small apartment with one living room, one bathroom, one bedroom and a terrace, grand suite is what it's called I believe. Furniture perfectly matched the room's standard, it was quite nice to have a sofa and coffee table for the mornings when we'd miss the breakfast, the fridge was quite handy to keep our wine and local products fresh. Bedroom was of good size, so was the terrace which had an amazing view on the bay and swimming pool. It turned out we spent a few evenings on it enjoying nice Cretan wine and local delicacies: Olives, tsatsiki, greek salads to name a few!

We really enjoyed the whole stay at Creta blue, the barbeque night on Saturday is a great opportunity to meet the family, taste Cretan food but also create bonds with other "CretaBluers", it turned out we met some really nice people at that event and everyone had an amazing time and great laugh. The food at Creta Blue was amazing and cooked by Georgos' mother who turned out to be a fantastic cook, cooking local dishes to the perfection.

Creta Blue is located up the hill next to a really pleasant and picturesque village with plenty of local restaurants; yes it is up a steepy hill but hey! look at the view you get from your room, from the restaurant terrace and from the infinity pool, this is the only hotel we found with such a view and that's partly why we came here for. We went on the main street from day1 (10minutes walk) and rent a car which turned out to be pretty cheap; this is definitely the best option as it'll enable you to visit Crete and also go on the main street and back to the hotel without confronting the steep hill and sun burns.

We give a 5 star review to this hotel. We were really pleased by our stay, the room, the food, the service, the staff, everything was near perfection for such a young hotel, Georgos and the whole family work hard everyday in improving everything that can be. To conclude we'd advice you to take 5 minutes and discuss with Georgos about how he came up with the idea of creating this hotel, this is an amazing story and represents a great achievement for him and the whole family can be proud of.

We'll come back for sure in a few years time and will advise friends and family to go there if they want to discover Crete.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duplessisn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2009

Stayed here for a week some time ago and loved it!

The whole family were extremely helpful and the suite we had really was very nice.

It's a bit of a trek down to the coast, but it's not too bad if you walk down and get a taxi back.

Great place for a relaxing break (I could have stayed in that infinity pool forever!)

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NumbersONEandTWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koutouloufari
0.4 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,579 reviews
3.9 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
Village Heights Golf Resort
Village Heights Golf Resort
#3 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creta Blue Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creta Blue Suites

Property: Creta Blue Suites
Address: Ipsilantou St, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Koutouloufari
#3 Romantic Hotel in Koutouloufari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Creta Blue Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If anything truly defines Creta Blue Suites, it is the value we attach to lasting memories. Building upon our experience as travellers for many years and as hoteliers for the last 8 years, has endowed us with a rich tradition of hospitality. We offer experiences that are authentically local and we see people who visit us as guests that are walking into our home. Genuine hospitality is achieved when engaging service and personal attention to detail to elevate each stay into a cherished memory. The little nuances in the quality of service unmistakably measure the intelligence of the hotelier and truthfully state the value of his spirituality. Because serving is, above all, loving, and one thing we are proud for ourselves is that we DO love serving our guests.We have always been ready to listen to our guests, anticipating their needs and interpreting their desires. Your stay at our hotel is our opportunity to show you Crete the way our island should be experienced - through the eyes of a local family.Welcome to Crete ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Creta Blue Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creta Blue Hotel Koutouloufari
Hotel Creta Blue
Creta Blue Suites Koutouloufari, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing