We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creta Blue.... The place to recharge”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Creta Blue Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Creta Blue Suites
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Koutouloufari
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Creta Blue.... The place to recharge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Very difficult to say a bad word about the place. Our holiday started with George picking us up from the place expedia transfer dropped us and George letting us know he was in a position to upgrade us to a better room. The room had everything we needed, a fridge to store the gin and wine (the essentials), a sink, kettle and crockery to meet our needs, a balcony with a great view of the sea. The continental breakfast was what you would expect and nicely starts your day off without feeling like your going to sink in the pool as soon as you dive in. The pool is always clean and our room was cleaned daily with fresh flowers put in the bathroom and lounge area each day. Downsides but by no means bad points, the bed was a little firmer than our one at home but every holiday we have had, a bed is never like your own! The bath shower attachment doesn't attach to the wall but my wife and I got round this. If you go into town to try out the bars or restaurants at night, a small torch or smart phone with a torch on is helpful for the last 200 meters before the hotel as there are no street lights, but this is of no fault of the owners. We have eaten at the restaurant several times, enjoyed the freshly and home made food and its amazing, much better than some of the restaurants down the road, reasonably priced and great tasting. Definite compliments to George's mum! For a family run Hotel this is just run to perfection, from the house keepers , the waitress to George, nothing is ever to much trouble for any of them to ensure you have an enjoyable holiday. Fully recommended and will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Groving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    92
    22
    14
    3
See reviews for
104
329
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We've been home a week now and we can't stop talking and thinking about our holiday at Creta blue. Not only do I want to add to the good comments from the other reviews...fantastic food,service, location and hospitality. But for us it felt like we were staying in a grown up hotel with lots of special touches! I'd like to mention about the beer being served in glasses straight from the freezer and the fresh cut flowers in our room, plus the freshly cut herbs collected from the garden to garnish our meals... All these little touches made a difference to us. No battles in the morning for a sun bed and guests not leaving towels on beds for hours so no one else can use them....this was such a pleasure. When the sun set we stayed by the infinity pool drinking a cold glass of wine in large clean glasses ( no plastic beakers here!) one of my favourite members of George's team was Nikki, she was always smiling, helpful and informative.Creta blue is great for adults as it has that chilled out feel with no screaming kids! Lovely! George organised the delivery and collection of our motor bike and at a very competitive rate. We loved the people of this fantastic island, so friendly and happy!!! All these little things made our holiday the best we've had and will be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nikbobbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have just returned after the most amazing week at creta blue hotel in Crete - George the owner is a fantastically attentive yet discrete host who has created the most amazing calm, friendly atmosphere I have ever experienced in a hotel abroad. This is a family run hotel where they have a genuine desire to ensure everyone has the best time possible. The attention to detail is extraordinary and the food absolutely delicious. The infinity pool and seating area is beautiful overlooking the the town below towards the sea - breathtaking. The rooms are so clean, lovely, modern but with a Cretan feel and very well equipped. The staff are great, particularly nicki whose smile greets you every morning at the delicious breakfast. This is the place to revive and rejuvenate even the most stressed out holiday makers! We are already planning to return next October! Could not recommend more strongly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alliearthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

To be fair we’ll start with the good comments, but there are some areas for improvement and features that we didn’t like that we’ll be detailed below as well.
Above all, George was extremely welcoming and helpful. He got out of his way to make us happy and to make our stay enjoyable. Dinner, cooked by Helen, was the best we’ve eaten in Crete (but also the most expensive one). Atmosphere at dinner was great with excellent music selection, very relaxing setup by the pool, nice view, and beautiful cutlery. The hotel grounds and the pool area were clean and maintained. We welcomed the exercise opportunity and didn’t mind the steep climb on the way to our room. The village (5 minutes walk), with its amazing number of restaurants and shops, was a treat (especially in the evening). Also, for us, being away from the crowd at the town below by the sea was a plus (could be considered a minus to others, though).
We don’t count the fact that the hotel was a little hard to find as a minus. After all we managed to find it eventually and we found out too late the good driving instructions on the hotel’s web site …
We understand that this is a family run hotel. We also know that this is not an easy time for Greece and its people. So, with mixed feelings we say that overall we were disappointed with this hotel and we would hesitate recommending it to others.
We expected a luxury hotel – as posted and promised on the hotel’s web site, and as expected from the quoted price (which we were asked to pay in full in advanced). However, the room we were shown upon arrival was no more than a shoe box (as far as possible from being ‘luxury’). Although booked as ‘Garden View’ room, It’s ‘terrace’ was not overlooking any garden (unless you stood tall and tried hard to view the pool area down below). We expressed our disappointed and (not before we were told that this was already an upgrade from what we’ve reserved…) were upgraded to the supposedly “Deluxe suite”. It was better, no doubt, but could not be considered a luxury room either.
The Deluxe suite had a nice balcony but its inside was very basic. It included a small kitchen with almost nothing, not even the minimum little supply of coffee/tea/sugar which is considered standard even at non-luxury hotels. The bathroom was crowded (although the suite was very spacious) with poor quality towels and – as we discovered later – hot shower only as weather permitted (i.e. not in the morning, in October). The furniture summed up to a sofa (with no coffee table), a dressing table with chair and a mirror, and a king size bed at the gallery along with a small TV (that we didn’t bother to turn on) and two bed-side tables. The floor was bare, as well as the walls (not a single picture). The bed mattresses was way too firm for me (husband liked it, though). The window at the gallery level was covered with a nice looking curtain that unfortunately did not block the light in the morning and forced early wake up (a bit of a problem when coffee is not available in the room and the bar/breakfast opens at 9am).
Breakfast was also not the highlight of the place. Some fresh bread served with a piece of cheese, and one slice of ham. A scrambled egg (one!) served on a big plate with a sliver of tomato decorated with rosemary leaves (this caused a few laughs), and yogurt served with fresh fruits and honey (very tasty if you like yogurt). We left very early the following morning to catch a flight and were not offered a boxed breakfast, but were not disappointed about it or about missing breakfast.
We were also a bit surprised when we returned to the room at 2 pm (after going sightseeing in the area) to find that the room has not been serviced (not yet been serviced – according to George).
It could be that the more expensive rooms in this hotel are better. We haven’t seen them. It could also be the standard in this area of Crete and possibly this is relatively a good hotel for the area, but certainly not a luxury hotel even though the price is not cheap. We stayed in a more enjoyable hotel (in another area of Crete) for less. So did some of our friends who recently visited Crete as well.
Sorry. But we will not return.

Room Tip: Read the details on the hotel's web page very carefully
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AJAelxander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgiosCrete, Owner at Creta Blue Suites, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Valuable Guests,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Unfortunately it is not possible to have all our guests pleased although that we have done everything we could in your case but i think that i should state a few things out to avoid misunderstandings for the future guests.
First of all i would like to inform you once more that the website that you booked your short stay with us (2 days) had completely false advertising about us regarding the room descriptions and i have already contacted them in order to correct the misleading information. That and only that created a completely different image of who we really are (please check the end of this respond or the first page of our official website). You also mentioned that we promise luxury and i can reassure you that we do have luxurious rooms however you booked through a third party website that we have only two or three reservation every year and you have probably paid for a luxury room but only reserved our basic one. I am afraid that we do not have any responsibility at all when it comes down for pricing on third party websites as we do not control them and let me also reassure you that we did not get paid what you paid. If you would have a closer look on our website you would be able to book a luxury room with the same amount of money you have paid for the basic room. Further than that if you were only looking for luxury you should have gone for a 5 star hotel and not for 4 stars at least that is what everyone does when is looking only for luxury. However if you want a luxurious room you really have to pay for it and in all occasions you pay three digits and not two as you had! Let me have my opinion stated as i have traveled all around the world and only stayed in 5 star resorts as i always like to get ideas from the leaders on the market.
When you arrived and we took you to the room you have booked you expressed your disappointment and immediately you were upgraded to one of our Deluxe rooms (maisonette) with a panoramic sea view from its balcony even from your bed and when i asked you if you were happy you informed me that you were. I have to say that in the nine years that i run this hotel is the first time i get a complaint from someone that preferred Garden view instead of sea view and i will let the others judge from the pictures. You mention about the size of the TV which was bought this year and is 22 inches LED i am just wondering in the others hotels you stayed in Crete they had larger ones? I just wish i could take pictures and post them here on this forum about how your room looked like so everyone could judge.
Regarding your comments about the absence of coffee in the room or tea this is something that we will work it out and we will provide that to our guests from next season onwards as we do listen to our guests and their comments.
This year we have been praised from other guests about our breakfast quality and appearance. Let me remind you that you have booked for continental breakfast and you were served many more things than a classic continental breakfast around the world. Also what you were served was fresh and was made just for you and it was not standing in a buffet for two hours before eating it. As for the breakfast that you were not offered on the day of your departure when you left the hotel at 4am first of all you did not ask for something when i checked you out the previous night as i would have arranged it for you as i always do to the guests that depart very early in the morning. I am just wondering why you mention it in your review after what you said that you did not like our breakfast ( i wonder why.........).
I am glad that at least you have enjoyed dinner in our restaurant and also that you liked the atmosphere and the decoration despite as you describe it the 'most expensive dinner' ( as i served you i remember you had two starters two main courses and a bottle of expensive red wine that costs 23 euros and paid 68 euros). As Helen our chef likes to say good food is prepared only with the right and the freshest ingredients and not with frozen meats and vegetables or ready meals that you put on the microwave and serve it.

All in all i would like to say that for me the most important thing and why this place has been very successful since 2003 when we first opened is that i do not like to mislead guests. I cannot be held responsible for what all third party websites are advertising and how much they are selling our rooms for. There are a few of these websites that gives us full control of the descriptions and pricing but others do not. Obviously the one you used did not. That is why we have our official website and for that i am fully responsible. And in this case the room that you have booked does not exist in our website........
I would like to thank you for you comments good and bad and from these we will try and we will correct our mistakes and i hope that next time you book another hotel anywhere in the world to have a closer look on the official website of the hotel you are booking so the problem that occurred with us does not happen to you again. For me the most important thing is for our guests to have a good time and have an unforgettable holiday. I would like to close this respond with our philosophy that is on the first page of our website and truly defines who we are:

If anything truly defines Creta Blue Suites, it is the value we attach to lasting memories. Building upon our experience as travelers for many years and as hoteliers for the last 8 years, has endowed us with a rich tradition of hospitality. We offer experiences that are authentically local and we see people who visit us as guests that are walking into our home. Genuine hospitality is achieved when engaging service and personal attention to detail to elevate each stay into a cherished memory. The little nuances in the quality of service unmistakably measure the intelligence of the hotelier and truthfully state the value of his spirituality. Because serving is, above all, loving, and one thing we are proud for ourselves is that we DO love serving our guests.

We have always been ready to listen to our guests, anticipating their needs and interpreting their desires. Your stay at our hotel is our opportunity to show you Crete the way our island should be experienced - through the eyes of a local family.

Have a lovely winter and wishing you all the best!

Georgios Roussakis
Hotel Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

The hotel was idyllic, just the break we needed. From the moment George met us out the taxi we knew we were going to enjoy it. The bar/restaurant was gorgeous, lovely and clean, attentive staff, lovely views and great food cooked by Helene. Nothing was too much trouble for George, he even arranged some lovely fresh fish for us. Breakfast was good, we particularly enjoyed the greek yoghurt, honey and fresh fruit.
The pool area was immaculate, lovely and clean, comfortable sun loungers with cushions and an amazing infinity pool. What a view we had!
Our room was right at the top of the hotel, panoramic sea view and balcony.A lot of steps to walk up, but well worth it. Our room was in two levels, with a sitting area, kitchenette and bathroom downstairs and a big bright bedroom above, again with lovely views. Room service was very good.
George arranged a quad bike for us for the day, which was bought to our hotel and picked up from there. He was always friendly, happy to help and smiling.
If you want a bit of luxury, peace and quiet,fabulous views and amzing food, Creta Blue is the one for you.
BBQ nite was fab, again Helene's food was great. Tables were set out so we could chat to other guests. We didnt move til 1am!
Definetely worth a return visit.

Room Tip: Request a lower floor room if you have mobility problems. If not, go as high as you can!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angiecoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Chose this family run hotel because of the look, size and great reviews and we were not disappointed. Our flight was diverted and we were very late into the night arriving but the driver George organised was waiting for us to take us to the hotel. Even though it was late George found time to speak to us via telephone and apologised for not being there to greet us. On arrival sandwiches were waiting for us in our room which were so welcomed. The setting was spectacular with mountains one side and panoramic sea views the other. The room was spotless with daily maid service and all staff were friendly and helpful. Delightful breakfast and my favourite was the wonderful greek yoghurt with fresh fruit and honey to which i am now addicted. The opportuity to eat dinner at the hotel should not be missed, every meal was well presented and very tasty. George was really helpful and advised us on any trips/walks we were planning. The pool was amazing and looks exactly as it does in the photographs. Literally 5 mins walk to Koutoufoularis unspoilt village with the friendliest people in the world with another 30 mins walk to the buzz of Hersonosis. Creta Blue is a great location, peaceful, beautiful and tranquil... a wonderful find... we will be back (it was my cousin's first time abroad at 64yrs and she is hooked!)... huge thanks to George and his lovely family keep doing what you are doing love the 'golden girls'x

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debs037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Cannot recommend this hotel enough. Very warm welcome from George and all the staff. Room spotless and daily maid service, and fresh towels good AC. Pool towels were supplied. Pool area fabulous and pool bar and restaurant excellent. (4 euros a pint) Breakfast was continental with a little extra, ending with greek yogurt with grapes and fruit drizzled with honey. We walked into the village every night about 5 mins. There was a myriad of restaurants and bars, our favourite was Galinis, but enjoyed Patrikos (don't have the rooster) and Emmanuels. Very reasonably priced. The hospitality on Crete is exeptional. As with previous reviews we shall be returning. One tip, get taxi transfers its about 25 mins from airport. The buses cannot get anywhere near the hotel as the roads are too narrow. Allyson & Julian

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccfc1927man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koutouloufari
0.4 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 176 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,578 reviews
3.9 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
Village Heights Golf Resort
Village Heights Golf Resort
#3 of 176 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creta Blue Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creta Blue Suites

Property: Creta Blue Suites
Address: Ipsilantou St, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Koutouloufari
#3 Family Hotel in Koutouloufari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Creta Blue Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If anything truly defines Creta Blue Suites, it is the value we attach to lasting memories. Building upon our experience as travellers for many years and as hoteliers for the last 8 years, has endowed us with a rich tradition of hospitality. We offer experiences that are authentically local and we see people who visit us as guests that are walking into our home. Genuine hospitality is achieved when engaging service and personal attention to detail to elevate each stay into a cherished memory. The little nuances in the quality of service unmistakably measure the intelligence of the hotelier and truthfully state the value of his spirituality. Because serving is, above all, loving, and one thing we are proud for ourselves is that we DO love serving our guests.We have always been ready to listen to our guests, anticipating their needs and interpreting their desires. Your stay at our hotel is our opportunity to show you Crete the way our island should be experienced - through the eyes of a local family.Welcome to Crete ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Creta Blue Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creta Blue Hotel Koutouloufari
Hotel Creta Blue
Creta Blue Suites Koutouloufari, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing