We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Creta Blue...If you're considering booking here you will not regret it..”
Review of Creta Blue Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Creta Blue Suites
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Koutouloufari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at Creta Blue from July 31 - August 9 and cant say enough about what a wondertime time we had. From the moment you arrive it is immediately apparent that this hotel is like no other we have been to. Giorgios his family and all the staff are indredibly welcoming and accomodating. We got the to hotel just as breakfast had ended but without hesitation Giorgios arranged for us to have breakfast which was very impressive. Our room was clean our view and that of the entire hotel grounds is simply breathtaking. We very quickly felt like this little Oasis is a home away from home. Being nestled in the moutains the location is ideal for anyone looking to really relax and enjoy the wonderful scenory....sea....mountain....both...one..whatever your heart desires - its here. That having been said, while the sites in the themselves are beautiful what is uniquely characteristic of this hotel is very much the service and the the ambience created buy Giorgios his family and by extention the staff. This is something that can't be fabricated - you either have it or you dont. This family is really and I emphasize REALLY interested in making your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible - no hidden agenda. Now on to another important note - the FOOD!! OMG - Eleni is a fantastic cook!! Your tastebuds will be doing the Zorba! From her potatoes to moussaka, tzatziki or to that amazing rooster simply DELICIOUS!! Being Greek and from a family that loves to cook I can assure you that this is as authentic Greek as it gets so you will definitely wantt to eat here a few times for sure!! Trust me your taste buds will thank you!!

In closing we want to express our sincerest thanks to everyone at Creta Blue for your hard work and dedication to providing excellent service. We appreciated everything you did to make our stay an enjoyable one and look forward to booking with you again in the not too distant future. For anyone reading this review and considering to book a hotel in this area - book this one - you will not regret it. :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sofia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
There are newer reviews for Creta Blue Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 566 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

George, a sincere than you from my girlfriend and I (& my mother!). We had a bit of a mishap the day we were departing for Crete and called George in a panic to alter our dates at Creta Blue. He was so helpful and accomodating; it really put us at ease. We arrived to the hotel late at night but George's parents gave us such a friendly welcome. They insisted in providing us with a meal as we were after a long day of travel and the cooking throughout our stay in Creta Blue were all lovely. The rooms were great and the atmosphere around the pool by day was lovely and relaxed. Koutouloufari is an excellent village; great food at reasonable prices and Vinnies Rooftop Garden had amazing cocktails. George arranged a taxi to the airport for us with no fuss; nothing is a problem, all staff are willing to help you. I cannot recommend this hotel enough; George and family; thank you for all your kindness to Kate & I on our 4 night stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We found this hotel, read the reviews and decided we had to visit and we were not disappointed. As everyone says this family run, small, friendly hotel with high end finish to the rooms ticks all the boxes. I travelled with my husband and 2 children (5) and (2). We all enjoyed the peace and quiet and total relaxation. Nothing was a problem for George and his family who work from morning til night accommodating their guests. Their welcome and friendliness is genuine, something that is rare on holidays. George's mum cooked for our children and meals were adapted to make sure they were still eating some veggies and all our meals were freshly prepared and were like something you would find in a high end restaurant, but at reasonable prices. The house wine is lovely, a rarity in hotels with some lovely alternatives on the menu to choose if you fancy something different. We noticed that our 2 year old boy was so relaxed on the evenings as the ambience in the open air restaurant with the cool breeze and soothing music meant we could sit as a family and enjoy a couple of courses (something we havent been able to do previously in other countries with our little girl). The children made friends with other children who were visiting for their 5th year and without kids club, mini disco, they made their own fun and played imaginary games. Even though my husband and I had viruses when we travelled we were still very happy with the holiday and will go back and venture out more and see some of the island. One final comment - George the owner even asked us if we wanted to move on day 5 of our holiday so that we were nearer to the pool and so that we didnt have to walk up the hill. He really does want everyone to have a great holiday and it was - so thank you. George's father is a delight, Vangelis, who welcomes the children every day with open arms and George's wife, Ranni is so lovely. George's mother is a strong presence throughout the days, keeping everyone right and cooking all the food. All the family have genuine warmth and have created a fine business up on the hill that i'm sure will go from strength to strength. The staff work extremely hard and their commitment is obvious, yet they are all happy!! Even the taxi driver commented how George was a reputable business man, who was fair and paid his staff on time. The only point to note is that families are better going once little ones are out of pushchairs as the village is downhill, but that didnt bother us. We didnt want to venture too far anyway on a 1 week break.
Thanks again to everyone at Creta Blue from Donna & Chris Oliver

Room Tip: up on the hill for the fittest. Pool side rooms for those with any walking difficulties.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank donna o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We returned last month from a two week holiday at creta blue and we have to say it has been the most relaxing holiday we have been on - even more than the Caribbean. From the minute we arrived George and his amazing team couldn't do enough for us even when my husband got an ear infection George and his dad took it in turns to drive him to the hospital and wouldn't hear of a taxi been used.

We stayed in an executive suite which was very spacious and spotlessly clean - the cleaners visited daily.

The pool is even nicer than the pictures, the loungers ever so comfy and the pool guy runs around with umbrellas if you start to burn.

The breakfast and all other food as in previous reviews was delicious which obviously means a few pounds go on :).

We have never returned to a hotel before and could never understand why you would but after staying here we know why. Virtually everyone we spoke to had stayed before or if not planned to return. We are already thinking about another stay.

Thank you George, eleni and family/ team for making our holiday relaxing and one to remember.

Room Tip: Executive suite if you can as gives you more room but we did see the standard rooms and they looked...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

First off, being Greek I can say that I have stayed at numerous hotels on Crete. By far, this hotel is quaint, friendly, excellent homemade food, and amazing views of Mediterranean.

Good points:
1. Amazing home cooked from owners wife Helen. Try the delicious ginger garlic salmon.... A nice change of pace of Greek food. Also the shrimp and caviar are awesome too!
2. Breakfast was great. Eggs done upon your request, fresh bread with jams, yogurt and fruits with honey and amazing service.
3. Helpful and friendly owners and staff: A++ good people who are their for you and your family. Felt very warm and always helpful-- they can help get a rental car or give advice on places to see.
4. Great A/C. Slept cool and the bath had a nice tub. Room cleaned very well each day.

Overall, great views,food,service, infinity pool overlooking the beautiful ocean. Gabriel and I (Stela) will definitely come back to stay!

The bad: we didn't want to leave......

Room Tip: I would call the hotel if you have any special room requests. All rooms are on hill so if you need s...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stelakrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

It has taken me some time to write this review (over a year, so sorry George!), but then they say that you are more likely to tell people about bad experiences rather than good ones...

My partner and I visited Creta Blue in July 2011 for a quiet relaxing break. We wanted to try Crete as we had heard great things about the island - they were all true! The food, the people, the scenery, the beaches were all excellent, but the one thing that really stood out for us was the service - it was outstanding! From the first email contact to our (late night) check-out at Creta Blue, George (the owner) went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and ensure we enjoyed our holiday.

Ok, so Creta Blue itself is beautiful, I would go as far to say that it is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. Not just the building, the grounds and impressive rooms (great size, spotlessly clean and modern designs), but the overall feel and atmosphere was faultless. It is one of the only hotels I have stayed in that I was more impressed with when I arrived than in the photos in the website - no Photoshop needed here!

If you are looking for a relaxing, peaceful holiday with a bit of luxury and away from the usual over crowded, generic beach holidays, then this is the place to go. If you are a foodie then you will be very pleased with the Creta Blue's restaurant, particularly the weekly BBQ, and the local village, Koutouloufari, has something for everyone. If you like a dodgy Chinese or fast food joint on every corner this is not the place for you. The village is buzzing and although it has a modern feel it is still very traditional and means you get an authentic Greek experience. We tried a lot of the restaurants in the village and didn't have a bad meal in one!

We went B&B because we like eating out and had heard such good things about the local restaurants; however, the food was so good at the hotel you could have quite easily have eaten there every night.

There is enough going on in the village to stay there for a week and not venture elsewhere; however, if you do fancy something more lively then Hersonisos harbour is pleasant in the early evening. The shops are nice to have a look around in the daytime too. It does get a bit more energetic later on so if you're not into the party scene maybe have a couple of cocktails and head back up the hill to the calm of the village.

We went to the water park whilst we were there and it was excellent - I would highly recommend it. Not just for families, but for couples too! It was lots of fun and there was enough to do if you wanted to spend the whole day there. You can get a free bus from the roundabout at the top of the hill in the village, so no huge taxi fares if you're travelling in a big party.

One last tip...you may not want to venture to Malia...but we got a bus one afternoon to see what all the fuss was about. The old part of the town is just lovely, with lots of pretty cobbled streets and quirky tavernas. I would highly recommend a trip on the bus (from the bottom of the hill, and very cheap) in the day time and explore the historic bits of the town. Tempted to try a night out there...I really wouldn't bother. I love Ibiza (I used to live there) but the party bit of Malia makes the West End of San Antonio look like St Tropez!

Best bits:
Service (not just George and his lovely family, but every bar and restaurant in the village made us feel so welcome)
Cleanliness
Peacefulness
Views from the hotel pool
Our room at Creta Blue (massive, modern, loads of storage and great A/C)

Worst bits:
None (now that's impressive for a fussy northern bird...my boyfriend can vouch for that!)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennieFreckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have just returned from an incredible holiday at Creta Blue we will be going back again. George and his family that own it were welcoming and worked to make our stay one we will remember and we will. The rooms we had a delux suite was up the hill and you need to be fit to manage the areas away from the pool and what a pool, spectacular views that we didnt move away from. The village is a short walk away and has lots of excellent resaurants but I can say dont order a lot of food as they give you to much we only finished one meal and turned away too much. Great hotel, village, weather we will return.

Room Tip: You need to be active and fit to be up the hill nearer the pool is better.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koutouloufari
0.4 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#3 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,125 reviews
1.5 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 171 in Hersonissos
3,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Apartments
Sunrise Apartments
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
390 reviews
2.4 mi away
Village Heights Golf Resort
Village Heights Golf Resort
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creta Blue Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creta Blue Suites

Address: Ipsilantou St, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Koutouloufari
#3 Family Hotel in Koutouloufari
Price Range: $81 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Creta Blue Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If anything truly defines Creta Blue Suites, it is the value we attach to lasting memories. Building upon our experience as travellers for many years and as hoteliers for the last 8 years, has endowed us with a rich tradition of hospitality. We offer experiences that are authentically local and we see people who visit us as guests that are walking into our home. Genuine hospitality is achieved when engaging service and personal attention to detail to elevate each stay into a cherished memory. The little nuances in the quality of service unmistakably measure the intelligence of the hotelier and truthfully state the value of his spirituality. Because serving is, above all, loving, and one thing we are proud for ourselves is that we DO love serving our guests.We have always been ready to listen to our guests, anticipating their needs and interpreting their desires. Your stay at our hotel is our opportunity to show you Crete the way our island should be experienced - through the eyes of a local family.Welcome to Crete ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Creta Blue Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creta Blue Hotel Koutouloufari
Hotel Creta Blue
Creta Blue Suites Koutouloufari, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing