We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Astra Village Apartments
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Koutouloufari
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“delightful”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

had a 11 night stay at Astra Village, we arrived at 2,00am so could not see immediately the quaint set up of the builings. Astra village seems to have guests that return year after year and we can see why. the cleaning staff work so hard and always smile, basic but comfortable room with daily room servicing apart from sunday. we had clean towels on more days than we can remember and the beds changed at least 4 times in the 11 days. all bar staff nice, yianni especially, we missed him as we were leaving as he had a break for a few hours which is very unusual for him as he has been there at least 12 - 14 hours a day. 2 pools is a good idea for peak season. koutouloufari itself is lovely, being younger and having our 10 year old son with us we hired quads from motoXperience for a good price and we travelled to other places but it is relaxing to just spend the day at astra village and chill out when you can. we were able to keep our room on for a reasonable fee after check out time which was good. we will certainy return back to astra village as it was a wonderful friendly place with clean good facilities and the bar prices were good, especially the rose' wine. to eat out we really enjoyed our night at steki and fabrica, all places are good to eat in the village. although galiani was very slow service and we waited 3 hours to finish our meal the food was good so although it has a roof terrace you are better in the downstairs part for better timed service, oniro very nice too. all in all a delightful stay and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarleyA757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    117
    27
    11
    3
See reviews for
76
142
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Loved our stay at Astra Village. Apartment was very clean on arrival.Cleaner came in daily apart from Sunday. Towels/sheets changed once during our weeks stay.Pools were lovely, with lots of sunbeds/umbrellas available throughout the day.The complex felt very spacious due to the layout of the apartments.Our apartment overlooked farmland and the sea.It was quite noisy at night with cockerels ,and dogs barking.Koutouloufari is beautiful. We found food and drink prices very reasonable, and actually brought money back, which is a first ! Monday evening in OLD hersonnisos is wonderful.They have a greek night with live music/dancing. Would love to return one day.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praze an Beeble, Cornwall
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Astra village Appartments are clean and fairly comfortable. The kitchen is adequate enough to cook a meal. The shower cubicle was small and you had to position yourself in the corner, so that you didn't flood the bathroom! Facilities were good, and both pools were in use when the appartments were almost full. The staff in the restaurant/bar were brilliant and very helpful. Koutouloufari is a small pretty village, nestling at the top of a steep hill. Lots of bars, tavernas and craft/boutique shops. We would return to both accomodation and village.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rukski55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I have just returned from a magical week's break at the Astra Apartments, Koutouloufari, Crete. What a revelation!! Koutouloufari is a small village on the hillside, with a multitude of small tavernas serving sumptious meals. Whilst everything is on your doorstep, it is not a commercial resort and remains authetically Greek. The apartments themselves are brightly painted, clean and well maintained with two medium sized pools for cooling down in following a day in the glorious Crete sunshine. The apartments are family run, with very friendly accommodating owner who did not complain when kept up to 3:30am by over enthusiastic Brits watching the Olympic opening ceremony, despite having to get up early the next day and having a raging toothache! What a trooper!! Please don't be tempted into the all inclusive, battery farm approach being hawked in Crete at the moment, otherwise, you, like I would have missed this little gem and all the delights the restaurants and shops of Koutouloufari have to offer. A wonderful trip. Thank you Astra.

Room Tip: We were travelling with my partner's teenage son, so therefore, he had his own apartment next do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We have just returned from 2 fantastic weeks at Astra Village, we had initially booked to go all Inc at the Ariane Apartments (bottom of the hill from Koutouloufari in Hersonnisos) but after reading all the terrible reviews and dreading our holiday day by day we managed to change to Astra the day before we flew out,(Lowcostholidays were very accommodating about this, only charging a small admin fee and refunding the difference in price too)
We were very pleased with the accomodation, it is spotlessly clean, whilst we were there, bed linen and towels were changed 3 times per week, and bins every day bar Sunday.
The kitchenette consited of two rings, which was ample for when we wanted to cook, there was a good size fridge with icebox and a kettle and toaster too. We had a one bed apartment, with very comfortable beds and our two teenage lads slept very well on the bed settee (more like two single beds anyway) The apartment also has AC 7 euros per night extra (absolutely essential to stay comfortable as it is very hot at night and having the windows open is an open invite to mosquios) and a safe 2 euros per night.
The staff in the bar were really helpful and extremely friendly, and the ladies on reception too were always most helpful. Both pools were open when we were there and although there were quite a few people staying we had the pool to ourselves on quite a few days. Hersonnisos is a short walk (15-20mins) down the hill and is very lively and good for shopping, plenty of bars and restaurants with good deals fro food and drink. If you are eating in I can recommend the Spar Hypermarket opposite Star Beach, the wine from the kegs at 2 euros a litre is very good as is the freshly squeezed orange juice, a taxi will take you back up to Astra for 7 euros.
Koutouloufari has some very good places to eat, apart from Astra (Breakfast deal highly recommended, full english, toast and jam, tea/coffee for 5 euros) I would recommned Ariadne, almost opposite, also has a pool for use in the day, and Pegasus (by the well) my boys spent hours in here on the internet and playing pool, the staff couldnt have been nicer and they had some very good meal deals for 2 e.g Greek Meze and wine 16 euros.
I would highly recommend Astra Village and would certainly return year after year.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Great staff Great rooms and found the Place so lovely will go back again x anyone looking for a place to stay in koutouloufari go here you will not regret it

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Portugal103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My friend and I decided to have a long holiday in Crete 2 weeks on our own and the last two weeks with our husbands. We wanted something cheap but clean. We had never been to Koutouloufari and at the time of booking knew of of anyone who had been. We chose the Astra as it was one of the cheapest prices. We expected it to be very basic because of the price. We were pleasantly surprised. Our accomodation was basic but clean. We had a seaview. When we arrived it was very quiet at the Astra just what we wanted. We had the pool to ourselves on a number of days but there were a lot more people at the end of the holidays and the second pool was opened. I wouldn't recommend if you have mobility problems as there are a lot of steps. However the whole holiday was really good. The accomadation was better than expected. The staff were all really helpful and friendly especially Iannis the barman and Costas.The beds were changed at least once a week and towels 2-3 times a week. The maid also cleaned every day but Sundays, she smiled constantly! Koutouloufari has a lot of good places to eat especially Meze's. It's worth looking out for Dino's place which is quirky as it's someones back yard with only five tables. Breakfast are better in the bar as there is a lot more choice and a little cheaper. Down into Hersonisos is 20 minutes back up is a lot longer as steep-take a bottle of water back up with you as you might need it. I will definitely go back. Look out for the safe cost 2 Euro's per day if you don't want it return your key. Also checks bills most places were ok but we did get overcharged a couple of times.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool which was ideal during the day, the balcony was in the shade most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elsie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koutouloufari hotels
0.4 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
994 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Petra Village Apartments
Petra Village Apartments
#10 of 13 in Koutouloufari
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Iokasti
Villa Iokasti
#7 of 13 in Koutouloufari
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#3 of 13 in Koutouloufari
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astra Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Village Apartments

Property: Astra Village Apartments
Address: 75, Europe street, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Koutouloufari
#6 Family Hotel in Koutouloufari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Astra Village Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Astra Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astra Village Apartments Hotel Koutouloufari
Astra Village Apartments Crete
Astra Village Apartments Hotel Crete
Astra Village Apartments Koutouloufari, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing