We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astra Village and Koutoulofari”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astra Village Apartments
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Koutouloufari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Astra village Appartments are clean and fairly comfortable. The kitchen is adequate enough to cook a meal. The shower cubicle was small and you had to position yourself in the corner, so that you didn't flood the bathroom! Facilities were good, and both pools were in use when the appartments were almost full. The staff in the restaurant/bar were brilliant and very helpful. Koutouloufari is a small pretty village, nestling at the top of a steep hill. Lots of bars, tavernas and craft/boutique shops. We would return to both accomodation and village.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rukski55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 303 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

I have just returned from a magical week's break at the Astra Apartments, Koutouloufari, Crete. What a revelation!! Koutouloufari is a small village on the hillside, with a multitude of small tavernas serving sumptious meals. Whilst everything is on your doorstep, it is not a commercial resort and remains authetically Greek. The apartments themselves are brightly painted, clean and well maintained with two medium sized pools for cooling down in following a day in the glorious Crete sunshine. The apartments are family run, with very friendly accommodating owner who did not complain when kept up to 3:30am by over enthusiastic Brits watching the Olympic opening ceremony, despite having to get up early the next day and having a raging toothache! What a trooper!! Please don't be tempted into the all inclusive, battery farm approach being hawked in Crete at the moment, otherwise, you, like I would have missed this little gem and all the delights the restaurants and shops of Koutouloufari have to offer. A wonderful trip. Thank you Astra.

Room Tip: We were travelling with my partner's teenage son, so therefore, he had his own apartment next do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We have just returned from 2 fantastic weeks at Astra Village, we had initially booked to go all Inc at the Ariane Apartments (bottom of the hill from Koutouloufari in Hersonnisos) but after reading all the terrible reviews and dreading our holiday day by day we managed to change to Astra the day before we flew out,(Lowcostholidays were very accommodating about this, only charging a small admin fee and refunding the difference in price too)
We were very pleased with the accomodation, it is spotlessly clean, whilst we were there, bed linen and towels were changed 3 times per week, and bins every day bar Sunday.
The kitchenette consited of two rings, which was ample for when we wanted to cook, there was a good size fridge with icebox and a kettle and toaster too. We had a one bed apartment, with very comfortable beds and our two teenage lads slept very well on the bed settee (more like two single beds anyway) The apartment also has AC 7 euros per night extra (absolutely essential to stay comfortable as it is very hot at night and having the windows open is an open invite to mosquios) and a safe 2 euros per night.
The staff in the bar were really helpful and extremely friendly, and the ladies on reception too were always most helpful. Both pools were open when we were there and although there were quite a few people staying we had the pool to ourselves on quite a few days. Hersonnisos is a short walk (15-20mins) down the hill and is very lively and good for shopping, plenty of bars and restaurants with good deals fro food and drink. If you are eating in I can recommend the Spar Hypermarket opposite Star Beach, the wine from the kegs at 2 euros a litre is very good as is the freshly squeezed orange juice, a taxi will take you back up to Astra for 7 euros.
Koutouloufari has some very good places to eat, apart from Astra (Breakfast deal highly recommended, full english, toast and jam, tea/coffee for 5 euros) I would recommned Ariadne, almost opposite, also has a pool for use in the day, and Pegasus (by the well) my boys spent hours in here on the internet and playing pool, the staff couldnt have been nicer and they had some very good meal deals for 2 e.g Greek Meze and wine 16 euros.
I would highly recommend Astra Village and would certainly return year after year.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Great staff Great rooms and found the Place so lovely will go back again x anyone looking for a place to stay in koutouloufari go here you will not regret it

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Portugal103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My friend and I decided to have a long holiday in Crete 2 weeks on our own and the last two weeks with our husbands. We wanted something cheap but clean. We had never been to Koutouloufari and at the time of booking knew of of anyone who had been. We chose the Astra as it was one of the cheapest prices. We expected it to be very basic because of the price. We were pleasantly surprised. Our accomodation was basic but clean. We had a seaview. When we arrived it was very quiet at the Astra just what we wanted. We had the pool to ourselves on a number of days but there were a lot more people at the end of the holidays and the second pool was opened. I wouldn't recommend if you have mobility problems as there are a lot of steps. However the whole holiday was really good. The accomadation was better than expected. The staff were all really helpful and friendly especially Iannis the barman and Costas.The beds were changed at least once a week and towels 2-3 times a week. The maid also cleaned every day but Sundays, she smiled constantly! Koutouloufari has a lot of good places to eat especially Meze's. It's worth looking out for Dino's place which is quirky as it's someones back yard with only five tables. Breakfast are better in the bar as there is a lot more choice and a little cheaper. Down into Hersonisos is 20 minutes back up is a lot longer as steep-take a bottle of water back up with you as you might need it. I will definitely go back. Look out for the safe cost 2 Euro's per day if you don't want it return your key. Also checks bills most places were ok but we did get overcharged a couple of times.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool which was ideal during the day, the balcony was in the shade most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elsie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We have just returned from spending the first week in June at the Astra Village Apartments booked through lowcostholidays. The first room that we checked into was fine, however, there was no sun on the balcony. As it was not peak season, and not all rooms were taken, we asked if we could move room and paid an additional 35 euros for the week for a fabulous room with two balconys - both sea views and pool views. Our deal included a breakfast which was a choice of three different breakfasts - all decilious! We found the owners to be very accomodating, friendly and helpful, and Jiannis on the bar was great too and makes excellent cocktails!

The area is lovely. Hersonissos is close enough to walk in 15 minutes (longer to walk back as its uphill) although we only went there once. We spent the whole week relaxing by the pool and spending the evenings in the local traditional tavernas and the Astra bar.

We would definitely recommend koutouloufari and Astra village apartments to people of all ages, and we hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sally p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We came across Astra Village online and from looking at the online review decided it was the perfect place to stay for a two week holiday to Crete. We were not disappointed!

The hotel is well situated in a village - although the village does not feel very village-like in the evenings and really comes alive with bars and restaurants and shops.

The staff at Astra Village are all really friendly and helpful. The room was clean and tidy and cleaned daily. There was plenty of space to store food and to cook the odd meal. We decided to cook there every other night to save a few £££s and this was no problem at all. The small balcony looked out over the village and surrounding area and was a really nice place to sit and eat and chill out in the evenings. The room itself was perfectly sized. The air-conditioning is extra to the charge for the room. I would recommend that as it does get very hot.

There are two pools. Neither of them are massive, but there is still enough space to have a good swim. There were always sun loungers available around the pools. The environment is a nice place to spend the day, and lots of people seem to do that. The other guests were all really pleasant and it was a really nice place to stay.

The hotel will let you keep the room on all day on your last day, should you want too, although there is place to leave luggage in the reception/lounge area which is free. There is also a shower between the two pools so it's always possible to freshen up before getting making your way back to the airport.

The main town of Koutouloufari is down the hill. It takes a good 15-20 minutes to walk down to the town, which is the main larger tourist area. This was where the vibrant night life is - with clubs and bars and other restaurants. We were glad to be in the smaller village area as it was a bit more removed from the busier area.

I would most definitely recommend this hotel - it is all you need and more for this type of holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank skintmuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koutouloufari hotels
0.1 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Apartments
Sunrise Apartments
#4 of 13 in Koutouloufari
396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#3 of 13 in Koutouloufari
582 reviews
0.5 mi away
Petra Village Apartments
Petra Village Apartments
#10 of 13 in Koutouloufari
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astra Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Village Apartments

Address: 75, Europe street, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Koutouloufari
#6 Family Hotel in Koutouloufari
Price Range: $19 - $1,111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Astra Village Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astra Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astra Village Apartments Hotel Koutouloufari
Astra Village Apartments Crete
Astra Village Apartments Hotel Crete
Astra Village Apartments Koutouloufari, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing