We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fAB”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astra Village Apartments
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Koutouloufari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Great staff Great rooms and found the Place so lovely will go back again x anyone looking for a place to stay in koutouloufari go here you will not regret it

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Portugal103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
There are newer reviews for Astra Village Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 299 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

My friend and I decided to have a long holiday in Crete 2 weeks on our own and the last two weeks with our husbands. We wanted something cheap but clean. We had never been to Koutouloufari and at the time of booking knew of of anyone who had been. We chose the Astra as it was one of the cheapest prices. We expected it to be very basic because of the price. We were pleasantly surprised. Our accomodation was basic but clean. We had a seaview. When we arrived it was very quiet at the Astra just what we wanted. We had the pool to ourselves on a number of days but there were a lot more people at the end of the holidays and the second pool was opened. I wouldn't recommend if you have mobility problems as there are a lot of steps. However the whole holiday was really good. The accomadation was better than expected. The staff were all really helpful and friendly especially Iannis the barman and Costas.The beds were changed at least once a week and towels 2-3 times a week. The maid also cleaned every day but Sundays, she smiled constantly! Koutouloufari has a lot of good places to eat especially Meze's. It's worth looking out for Dino's place which is quirky as it's someones back yard with only five tables. Breakfast are better in the bar as there is a lot more choice and a little cheaper. Down into Hersonisos is 20 minutes back up is a lot longer as steep-take a bottle of water back up with you as you might need it. I will definitely go back. Look out for the safe cost 2 Euro's per day if you don't want it return your key. Also checks bills most places were ok but we did get overcharged a couple of times.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool which was ideal during the day, the balcony was in the shade most...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elsie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We have just returned from spending the first week in June at the Astra Village Apartments booked through lowcostholidays. The first room that we checked into was fine, however, there was no sun on the balcony. As it was not peak season, and not all rooms were taken, we asked if we could move room and paid an additional 35 euros for the week for a fabulous room with two balconys - both sea views and pool views. Our deal included a breakfast which was a choice of three different breakfasts - all decilious! We found the owners to be very accomodating, friendly and helpful, and Jiannis on the bar was great too and makes excellent cocktails!

The area is lovely. Hersonissos is close enough to walk in 15 minutes (longer to walk back as its uphill) although we only went there once. We spent the whole week relaxing by the pool and spending the evenings in the local traditional tavernas and the Astra bar.

We would definitely recommend koutouloufari and Astra village apartments to people of all ages, and we hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sally p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We came across Astra Village online and from looking at the online review decided it was the perfect place to stay for a two week holiday to Crete. We were not disappointed!

The hotel is well situated in a village - although the village does not feel very village-like in the evenings and really comes alive with bars and restaurants and shops.

The staff at Astra Village are all really friendly and helpful. The room was clean and tidy and cleaned daily. There was plenty of space to store food and to cook the odd meal. We decided to cook there every other night to save a few £££s and this was no problem at all. The small balcony looked out over the village and surrounding area and was a really nice place to sit and eat and chill out in the evenings. The room itself was perfectly sized. The air-conditioning is extra to the charge for the room. I would recommend that as it does get very hot.

There are two pools. Neither of them are massive, but there is still enough space to have a good swim. There were always sun loungers available around the pools. The environment is a nice place to spend the day, and lots of people seem to do that. The other guests were all really pleasant and it was a really nice place to stay.

The hotel will let you keep the room on all day on your last day, should you want too, although there is place to leave luggage in the reception/lounge area which is free. There is also a shower between the two pools so it's always possible to freshen up before getting making your way back to the airport.

The main town of Koutouloufari is down the hill. It takes a good 15-20 minutes to walk down to the town, which is the main larger tourist area. This was where the vibrant night life is - with clubs and bars and other restaurants. We were glad to be in the smaller village area as it was a bit more removed from the busier area.

I would most definitely recommend this hotel - it is all you need and more for this type of holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank skintmuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I stayed at Astra village for a week last August with my partner. It was our first time in Crete and we really liked the village of Koutoulafari with its many bars and amazing choice tavernas serving everything from traditional Greek and international food. It's also a good location for exploring as it's not far from the main highways if you hire a car, as we did.

The atmosphere around the apartments was very laid back and peaceful - mainly couples and families. We found the apartments themselves to be very clean and adequate enough for our stay as we were hardly in most of the time. The bars staff are really friendly and hospitable and will serve quite late into the night providing it's still fairly busy.

All in all, we had a great holiday and would definitely stay here again if we went back to this part of Crete.

Room Tip: If you book through a budget site rather than through the hotel then you may not get best choice of...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelbeanies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I visited the Astra Village apartments last year with my friend and had a fantastic holiday. The atmosphere at the apartments is relaxing and welcoming. All of the staff at the hotel are friendly and did everything to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The room in the apartment was clean and provided all the facililties we needed .The bar serves tasty food and a range of drinks and cocktails for good prices. The surrounding village is small, traditional and very beautiful ( looks like the village on Mamma Mia). The local people are very warm and friendly and happy to help tourists in any way possible. There are a number of lovely resturants in the village, Ariadni Restaurant must be visited by all, they serve delicious pizzas that are cooked in front of you alongside traditonal Greek food. Overall this is one of the best holidays I have had and I look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

My boyfriend and I came across Astra Village Apartments after weeks of trawling the internet searching for a cheap last minute deal, with the best reviews (and price) we had come across, we booked; and with no regret!

Astra Village is situated on a fairly short strip, amongst an array of busy restaurants, small gift shops and convenience stores for basic supplies. On arrival (around 2am) we were greeted by the owner, a nice lady, who showed us to our minimalistic yet clean apartment. Once settled we proceeded to the Astra’s bar/Cafe' which was still open, the staff there (especially Thanassis, the best bar tender in the world <3) were awesome, really friendly and happy to help, in any way they could, to ensure our stay was a good one.

We spent most of our days by the pool, in and out of the Astra cafe' for reasonably priced refreshments. It was a short walk to the beach, around 10-15 minutes stroll along a winding downward path. Needless to say, the walk back was more of an uphill hike. The beach is worth the walk, sort of. Star beach was the nearest yet was more of a complex with sun beds to rent (4 Euros each) with scattered bars and a very small area of actual sand. Still, we enjoyed our time there.

Directly opposite the Astra Apartments is Ariadni Restaurant, a pizzeria we visited time and time again (strongly recommend). The pizzas are cooked in front of you and taste amazing with brilliant staff, great atmosphere and low prices!

In conclusion we loved our time here and would return without hesitation. Overall we feel the Astra Village and its surrounding area is ideal for couples and families in search of a relaxing holiday, as oppose to groups of young people looking to embark on a weeklong party. To be picky, our only complaint was the cost of air con, which is a necessity, priced at 7 Euros per day.

Room Tip: We liked the look of the rooms at the fore front of the apartments above the cafe/bar area with an o...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koutouloufari
0.1 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#3 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Petra Village Apartments
Petra Village Apartments
#10 of 13 in Koutouloufari
183 reviews
1.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
3,104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Apartments
Sunrise Apartments
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astra Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Village Apartments

Address: 75, Europe street, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Koutouloufari
#6 Family Hotel in Koutouloufari
Price Range: $25 - $1,119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Astra Village Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astra Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astra Village Apartments Hotel Koutouloufari
Astra Village Apartments Crete
Astra Village Apartments Hotel Crete
Astra Village Apartments Koutouloufari, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing