We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Petra Village Apartments
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Koutouloufari
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place, great staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

A beautiful place to stay. The wonderful staff will go out off they're way to help and or guide you. A short walk from a few nice little towns to eat (stay on the mountain to eat) or a short not to steep walk down to the new Cherso right at star beach (our place to swim with the baby because of the shallow baby pool)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MCdlM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    39
    26
    15
    5
See reviews for
34
67
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We arrived late at night to find we were not expected !!. However, George, the owner was fantastic and soon sorted us out with excellent alternative accommodation in the next village. After a two night delay we then took up residence at Petra Village. We were greeted by very courteous staff and George went out of his way to make us feel very welcome. Our apartment, though simply furnished was comfortable enough, although the bathroom / shower was a little cramped. The view from the balcony was superb of the hills and sea. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and would not hesitate to recommend the resort. George and his staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating and went out of their way to ensure we had a relaxing time, recommending local places of interest and (without favour) the best places to eat. See you next year. Peter & Maggi

Room Tip: Apartments on upper floors, with balconies with sea view are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 209Peter1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chomutov, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

We have spent a great week in this place. We had terrace with a fantastic wiew of the sea and mountains. The apartmens were surrounded by gardens with wonderful colored flowers. The background is very very nice. The rooms was clean and we was very pleased with changes bedding and towels. We had all inclusive program and food was very good. This program is here only for three weeks and the breakfast can be better. Cretan bear was very tastefully. We dranked many liters for this week. Perfect in this hot weather. There was a nice swimming pool with sunbeds and umbrellas. A 15 minute walk down is the amazing beach with gold sand and the water park with a many swimming pools and music. This is great for young peoples which like dancing. A 20 minute walk down to the centrum of Hersonissos, when you can shopping or go to restaurants or many clubs. Greek peoples are very pleasant. We can´t thank Petra Village enough for making our holiday one the best we have ever had. Thank you all!!!! :-D

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Markéta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Well, I have to say that I seriously doubt authenticity of some of previous reviews regarding Petra Village Apartments, since they describe it like the perfect holiday paradise. Yes, it has it's assets, but it also has some serious issues, that just cant be overlooked even when you're bearing in mind it's low-cost status.

Firstly, the hotel is at least 1 km from the closest beach (google maps counted 1,5 km precisely - https://goo.gl/maps/MU3Ik - but you can use some shortcuts) and in very a steep hill. So if you won't rent a car or motorcycle like we did, you should prepare for a few hikes every day, which can be quite annoying under the cretan burningn sun, especially if you have children. As for the beach under the hotel, well known "Star Beach", we weren't very satisfied either. Yes, it has comprehensive infrastrucure including many restaurants, bistros, children playing grounds and even some amusement sides like bungee jumping, and it also has pools with water slides, but it's very crowded and overall gives you the feeling of closed tourist amusement park. Moreover, sandy part of the beach is rather small (most of the "beach" covers grass) and sunbeds (that cost 8 EUR per set) are placed tightly next to each other, which also strenghtens the feeling that you're in some sort of "tourist holiday factory". But again, if you have rented car or motorcycle, this shouldn't be a problem, since you can travel to one of many other, much less crowded and "comercial" beaches in vicinity of Hersonissos. And maybe you won't feel the need to travel to some other beach at all, because Star Beach will perfectly suit your preferences - I'm just describing my personal view.

Hotel itself consists of 6 apartment houses with about 6 apartmens in each house. Those houses as well as apartments inside are actually really nice (due to the price), and as you would expect from apartments, you have 2 rooms, one equipped with kitchenette, so there's much more space available than in average single hotel room. On the contrary, the bathroom (combined with WC) is so tiny, that every effort to take a shower inevitably ends in hilarious acrobatic performance. What was even more unpleasant, water is not drinkable (unless you want to practice running to toilet; to be fair, this is problem in whole Crete) and sometimes during the night hot water didn't flow. Technical equippment of apartments consist of relatively large refrigerator, cooker, paid A/C (5 EUR / day), safe (15 EUR / week), comically small TV ("fortunately" it shows only about 3 greek channels and the picture is completely distorted, so screen size won't bother you) and no wifi. Rather grim list I'd say, particulary paid A/C is irritating. At least the apartment was clean and insect-free, however cleaning and changing of sheets and towels should be done more often. To end with a positive information, hotel is taking advantage of it's high ground compared to the sea level, so some of the apartements - like the one we stayed in - offer pretty good sea view from the balcony.

In the lower part of hotel complex there's a reception combined with dining room (no joking, it's in one small room) with the bar and swimming pool on it's roof. Swimming pool is very small, suited probably mainly for children, but we didn't care, since we don't travel to holiday in Greece to stay by the swimming pool. Anyway we heard complains of other guests regarding water quality, and there was also obvious lack of umbrellas, so nothing for people that get burned as easily and fast as me.

We payed for all-inclusice which turned to be huge mistake, because both food and drink were just terrible and the biggest weakness of the hotel. Most appaling was breakfast, served on the terrace before the bar, that consisted of one kind of ham, one kind of cheese, hard boiled eggs and some extremely artificial jams. That's it. This breakfast was "served" for the whole week, accompanied with some mediocre pastry, sometimes old enough to be inedible. No wonder we bought breakfast outside hotel... Lunch and dinner were better, but they still sucked really hard. In fact, hotel doesn't have any kitchen, so it carries food from other hotels. That maybe wouldn't be a problem, if the food would be good, if there was enough of it and if we had appropriate option to choose from different meals. Unfortunately, the case was exactly opposite. There were only 2 kinds of meal, the taste of them was avarage at best and it run off in half an hour. And on the top of that, the food was lukewarm or even completely cold. What to add... Drinks really didn't improve impression, since all the non-alcoholic drinks tasted extremely chemical and artificial, wine was dull and beer, well, how to put this, was a local cretan beer, so it was more like some sort of alcoholic lemonade rather than true beer by northern european standards.

All in all, the hotel wasn't that bad how it maybe seems from my review - after all, it's budget hotel for fraction of price of luxurious accomodations in Crete. But if you want to enjoy your stay here, you need car / motorcycle to get there with comfort, you need to reserve money to pay for A/C, and you really dont want to eat there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lukas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra_village, Manager at Petra Village Apartments, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guests, thank you for taking time to write a review for Petra Village although obviously we are disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay here. As you can see on our hotel description it shows the hotel distance from the beach, restaurants etc. for having a clear idea about our hotel location. In addition from our hotel description we mention that wifi and satellite TV is only in the pool bar area and wifi is also in the reception area in order not to be any misunderstanding. Tv in the rooms are not mentioned as a service in the description because this service is not working properly and we don't want to cause any misunderstanding to our clients. So our clients know that we don't have tv in the rooms even if there are tv there.

As far as the extra cost of the air condition and safe this is according the package you book with your travel agency. In addition the food and the drinks are according the All Inclusive package you booked. Your package was light All inclusive so you need to speak with your travel agency about this. Our hotel team is ready to do everything in order to keep you happy and try to solve all your problems.

We will be happy to meet you again in our hotel in order to have the chance to make you happy and meet all your requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We unfortunalely cannot agree with the previous posts.We were very excited about our upcoming vacation, but resignated when we left. The appartments are well equipped but
- a/c costs extra
-beds only for people shorter than 180 cm
-warm water only available during daytime
- WiFi only in pool area and very instable
-cleaning and changing sheets and towels rather irregularly
- Pool highly frequented but since pool shower is permantly blocked you may imagine the status quo.
+ owner very helpful and friendly.

Village near by is mainly focussed on tourism. It consists of restaurants and bars. If you seek a Greek experience you will be dissappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank N8igall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackrod
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

We've just spent a great week at Petra Village. These apartments are run by George, Vasso and Yanis who were so welcoming on our arrival and could not do enough for us for the whole of our stay. Anything from a welcome drink to advice on the best places to visit. We cant thank them enough for making our holiday one of the best we have ever had. The apartment we stayed in was a maisonette with a bedroom on the upper floor. We had a balcony with a fantastic view of the mountains and sea view. It was cool with air conditioning and clean with regular changes of bedding and towels. The apartments were surrounded by maintained gardens with beautiful flowers and pots. There was a lovely pool area with sunbeds and umbrellas with a shaded bar area where snacks and drinks were available. A 10 minute walk up the road revealed the beautiful unspoilt greek village of Koutoulafari, with cobbled streets and fantastic restaurants, tavernas and bars, too many to visit in a week so a return visit is definitely on the cards!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Jeff and Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

A great escape, waking up in nature and close to the Greek beaches. A great family owes this hotel that takes care of it with love and the Greek hospitality. My favorite thing was waking up, and enjoying my coffee with that amazing view of the ocean and the mountains. I for sure staying there next time...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HrisoulaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koutouloufari
0.1 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.3 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.5 mi away
Astra Village Apartments
Astra Village Apartments
#8 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dream Village
Dream Village
#1 of 9 in Piskopiano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#5 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Village Apartments

Property: Petra Village Apartments
Address: 8 Seferi Giorgou, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Koutouloufari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Petra Village Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petra Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petra Village Apartments Hotel Chersonisos
Petra Village Apartments Hersonissos
Petra Village Apartments Hotel Hersonissos
Petra Village Apartments Koutouloufari, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing