We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marni Village
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sunrise Apartments(Koutouloufari)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creta Blue Suites(Koutouloufari)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Galaxy Villas(Koutouloufari)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heronissos Park(Hersonissos)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Villa Iokasti(Koutouloufari)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Paul-Eva Apartments(Hersonissos)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
Imperial Belvedere(Hersonissos)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dedalus Apartments(Koutouloufari)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,175)
Filter reviews
1,175 results
Traveler rating
859
244
50
11
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
859
244
50
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain poolmiddle poolpool barlower poolnext yearsuperior suitesteep hillstar beachminute walkone bedroom apartmentfantastic holidaytaxi rideair concleaned every daysecond visitgreek nightgreat fun
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,003 - 1,008 of 1,175 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2007

Stayed at the Marni Village for a week in early September. We had a 1-bed apartment which suited us just fine. It had clearly once been two neighbouring studios which had been combined (we had two shower rooms!). As a previous poster said, the shower curtains don't reach the floor and there is no sill to contain the water so the floor gets flooded - but this is the case all over Crete (and in many other places I've been, too) - so it's not really something that can be held against the Marni Village. Koutouloufari is a lovely setting, much more relaxed than Hersonissos. There are plenty of tavernas to choose from. Having spent the following two weeks in various places around the island, I can confidently say that Koutouloufari had the best food. There is a bakery a stone's throw from the complex, so fresh bread for breakfast every day, and a handful of supermarkets all within walking distance to keep you in the essentials.

The pools were nice, there always seemed to be plenty of sunbeds available (not that we were there for long, with a 2 year old in tow!). We didn't eat the food, visit the bar or use the saunas so can't comment on them. We had no problems so had no need to seek assistance from the reception staff - the only time we saw them was on arriving and departing!

The one bad thing I can say about the place regards the kid's playground. There is no shade whatsoever, the equipment is quite old and not in good condition, and the slides are metal so get absolutely burning hot. It is basically unusable.

Star Beach is the one nearest the Marni Village, about 20 mins walk downhill. Lots of waterparks and children's playgrounds, and a sandy beach. Very dirty though, lots of cigarette ends and plastic bottles lying around. Having said that, it was the cleanest of all Hersonissos' beaches - not saying much!

All in all, I'd recommend the Marni Village and wouldn't have any qualms about staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank babsdela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2007

Returned from Marni Village this September and I can honestly say we didn't want to go home. Everything about the holiday was brilliant. I come acrooss the Marni Village on the internet, liked the look of it and went to book it the next day. We were not disappointed.

We arrived about 1 o clock in the morning and was very tired but decided to go for a quick drink in the pool bar. The pool looked lovely all lit up in the moonlight and we couldn't wait for morning to have a dip!!! The pool bar is open till 3 every night and its nice if you want a quiet drink after you have been for your meal. illya who works in the bar is great and we spent most days sitting and talking to him.

The nearby old towns are lovely. Im quite a fussy eater but we found somewhere to eat every night and the food is reasonably priced too. Definately go to Esperos and have their lamb kleftiko. Its one of the best meals we had there and they have a lovely roof garden where you can sit and look out at the view. Very romantic.

The pool itself at the Marni was gorgeous. It cooled you down in the blistering heat and it was spotless. We never had to fight for sunbeds and we sometimes didn't go down there until 11 o clock. There were two other pools but we stayed by the big one because it was next to our apartment.

Our room was quite nice, basic but thats all we needed. The only moan I have is the shower curtain. The shower is one of those that fits onto the taps and the curtain does not go all the way to the floor so the room ends up getting soaked. But they do give you a broom to sweep the water back into the shower!!!!!

We went down to Hersonissos a few times. the walk there was nice. it took around 15 mins downhill. But the walk back up is not so nice. Get a taxi!!!! Hersonissos in itself is great!! Great nighlife and loads of shops.

Overall we had a fab holiday and would definately go back to the Marni Village. While we were there we met loads of people who on their 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th and even 6th visit to the marni!!!

Great Staff, great facilities and great location!!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank kirstie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2007

I traveled with my girlfriend & stay in Marni Village for 4 days, which was a total disaster. We were given an one room apartment which said to be an upgraded from the studio that’d been reserved. Yet, the “UPGRADED” room has no TV and there were stink from bed sheet to shower curtain; plus a broken trash can. Not to mention the numerous spiders & mosquito life or dead.
When we asked to change our room, the front desk manager simply said the hotel was full and couldn’t do anything. Not even a refund so that we can change to a better hotel. Don’t try this hotel! It is the biggest regret in my trip!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank magsfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2007

Me and my partner are just back from Marni village. It was an enjoyable week and we both would go back. Staff were very friendly and helpful, accomodation was basic but all you needed. The private villas did look the business!
Koutalfari was lovley-excellent for couples wanting a relaxing time with great food and no lager louts insite! Hersonisis is more for a big night out, and it was great to have the best of both.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GlasgowHolidayD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

Our Crete vacation was relaxing and fun.
We have stayed at Marni Village for a week, at the newly built superior suits.

Located on a hill just above Hersonissos, the suite we had was at the second (top) floor, at the top of the village. It offered beautiful view of the sea from the porch, and a constant breeze (we've left the door open on both ends of the suite. It was still private). It had all the facilities needed for our family of 5.

The very friendly staff at the front desk, the pools, the atmosphere and the near-by tavernas made our holiday a joy.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews