We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place, even better people.”
Review of Galaxy Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Galaxy Villas
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Koutouloufari
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place, even better people.”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We have had 9 wonderful nights at this lovely place in Crete. People working at the hotel is wonderful and nice. Our villa was very confortable and the gardens and the pool, reception, everything lovely. We can recommend the place for everyone who wants to travel to Crete for relax or/and explore the wonderful island.

Olga & Pedro
Bilbao - Spain

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PedroPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    98
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
74
147
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed here in June with my boyfriend, sister and my sister's friend, (all aged between 18 and 21) and it was absoultely pefect.

Most importantly, the service here was second to none - the small staff all knew us and the other guests by name. George knows everything about the area and can sort anything out for you - he arranged our taxis, tickets to the local water park, rental of quad bikes, advice on trips, etc.

During our stay, there was a poolside BBQ one night, and on other nights George brought the TV out to the bar so guests could watch the football. We often had drinks after dinner at the pool bar, and cocktails with fresh mint and herbs from the hotel.

The pool was exceptionally clean and well maintained, and there was a good number of sun loungers. Food at the villas was all lovely and freshly prepared and great if you're just having a day by the pool.

The rooms were more than spacious, really clean and fitted with everything you could need. We had a living room, dining area, kitchenette, bathroom/wetroom and double bedroom. The kitchenette was fully stocked with all you could need to cook a meal, although the local restaurants were so good we barely used it! Similarly, for breakfast, we never spent more than about 5 euro - the bakery/supermarket directly opposite had everything you could need.

A 5-minute walk from the villas take you to the main village, which is full of shops, bars, cafes and restaurants. Each night we ate somewhere different and the quality, hospitality and prices were very good.

A little further away is the beach. Getting there is no problem, as the 10-15 minute walk is downhill. But getting back after a long day in the sun is a different matter! My sister and her friend usually walked, but my boyfriend and I hired a quad bike to get to the beach and to places like the bank and the high street which are a little further away.

Just down the road is Star Beach, which we spent a lot of time at. A sort of beach complex, there was a number of beaches, pools, water slides, bars and restaurants all together. Also, at night, they host parties. We even caught a foam party on the way to the pool one day. Full of young people and families. Also, Malia is only a 10-minute cab ride away for nights out.

We could not fault Galaxy Villas - absolutely wonderful villas and location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed here in June 2011 for a week with my boyfriend for our first holiday together. We were looking for a laid-back holiday away from it all and that's exactly what we got. I would definitely go back if I make it to Crete again. We're a couple aged 20-22 but there were couples young and old as well as families with kids and members of a wedding party and they all seemed to enjoy their stay.

Area/Location - Koutouloufari is a beautiful village and isn't too far from the busier tourist area of Hersonissos. Few minutes in a taxi or half an hour hilly walk. Beware that you'll have to go here for a cash machine as there isn't one in the village. Stalis Beach is nearby, as well as Star Beach if you want to experience the Malia side of Crete or do a bit of parasailing.
There is a good choice of restaurants and bars in Koutouloufari, all in competition for your attention, and everyone is extremely friendly. Directly opposite the complex is a small supermarket which is handy if you want to stick to self-catering.

Room - You get what you pay for, the room was basic but spacious and in true Greek style, everything was clean and in working order. Only complaint would be that the bed wasn't the comfiest but on holiday they rarely are. We had our own little patio and two double glass doors out to the sea view.

Hotel facilities - The pool area is great, just the right size and never overcrowded. Wherever we sat, it was private and peaceful. There is little to no noise. We never had breakfast but the pool snack bar was good for a light lunch and a drink. There's a pool table and a dart board in the lobby and a selection of books available to borrow.

Staff - Not a bad word to say, all extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We had no complaints but I'm sure they would've been swiftly corrected. After leaving I realised that I had left rings at the sink in the pool area toilets, and after emailing them they found and sent me them free of charge within a week.

If you're looking for a relaxing holiday with beautiful scenery, nice food and lovely people then you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaz1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We are an English mid 20s couple and stayed here for a week in May/June 12. The hotel is one of the nicest in Koutoulafari, it is located within 5 minutes of many bars and restaurants. In fact there was so much choice that we did not eat or drink in the same one twice! There is a good bakery opposite the hotel and we tended to go here for fresh rolls every morning and lunchtime. The old town is extremely picturesque and the main Hersonnissos resort (for banks, port, bars, etc) is a 10-15minute walk, and good for the fitness as the way back is steeply uphill (or you could get a taxi).

The rooms themselves are basic but this is Greece and every room I have stayed in in Greece is basic, having said that the rooms are large and have separate living and sleeping areas. Air con is an optional extra but we didnt bother as the room was situated near the garden area which was well shaded and cool throughout the day and night.

George on reception was very nice and approachable. He sorted us a moped for the day and helped ensure our holiday ran smoothly.

The pool area is large enough although there is limited space for sunbeds (30 or so) so although we did not struggle for one I can imagine that in peak season it may be slightly different.

Overall we thouroughly enjoyed our week away and would not hesitate to rebook this hotel if we were to revisit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etranger
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

after 2 weeks in the Galaxy Villas in Koutouloufari, we are very happy to share with other people our good impressions. Good services and friendly staff, "our villa" with a sea view, with direct access to the beautiful garden. Only the breakfast could be probably improved. Do not hesitate to travel to the very friendly Greece.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pivoine13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcbluk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

There's really very little to fault at Galaxy. The whole complex is spotlessly clean and well maintained; the pool area pleasant and relaxed. It feels a lot more 'Greek' than some modern apartment complexes do. Our villa was very spacious, reasonably well equipped for this type of accommodation, and when we asked for a sea view, what we got was absolutely glorious. There were a few maintenance issues with some of the fittings in the room as others have reported - but we did visit towards the end of the season and it wasn't anything serious enough to complain about. Reception were always helpful and everything we ate and drank from the bar was very nice. Charges for air conditioning were less than many places but 42 euro/week needs to be factored into the price when booking.

For what we paid for our week in the sun, Galaxy met and exceeded expectations. If you want the Ritz, book the Ritz; if you want a comfortable week in the sun for good value, this is a good bet.

A quick note on Koutouloufari: it's not a 'traditional village', at least not in high season (if you want that, drive up to the Lassithi plateau); it's just a decent-sized resort that avoids being in any way tacky or noisy, mainly by being a 15 minute walk to the beach in Hersonissos. It does have a lot of really good places to eat, but we don't agree with those who thought Galini was the pick of them - we'd recommend Emmanuel's, and Esperos, for better authenticity and value.

Room Tip: Sea views are impressive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jcbluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Only stayed a week and wished for longer: The hotel is maintained to a very high standard and even though we were there later in the season, mid-september, all was still very fresh and clean. The grounds are tidy with palms and bouganvilla everywhere and the pool was as good as it gets. The rooms are basic but with everything you need and once again very clean. The staff are very welcoming and will help you with anything they can. Koutouloufari itself is a charming village and has lots of restaurants to choose from but still keeps its quaintness. Restaurants we found good were the Oniro (black snapper was awesome), Romantika (best Tsatziki) and Mezes (an abundance of courses). The best Mohito is definately Vinnie's. We took a trip to Dia Island on the Eleni boat, not much to see on the island but enjoyed the snorkelling. Don't be fooled by all drinks included as we were only offered one cup of water on the way out and some 'home made' red wine on the way back but BBQ food was good although again probably not enough for those with a hearty appetite especially after an abundance of sea air. The Finikia Hersonissos Horses evening ride was good fun, hosted by the famous Gregory. Nice gentle ride, with a gallop if wished and then back down the mountain for a BBQ and this time as much food, red wine and Raki as you can drink. All in all a very relaxing holiday but with Hersonissos within walking distance if a bit more upbeat needed.

Room Tip: Just ask, i'm sure they will try and accomodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ_64Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koutouloufari
0.2 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
0.2 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#4 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Village Heights Golf Resort
Village Heights Golf Resort
#3 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astra Village Apartments
Astra Village Apartments
#8 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.3 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Villas

Property: Galaxy Villas
Address: Ag Konstantinou St, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Koutouloufari
#7 Family Hotel in Koutouloufari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Galaxy Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certificate of Excellence 2014 Winner! The Galaxy Villas, located in quaint Koutouloufari, is ideal for authentic Cretan holidays. Our 53 Villas are spacious and elegant, with beautiful gardens and views of the bay or the mountains. They are all outfitted with A/C, TV, fully equipped kitchen, safe boxes, iron etc. The Resort also features a swimming pool and children's pool, all-day bar/restaurant with traditional snacks and meals, complimentary sunbeds, fireplace, pool table, table tennis, WiFi, free parking, concierge, access to the 18-hole Crete Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Galaxy Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxy Villas Hotel Koutouloufari
Galaxy Hotel Koutouloufari
Galaxy Villas Koutouloufari, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing