We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Eye Travel - Private Day Tours tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Eye Travel - Private Day Tours
from $63.64
More Info
from $86.78
More Info
from $69.43
More Info
from $86.78
More Info
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveler rating
190
29
10
3
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
29
10
3
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eye travel day trip jeep safari wine tasting off road small group gorge walk well worth the money last stop friendly guide olive factory large coach booked trips great trip lunch included pirate boat lovely lunch
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 241 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2018

when you stop and think about the day, you might wonder why you exposed yourself to such risk and inconvenience. the jeeps are unsafe and the whole issue of an inexperienced driver navigating hair pin turns on steep mountain roads is crazy ! on the plus side, it's fun to try your luck on dirty and rocky off roads, but that soon wore off when you consider the danger of having a tire hit the pebbly side of the road and a roll-over down the cliffs. we were picked up from the meeting point ( about 1/2 mile down the road from our hotel ) and taken to the " office " where we were matched up by who was willing to drive. Luckily we were with new friends from the previous island we visited and he was an competent driver. our first car stalled ( transmission problem, we think ) so we were all moved around to other cars. it is my opinion that our final car would have been removed from the road in Canada, as unsafe. and off we went on a major highway on our way to the mountains. a couple of stops at local villages and a monastery and Taverna Zeus for lunch, but the beach stop was cancelled due to cool weather. many people expressed their feeling that the day was too long and we were glad to return safely to the " office ". special mention of Sophie, our guide, who did her best to guide us, but she was in the lead car so there was no running commentary. all in all, I question why i allowed myself to spend a whole day in a cramped, nasty car when I could have been relaxing at the resort. to be fair, my daughter enjoyed the experience, the views were spectacular from the heights, and our companions were pleasant.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank CathyBen1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

On 14th September I went on the tour and had a great day! Sophie was fantastic and very knowledgeable! Our first stop was Aghios Nicholas where we had plenty of free time to explore. Then it was off to Plakka for our boat trip to Spinalonga. It was very good going on a private tour as I felt it was very informative and Spinalonga was well worth the visit. After Spinalonga, we returned to Plakka where we had lunch in a very good restaurant again time to explore if you wanted to. Last call of the day was to the Olive factory which was interesting. During the day there were photo stops to take in the beautiful views.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank LindaN3120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

We booked the Interesting Crete excursion from home and we had good communication from Eye Travel. We were picked up in a minibus by Jessica who was very friendly and informative. Our excursion included Agios Nikolaos, scenic photo stops, Spinalonga, Plakas and an olive oil factory. We had a fantastic day out, very personal and so nice to travel with a small group.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank 61tracyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2018 via mobile

Went to Eye Travel in the morning of our first day to see what they could offer. Was talked through loads of trip options with no pressure to buy.

Left and went to compare prices with excursions being offered by our Thomas Cook Rep. Even with their offer of a free child place, the prices quoted by Eye Travel were significantly cheaper.

We returned to the Eye Travel office and booked 2 trips (Spinalonga BBQ and Malia cruise). Both were arranged while we waited and were fantastic days out (we were given advice on the best days to take the trips and free collections to and from our accommodation was arranged for us).

Great service and wouldn't hesitate to use again.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank reviewer_2007_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

It was Super. Always on time . Nice Guide.
We have it already booked from home ( Netherlands ).
Nice contact .
Thanks for the nice excursions .

Fam van der Vuurst de Vries
Netherlands

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Linda v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018 via mobile

We did this tour on 25th July, mini bus picked us on time and we also picked up another 2 people. Our guide spoke very little english so was not able to tell us much about the evening or what was happening, sounded like he had to fill in on the day at last minute. We arrived at one of the local restaurants on the mountain and found owner of restaurant quite uprupt and not very welcoming, our table was at back of town square where dancing would take place, so we could not see the dancing unless we stood and moved to edge of square which impacted view of other people, we also did not receive food/drink as Eye Travel mentioned in their brochure. At €50 per person not worth it. We decided to leave early as we couldn’t see the dancing and we felt that unless we were ordering other items on menu at our expense, we should leave (or get no service) and requested bill 5 times from restsurant owner as the service was poor and we even got charged for water (was supposed to be included in price which I found out later, and did not receive Raki and some other itens listed on brochure), make sure you bring brochure and demand the items if you book this! After tour and sending an email of my feedback, no response from Eye Travel to date, also if you have 4 non greek speaking customers, you would think tour guide would speak english and more importantly could explain what will happen on night. Good to see us tourist covered tour guide’s meal as we certainly didn’t get €50 worth of food as we even had to share entree/salad with the other 2 people on tou we didn’t know, nice people but was not by choice!

Would not book with this company again - I booked through our hotel, hotel has given feedback and responded back to me twice and apologised but nothing from Eye Travel!

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank 938mariarosab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya C, Owner at Eye Travel - Private Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2018

This tour doesn't include a guide but a transfer (as mentioned in the brochure). The restaurant have received for 2018 the award from Tripadvisor for the best restaurant of this mountain village. Your table was 5 meters from the dancers. You missed the fruit and the raki because you decided to leave early. You booked an Cretan Festival in a small mountain village and as everywhere the Cretan tradition and hospitality is to share the food on the table but for sure the portions are big enough.

You didn't pay for the water and I have send you 2 emails. You even replied on my emails.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews