We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aposelemis gorge walk”

Eye Travel - Private Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$64.19*
and up
Aposelemis Gorge Walk in Crete
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Excursies en tours op Kreta. Bezoek ons excursiekantoor in Koutouloufari bij Chersonissos. Jeepsafari, Prive excursies, Minibus Tours, Vliegtickets, Boottickets. Wij organiseren zelf excursies.
Reviewed July 10, 2017

This was a good day trip within easy reach of Hersonissos. The gorge itself was beautiful, and with no visitors at all except our group. It was a peaceful walk (quite a scramble at times) far from the crowds on the beaches. The trip itself was well-organised with a knowledgeable guide and the lunch afterwards was delicious. The day we did the walk, the weather was cool and I don't think it would have been pleasant in hot weather. You would need a fair degree of mobility for this walk, there were a few sections where we had to scramble over rocks. I recommend this trip, and Eye travel.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank SandraM218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"eye travel"
in 43 reviews
"day trip"
in 15 reviews
"jeep safari"
in 27 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 7 reviews
"off road"
in 11 reviews
"small group"
in 6 reviews
"gorge walk"
in 5 reviews
"well worth the money"
in 6 reviews
"last stop"
in 4 reviews
"friendly guide"
in 3 reviews
"olive factory"
in 3 reviews
"large coach"
in 3 reviews
"booked trips"
in 3 reviews
"great trip"
in 4 reviews
"lunch included"
in 2 reviews
"pirate boat"
in 2 reviews
"lovely lunch"
in 2 reviews
Filter

41 - 45 of 263 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2017

After slight mix up with pick up point. We were finally picked up in a mini van to be taken to head office / jeep pick up. To be allocated our jeep and tour guide !!
It was at this point we were told there wasn't enough drivers and would anyone wish to volunteer. Reluctantly Bobby another customer volunteered to drive after being told (not much off roading and roads are well kept ) at no point was Bobby asked if he could drive!! or if he had a Licence!!, this was first question I asked him before getting in with him and his Partner.
My partner was still a little reluctant with her not being the best of travellers.
We were expecting an experienced Tour guide/Driver.

We set off with Bobby at the wheel in a convoy of 5 jeeps of different nationalities. With 1 guide between us all.

Turning off the main road heading up into the mountains for our first experience of the well kept roads (hmmm) there were bumpy roads and sheer drops. Which as being on these types of tours before we expected. But no with a First time off road driver.

A Nervous 20mins Past before we could relax only a little and start to put our lives in Bobbys Hands (fair play to him he did a good Job. especially having the responsibility of not only his partner(Tracy's) safety but that of 2 total strangers.)

We visited a lovely cave and explored a little too. We then drove on to our first refreshment spot. Only to arrive in a small village with tarmac company resurfacing the road.
So it was decided we wouldn't have a coffee break due to smell but would have a short toilet break. 30mins later and plenty of time for a drink (we could of sat indoors).
We moved on through mountains more off roading more sheer drops. The views were lovely don't get me wrong on that. Would of appreciated more if was more relaxed.
We pulled into our lunch time location tiny village with only 12 Habbitants. We had a bbq lunch of Pork chops and greek salad this was gorgeous and more than enough to fill all.
We had time to walk round the village and explore. We even got entertained by the local cats ( the Tom had a whale of a time is all I will say)
After lunch we continued, a little more relaxed now with Bobby at the wheel.
more off road more sheer drops more great views.
We reached our last destination another village. We went to a taverna which wasn't expecting us. So they hurriedly set up 3 tables for us to sit at and get refreshments. At no point were we told any information about the village or lovely church that was at the centre point. Or told we could go in and have a look round.

After refreshments it was back down the mountain back to the office.

On the way back I thanked Bobby for looking after us, and it was a shame he couldn't enjoy the tour as intended as he had to concentrate on his driving and safety of his passengers.( and he paid the full price for that privilege).

Maybe we caught them short staffed. But we expected a guide and information on the local villages and history but this was never given.

If its a drive in the mountains you want hire a car and do it yourself.
if its a guided tour your after insist on a guide/driver, in hindsight that's what we should of done.

The disappointment could of been avoided
Allocated drivers for each jeep
communication between stop off points to avoid unforeseen problems.(simple phone call)
more information and historical details.

We were going to speak to office manager but it was shut when we got back to the depot !!

Honest review of the days proceedings.
We booked because of all the good reviews.
Hope this helps you make a informed decision if the trip is for you or not.

Last words: Thanks Bobby we got home safely....

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2017

We went on two trips, jeep safari and interesting Crete tour. Both of which our guide was Viola. She was so friendly and kept us informed on all the sight seeing info, as well as having a good chat during the drives. Highly recommend the both trips, on the jeep safari our daughter some how slept for lots of the off road which was unbelievable- its really bumpy and quite an experience, stopped off in a beach front tavern for some traditional food and paddle in the sea, really good day. The interesting Crete tour really has something for everyone with lots of stops, inc Spinalonga and an olive factory. Our 6 year old said this was her favorite trip, as did my Husband so shows how it appeals to many.

Both trips we so much cheaper than booking through the hotel reps so I recommend you check this our first. Thank you Viola for making our trips more memorable.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Larajp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2017 via mobile

5 *****

We booked this ticket in the UK after viewing Tripadvisor.

When we arrived at out hotel we were met with Eye Travel the next day and to put the finishing touches to our tours.

We went to Knossos in a bus of 4 people plus 2 Eye Travel staff (Sophie and Violet) who were out of this world.

We had an hour 45 minutes at Knossos and it's well worth doing then we went to the winery which was also excellent. Our last stop was the Pottery and we all got the chance to make our own creation.

All in all I was blown away by the girls, the fun and the professionalism of Eye Travel.

We also booked Santorini but stayed overnight (MUST DO) as the day trip is NOT ENOUGH.

Eye Travel put us up in the Butterfly Hotel Cardena and it was out of this world.

If your booking a trip from Crete, use Eye Travel.

David and Sarah from Scotland

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank Honestreviewer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2017

We booked the Santorini (1 day) and Interesting Crete excursions using their website and app (available for Android and iOS). We then paid when visiting the office in Koutouloufari.

I should say first off that both of these were available from our travel rep (Thomas Cook) but at a much higher cost. The Santorini trip is via the ferry operator, Seajets,, so I imagine the service is similar whichever agent you choose to book through.

The real difference came with the Interesting Crete experience which takes in Aghios Nicolaus, Elounda, Plaka, Spinalonga plus visits to an olive producer and a monastery. Our party was made up of just four in a mini bus with guide (although we did meet up with another minibus of Belgium travelers) which meant the excursion was much more personal rather than traveling on a larger coach with a guide speaking multiple languages.

I would (and indeed have!) recommend the service to anyone looking for a cost effective way to spend some time exploring this very beautiful island.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank montehampster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eye Travel - Private Day Tours also viewed

Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
 

Been to Eye Travel - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing