We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Have just returned from one week and cannot find fault with anything at this resort, wonderful and will definitely go back. The location of the complex in the village us excellent and all staff were exceptionally helpful

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 255 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed for a week at the begining of June on RCI points and I have looked to see if there are places again it was perfect for us.The village is an enviable location being 20 minutes walk to the beach(small beaches and very busy but we enjoyed the walk and sea) the surrounding village restaurants and bars perfect for the evening.All of the staff are helpful and freindly,we enjoyed the breakfast by the pool each morning until we had to get up early one day and discovered the bakery opposite the sports bar(croissants to die for-warm and fresh out of the oven)
The apartment we had did not get much sun(39) but was very spacious and spotless.The kitchenette was well equiped (although we did not use it much)
Some other people have mentioned a dog barking which we occasionally heard early evening but in truth that and the goats was very charming.
The overall impression from us as we did arrive late at night was how nice to be greeted and helped with our baggage so easily so that we could settle in and enjoy our holiday

Room Tip: Our room did not get much sun on the balcony but seemed nice and quiet compared to the rooms nearer...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkIzzywizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We have just come back from 11 days at the VHC and have had a great time. The place is so clean and the staff so helpful. We had a 1 bed room appartment near the front of the hotel (we changed rooms for our second week as the first was through RCI which was equally as good). The kitchenette is just that, with very basic equipment (a microwave sould have helped) bu7t the food and number of high quality restaurants nearby meant that you wouldn't eat in anway (apart fropm, breakfast?). It is right in the centre of the pleasant little village of Koutouloufari (try saying that after a couple of raki!) and everyne seems to know everyone else. Lovely pool area and snack bar. We will be back for sure

Room Tip: room 1 was right at the front so a good street buzz below (but never noisy). Nice balcony with sun a...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonyPassmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VILLAGEHOLIDAYCLUB, Manager at Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear Mr Passmore,
We were very happy to read your review. Thank you for your lovely comments.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Best regards
Pavlos Badouvakis
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Had a week here late April/May. The apartments are very well equipped and we got a friendly welcome and help with cases to our room. We had a nice balcony with sea view. We chose to eat breakfast at the poolside bar each morning which was of a good quality (cereal, fruit, yoghurt, toast, preserves, meat and cheese, tea and coffee and bacon and eggs if wanted), this was really reasonably priced and was served with a smile every day. Sorry I can't remember the ladies name who worked at the pool bar and snack bar every day but she was really lovely and took time to make sure everything was ok and was really friendly. If I had a small critisism it was that our room was not cleaned on the Friday as expected which may have been an oversight but did not spoil our stay and would not stop us staying again. Would recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank lindsaytaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VILLAGEHOLIDAYCLUB, Manager at Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear guest
Thank you for your wonderful comments and review. We hope that your stay in our resort has met your
expectations.
We were sorry to hear there was a misunderstanding with housekeeping. Usually our rooms are cleaned every other day and there is only towel change on the day before departure.
We will be happy to see you again in the future.
Best regards
Pavlos Badouvakis
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed a relaxed 2-week stay at Koutouloufari VHC. The apartment was excellent and comfortable, cleaned every 2nd day, delightful gardens and very good pool area. The pool is not heated but such were the temperatures over the past 2 weeks that it doesn't need to be. A very cooling dip indeed and used by many guests without complaint. Eni and Pavlos are a font of information and very helpful - lovely people who it was a pleasure to meet.

The number and quality of restaurants in Koutouloufari is amazing. All good but we had our favourites over the fortnight, probably The Alchemist and Esperos, although the Rahati cafe (and apple pie to die for) is excellent for lighter dining. Take a walk along to Piskopiano and Hersonnisis Village for further dining options.

Easy 15 minute walk downhill where buses to either Heraklion or Agios Nikolaos are cheap and excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_murchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VILLAGEHOLIDAYCLUB, Manager at Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Dear C and A,
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
We enjoyed meeting you and we hope to see you again in the future.
Best regards,
Pavlos Badouvakis
Resort Manager.

p.s email us the Kilt story word by word.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed in room 48 which is listed as 'sleeps 6' but I think 2 doubles and a single makes 5. It is a large apartment with 1.5 bathrooms, a double bedroom, large kitchen and large living areas that also house a couple of beds (1 double and 1 single). There is also a large outdoor patio area and no shortage of tables and chairs in the unit.
The resort is ideally placed in the centre of a small village, which is actually one of three small villages close together and all are only a couple of kilometres from the main town of Hersonissos, which is on the coast. The facilities are OK at the resort - nice pool area, bar and snacks poolside and a library (library?).
There is no real need to leave the two closest villages (Koutouloufari and Piskopiano) if you are looking for peace and quiet. There are literally dozens of restaurants between the two villages and the food is excellent.
We enjoyed the stay at KHVC and apart from an uncomfortable bed (which, in fairness, we didn't notify the club about until checkout because we thought we'd get used to it) and some minor maintenance issues. The unit could do with a microwave (what kind of full kitchen doesn't have a microwave?) but apparently they don't have them in any units. Also, the AV equipment is also long-past use-by date (4:3 TV and old DVD player).
I could definitely recommend the place.

Room Tip: We had room 48 which is a renovated old house/barn I think. Very large and quite comfortable for a w...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgrvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VILLAGEHOLIDAYCLUB, Manager at Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your precious and informative comments.
We hope that you have enjoyed your stay at our traditional and very en-demand house.
The traditional house includes 1 double bedroom with patio door that opens to a small terrace, 1 full bathroom with bathtub, 1 wc, fully equipped kitchen area, dining area, living room with 1 raised double bed, 1 single bed and a single sofa bed. Sitting area and opens through patio doors to a large exclusive courtyard.
After your suggestion, we have placed a microwave oven in the kitchen area.
We are very fortunate that our guests supply our library with their books and we have now reached over 300 hundred titles.
We will be happy to welcome you again to our resort to see how helpful your review has been.
Best regards,

Pavlos Badouvakis
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Koutouloufari and the Village Holiday Club were both quiet at the time we stayed, which was over Easter. This suited us well and we had a wonderful time. VHC, which reflects its name pretty well, is central to Koutouloufari (which is not a big place), secluded, and attractively landscaped. The apartment we had was modern, but characterful (vertiginous stairs to the top floor!), very clean and comfortable. Our patio, accessed from the top floor, had views both north across the village and along the wonderful coastline and south up the considerable hills at the back of the village and towards the sun. The staff were, without exception, wonderful, friendly and helpful, and those on reception (Eni and Pavlos) extremely knowledgeable and helpful about Crete, opening hours, local facilities, etc. There is a pleasant pool and bar area, where it as a pleasure to take breakfast, drinks or a light meal and relax. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Guy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koutouloufari
0.3 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#3 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Astra Village Apartments
Astra Village Apartments
#8 of 13 in Koutouloufari
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#4 of 13 in Koutouloufari
566 reviews
2.3 mi away
Village Heights Golf Resort
Village Heights Golf Resort
#5 of 171 in Hersonissos
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club

Address: 4 Alex Minoti Street | P.O Box 2374, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Koutouloufari
Price Range: $49 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Koutouloufari, Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club is an authentic Cretan cultural experience with its development resembling a traditional village set in olive groves. Built in Cretan architecture style, small individual houses clustered in groups to resemble neighbourhoods and restored stone houses comprise this resort.Fully furnished apartments are presented with three distinct settings ranging from Studios and One-Bedroom Apartments to the Traditional House that can accommodate up to 6 persons. Featuring lovely gardens, a pool and sea views theses apartments offer a full host of services and amenities to ensure a restful stay.Committed to providing the whole family with a memorable experience, guests enjoy an array of other activities and events near Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club. Small taverns with local cuisine, souvenir shops, bars and coffee shops hidden in cobbled streets or walks by the port of Chersonisos. Koutouloufari Village Holiday Club unlocks the mystery of Crete's vast natural history, ancient legends and rich cultural history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Holiday Club Hotel Chersonisos
Village Holiday
Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club Koutouloufari, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing